We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come with lots of Cash if you pay with a Debit Card”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Walla Walla
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Walla Walla
Reviewed May 22, 2011

In town for a funeral on Saturday. Made reservations Thursday with my Debit Card and asked if they would charge my card at that time for the $159/room. They said no, it was just to hold the room. Ok, I told her we were paying cash upon arrival. Upon arrival, a change of tune. We tried to pay cash at check in, and were told to pay upon check out, and they said oh, by the way, "since your card is a debit card, we will need a deposit of $200 dollars, and the bank will put a hold on that $200 for up to two weeks". They were very clear in saying EVEN if we paid the $159 plus tax at the check in time in cash, they would still need the $200 cash deposit to be held overnight (and by the bank for up to 2 weeks). We felt like vagrants, not like people who just did not believe in using credit cards. When one employee went in the back room to find a solution, my husband remembered his work (WORK) company credit card in his wallet and used that to put on file. They were clear in saying the card would not be charged but we could pay cash upon check out. We needed to stay and did not have time to shop for a room elsewhere, so we accepted this. When we got up at 5am, we found a receipt under our door showing they had charged the work credit card they said they would not charge. The folio showed balance due - $0.00. All charged to the wrong credit card. When we checked with the night auditor about this at 6:30am, he said the card "wasn't really charged", but that many people leave directly from their room and do no check out so they do this routinely. It only took him a few minutes to reverse the charge and let us pay the balance by cash. It was a learning experience, and we will certainly be sure to have any desk clerk clarify their rules and regulations. We don't feel they were clear with us, up front and not at all undertanding. We left the front desk feeling like losers instead of 2 upstanding citizens who are debt free and have credit scores of 802! Not to mention the very noisy room we had (415).

Room Tip: come with lots of cash
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JulieTraveler97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 149 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2011

What can I say about this place? The employees are always freindly, they have a great little Restaurant/Wine Bar, the rooms are clean, It is easy to get to... This place has it all. I highly recommend it for the business traveler or the honeymoon in Wine Country!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HuckleberryCris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

Manager was stubborn and harassing because we had been given a lower rate promise by previous manager. The hotel is a nice property but the operations can let it down. Lots of high school teams stay there so it can be noisy at times.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanuman67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

The staff was excellent. A few minor problems were taken care of within minutes. Very friendly, very courteous. Good value hotel. Would definately stay again. Slept great on the beds.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler678876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Desk staff was helpful to us to find a couple of places we were looking for. Room was clean and comfortable - 4 pillows per bed was nice. Breakfast included waffles, plus biscuits & gravy!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tperrone3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

I came to Walla Walla for the 2010 Wine Bloggers Conference and the town setting and locale was very nice for the venue. The conference hotel in town was sold out so we were placed at hotels on the outskirts of town including the Comfort Inn. It cost about $10 each way downtown by taxi so over 3 days this added up.

The staff at the Comfort Inn was very friendly but the management has understaffed the hotel. Simple things like calling the operator can take 10 minutes for someone to pickup because the front desk staff is driving someone to the conference or taking care of other matters in the hotel.

Trying to get any assistance from the hotel staff was greeted with a friendly but unaccomodating reply that they were too busy to assist me. For exampel, I asked the front desk to call me a taxi and they said that they could not call them. They gave me the phone number and asked me to call the taxi because they were understaffed.

As far as accomodations, the rooms were clean and the hotel had a pool. The gym was poor with only two shoddy treadmills and a bicycle. Actually the treadmills were a safety hazzard as they slipped consistently when I tried to jog.

The small bar and lounge was poorly staffed and the service friendly but cumbsy. Think green 21 year old bartenders and alot of "I don't know" answers.

The Internet speeds were very good and Internet was included in the price of the room. The breakfast buffet was nice and accomodating.

Overall, I would avoid this hotel unless you needed to stay here. The owners should be ashamed at the low staffing levels and the training their staff has in basic customer communications. It's a mickey mouse management process.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

booked for 3 persons, a king and hideabed, had to go get linen, was delayed getting linen 10 minutes waiting due to an irate customer in lobby, customer claimed that her booking site allowed her cats(as pets) the sign above the desk said pets allowed,(FIX THIS) but the clerk said no pets, the customer was hysterical and crying had no place to go/stay the night as all hotels were booked for college graduation weekend. clerk finally allowd woman to stay at original price, encouraged cats to be in car overnight as weather is nice, (but we know where they stayed)....but....my son is allergic to cats, and i select hotels for this policy deliberately, so if he stayed in a room at this hotel after this woman even after room vaccuumed, he would be miserable as cat dander goes everywhere, and have his eyes swollen shut- so i can comprehend the need for no pet policy,and i support it, and this upset customer should have been handled elsewhere privately.
lovely view of fish ladders/creek in back of hotel- ask for back to get the view, brkfst good

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tealkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Walla Walla hotels
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Walla Walla
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walla Walla
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 15 in Walla Walla
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Walla Walla Suites Inn
1.3 mi away
Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Walla Walla
Courtyard Walla Walla
#5 of 15 in Walla Walla
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Walla Walla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Walla Walla

Address: 1419 W Pine St, Walla Walla, WA 99362-9497
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Walla Walla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Walla Walla
Price Range: $80 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Walla Walla 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Walla Walla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Walla Walla
Walla Walla Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Hotel Walla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing