We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GO BIG OR GO HOME”

Cincinnati Museum Center
Ranked #8 of 186 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Children's Museum & Special Exhibit Hall remain open during the restoration of historic Union Terminal.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
West Cester
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GO BIG OR GO HOME”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The IMAX movies are alwasy thrilling. Try to get the tour of the 'behind the scenes' of the building. You'll get to see things that I'll be 95% of the people in Cincinnati have not seen. You're here for one day ... make this a place on you bucket list!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank jpmrjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,007
    376
    98
    29
    20
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing for all ages!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have young kids and have been to many museums in different cities. The Cincinnati Museum Center is by far a favorite of our entire family. It is really 3 museums in one: a Children's Museum, a Natural History Museum, and the Cincinnati history museum.

The Children's Museum is a lot of fun, my kids love the Woods area which is a forest themed indoor play/climbing structure. In the History museum, we love to play "Iook and find" in the replica of the old city. The staff hides small objects (for example, 10 yellow ducks) and you have you find them hidden in the display. Finally, our favorite place: the Natural History Museum. My kids love this place because of the Trading Post. The concept is brilliant: kids bring in objects they find in nature and in exchange for telling about the object they get a certain number of points credited to their account. Points can also be obtained by completing the scavenger hunt (a list of questions that can be answered by going through the museum). Once kids have enough points, they can exchange them for small trinkets from the shop. We don't live in Cincinnati but every time we visit, my kids want to go to the Trading Post!

One of the greatest things about this Museum is that you can visit many times and each visit will be different. In the Natural History museum, the staff and volunteers often set up small exhibits with hands-on activities. These activities change often.

Overall, an outstanding museum! They really go out of their way to make it an interactive experience for the kids.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank acos10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
troy,ohio
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cincinnati Art Museum Dead Sea Scrolls”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a fantastic & worthwhile experience . The Museums at Union Terminal ,there are 3 Childrens ,History & Cincinnati History all are excellent plus Imax .The current special exhibit is The Dead Sea Scrolls .

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank boggie_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CincyMuseum, at Cincinnati Museum Center, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your trip to Cincinnati Museum Center! Thank you for the review! Is there any particular reason you have rated us a 1 or anything we can do to change your opinion?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The kids will love it”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

A nice place where to take your child and spend the afternoon.
You can check in advance online on what happening that day.
But don't forget the zoo and the aquarium :o)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ezzine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville, ky USA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An architectural gem, free except parking”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The main hall is stupendous with an entire wall of windows. do not miss the free tour (donations to the train club that maintains it) of Tower A where the engineers controlled the switching and routing of trains in and out of the train yard and to the passenger terminal.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cincinnati Museum Center also viewed

 

Been to Cincinnati Museum Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing