We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service with a smile”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walla Walla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Maxwell House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 11 Walla Walla B&B and Inns
Paradise Valley, Arizona
1 review
“Service with a smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed 3 days at the Maxwell House B & B while on a wine tasting tour of the Walla Walla area. Penny, the owner operator could not have been any more hospitable and friendly. She was very flexible with our excessively late check in greeting us with a smile. The food was outstanding and served when she said it would be each morning. The house was a very nicely restored 1902 historic home that very clean, in a nice quiet neighborhood right across from Whitman College just a 1/2 mile from the heart of the downtown area where all of the restaurants are located. Penny exudes a genuine passion for what she does and was as accomodating as one could possibly be. The Maxwell House is now our go to place in the future when visiting the Walla Walla area and would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRAD K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
32
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, ORegon, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was our first trip to Walla Walla, and we stayed two nights at the Maxwell House. Absolutely adorable little B&B, Penny is the hostess with the mostess, and the food was incredible. I stay at B&Bs frequently, and this left nothing to be desired. Our room ("Clearly Crystal") was just perfect - beautiful decor, super comfy bed, bathroom was wonderfully decorated - loved it all. Penny bakes these amazing chocolate chip cookies, and I had about 15 in two days. I don't think I left any for the other guests (my apologies!)

Best of all, we didn't realize it at the time we booked it, but after our first day of wine tasting, we realized how PERFECTLY LOCATED this little B&B is to downtown wine tasting!!

You can't go wrong with The Maxwell House! Thank you Penny, we'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CassieMarie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I spent 2 nights at the Maxwell House mid September and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The house is a well restored early 1900's home very close to Whitman College and just a few blocks from the heart of down town Walla Walla. Our room, the ravishing Rose was surprisingly roomy, and most importantly to us, the bed was very comfortable! Penny, the owner runs the B and B with much pride and it is evident thruout the experience from the attention she has paid to the decor, the time she devotes to her guests, if nessesary, and the fabulous breakfasts that she serves! She even was able to deal with my somewhat sarcastic sense of humor, so she is ok in my book! No need to hesitate in your decision to book your stay!

Room Tip: Our room, the Ravishing Rose was excellent, the only possible concern with this room is the fact tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garlands1830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bothell
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

When we headed to Walla Walla for a short respite and get away, we had no idea we would have as much relaxation and enjoyment! We went on a whim and called on our way to make reservations, realizing it was after the Labor Day rush. We are so very thankful we found Maxwell House. Penny greeted us at the door and was such an energetic, bright and optimistic host. We enjoyed every minute of our 3-day stay. With so much that Walla Walla has to offer, we often just opted to hang out at the Maxwell House. Maybe it was those chocolate chip cookies she bakes every day! Penny's rooms are 5 star with maximum comfort. Fluffy towels, soft sheets and special touches you don't usually find in a B&B. Maxwell House also has several "get away" spots on the property. Little arbors and patios are tucked here and there to relax and put your feet up with comfort and privacy. If you just went for the breakfasts, you'd feel like you'd been on a great vacation - each day served on a different setting of her special china. Delicious, home made gourmet meals all served by Penny. One of the things we liked most about Maxwell House was the kindness and servant's heart of our host Penny. Her enthusiasm to give her guests the very best experience clearly made our get away a success. Maxwell House should be rated #1 among B&Bs in Walla Walla. Don't miss this gem in wine country!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

What a nice find this B&B was. My wife, Peggy, and I wanted to return to Walla Walla for my birthday celebration. We had not stayed at a B&B in Walla Walla before and decided to give it a try. The Maxwell House could not have been nicer for us. We love to walk, and its location next to Whitman College. allowed us to walk the campus on our strolls into town center. Penny was a great host, and went out of her way to accommodate my wife's vegan diet. We loved the rooms and furnishings of the Maxwell House, and especially enjoyed the comfortable front porch. We will certainly return to this delightful place again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint, Idaho
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

When most people think of Maxwell House, they think of coffee, and not very good coffee at that. From now on when I think about Maxwell House I'll think of the wonderful little B&B Nancy and I stayed at in Walla Walla, Washington this weekend. Located in the center of the Whitman College community and a few short blocks from the quaint downtown section of Walla Walla, The Maxwell House is a century old home that, at one time, had been converted to apartments. It was re-converted eight years ago by hostess Penny Maxwell after her husband bought it to fulfill her life long dream of owning a B&B. We arrived at lunch time on the Fourth of July and were met at the front door by Penny. We spent some time getting the grand tour and a briefing on what to do and where to go during our visit. We already knew we were going to spend most of our time touring some of the many vineyards and wineries in the Walla Walla area but we really didn't have a clue about where to get food to go with our wine. Penny had the answers. As one would expect from a B&B operator, she knew all of the best places and could even suggest what to order at each spot. The house itself is a charming two story with a lovely back patio and gardens and a front porch where we spent all of the time we weren't touring wineries. As one might expect, Penny is a marvelous breakfast cook. No bacon and eggs here. There was always a surprise coming out of her kitchen. Regular rates at The Maxwell House for our room on the ground floor are $160 per night, but Penny does run a mid week special, three nights for $333. We had a great time in Walla Walla. I know we'll go back and when we do we'll stay at The Maxwell House.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, WA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my weekend stay with my 3 of my best friends. Penny was totally accommodating. She graciously added a gluten free breakfast for me at the last minute. She also helped us to narrow down our sightseeing/wine tour experience. The living room and dining room were so beautiful and comfortable to hang out in and to catch up with old friends. We also enjoyed the single bed options for a girls only weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventurousRichland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Walla Walla hotels
0.9 mi away
Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Walla Walla Suites Inn
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Walla Walla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 14 in Walla Walla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Walla Walla
Courtyard Walla Walla
#4 of 14 in Walla Walla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Walla Walla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Maxwell House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 701 Boyer Ave, Walla Walla, WA 99362-2309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Walla Walla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Walla Walla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maxwell House Bed & Breakfast is located in a delightful neighborhood in Walla Walla. Shady trees line the streets of this quiet neighborhood, close to the downtown area and historical district. Carefully decorated rooms that delight your senses invite you to relax and settle in for a wonderful stay. Delectible meals, pleasant hospitality and comfortable ambiance will put The Maxwell House as a memory to be returned to again and again. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing