We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the tartar lamb appetizer -- excellent”

Saffron Mediterranean Kitchen
Ranked #7 of 135 Restaurants in Walla Walla
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Try the tartar lamb appetizer -- excellent”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

A great restaurant. Kibbeh Nayee (lamb tartar) was very special as were the beef cheeks. Then the carrot cake with cream cheese ice cream. Such an interesting mix of flavors here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    99
    50
    18
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington, United States
1 review
“Fine take on Medeteranian fair with locally sourced food.”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The whole family found something they enjiyed paired with fine local wine. The space is small which I riches the ambiance.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant - great food & atmosphere”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Four of us shared a variety of dishes and all of us were in agreement that the food was excellent. The beef cheeks, various flat breads, and beef tartare were our favorites. The atmosphere is informal so we struck up conversations with adjacent diners and the server was lively and informative. This was in stark contrast to our experience at Whitehouse-Crawford. Don't go there (unless you dislike food and jovial atmosphere) and go here instead.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jonthearchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cutting edge”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Don't hesitate for a second in your decision to dine here. My wife and I were put off by the name, thinking standard hummus, kabobs, giros, etc... Not even close, this place has real culinary expertise, a very diverse interesting menu and on our 2 week road trip from LA to Seattle this was our favorite dinner!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Garlands1830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Finally Made It!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

On our third visit to Walla Walla in almost as many years, we finally made it here, and are glad we did.
The menu is interesting and a bit different to the American palate, fresh and perfectly cooked. I had a strange but very tasty seafood 'Paella'- like dish, only made with noodles rather than rice. My wife had a perfectly grilled fish filet, served on what looked like Lima bean & corn succotash. They also have a fantastic wine list with some of our local favorite wines at reasonable prices. The atmosphere is very nice; high ceilings, exposed brick, antique lamps etc. The service was friendly, helpful & knowledgeable, which made for a lovely dinner out with good friends. Reservations a must.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChristianH521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron Mediterranean Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Saffron Mediterranean Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing