We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Art Deco Building” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cincinnati Museum Center

Cincinnati Museum Center
Ranked #6 of 174 things to do in Cincinnati
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Children's Museum & Special Exhibit Hall remain open during the restoration of historic Union Terminal.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
206 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Wonderful Art Deco Building”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

The terminal is spectacular. The museums are so-so. The occasional special exhibitions are good and usually not to be missed. There is no way to get to this museum other than driving (not a good neighborhood) and there is a steep charge for parking plus the admission to the various museums inside.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank linnalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    985
    368
    91
    24
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, OH
Level Contributor
136 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fun for all ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

This museum is huge and really nice for kids and adults. A lot of different exhibits and a great way to spend an entire afternoon. I thought the prices were good for a full day's worth of entertainment. They also have an IMAX, which is also really nice. The setting of a historical building also adds the experience.

Helpful?
Thank LindseyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

We visited the musuem with our 2 y.o. and had a good time. The children's area was a lot of fun for our little one. There is a huge water table to play in and a climbing area. It was a bit dark in areas so our daughter was a little scared to climb by herself (the transition areas from tunnels to slides, ladders, etc were very dark). The natural history museum was very neat however some of the exhibits look a little outdated. There were some areas here that were also a little dark and required a little coaxing to the our daughter to go through. The Cincy history park was intersting. The train model was amazing. We got lunch for our daughter and the food was good and reasonably priced (for a museum). The lunch came with fruit and milk so it was reasonably health. We all had a great time and were tired out from all the learning/walking.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank OSUBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Children's Museum could be better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

We have an excellent museum here in our home town & a pass that allows us to get into any US children's museum. We have been to dozens.
The Cinci museum is our least favorite. I suppose if you didn't have anything to compare it to you may find it interesting.
Cons- dark, gloomy, most exhibits had many broken parts with yellow caution tape circled around them, not enough exhibits to justify the cost of entry (if we didn't have a pass I think it would have been $10-$15 each to get in)
Pros- they had a nice water exihibit & a nice climbing exhibit. Again both areas were dark & gloomy, but my boys enjoyed those 2 exhibits only (ages 5 & 6) There just wasn't anything else there for their age group. There was a nice small toddler area for children under 3, but again it wasn't bright & cheery like you would expect it to be.
Bottom line- we didn't like it & would not go back. They should invest in bright lights & new exhibits

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Growing2BoysInCinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CincyMuseum, Public Relations Manager at Cincinnati Museum Center, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting Cincinnati Museum Center and for posting a review. We are sorry your experience did not meet your expectations. We thrive on feedback from our visitors so that we may continually try to improve our facilities to best meet your needs. We hope you’ll give us another chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“underwhelmed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

not as big as you'd expect from the outside. Too many broken exhibits.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank many-continents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cincinnati Museum Center also viewed

 

Been to Cincinnati Museum Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing