We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing mid-week get away”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walla Walla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Maxwell House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 12 Walla Walla B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 10, 2013

When we headed to Walla Walla for a short respite and get away, we had no idea we would have as much relaxation and enjoyment! We went on a whim and called on our way to make reservations, realizing it was after the Labor Day rush. We are so very thankful we found Maxwell House. Penny greeted us at the door and was such an energetic, bright and optimistic host. We enjoyed every minute of our 3-day stay. With so much that Walla Walla has to offer, we often just opted to hang out at the Maxwell House. Maybe it was those chocolate chip cookies she bakes every day! Penny's rooms are 5 star with maximum comfort. Fluffy towels, soft sheets and special touches you don't usually find in a B&B. Maxwell House also has several "get away" spots on the property. Little arbors and patios are tucked here and there to relax and put your feet up with comfort and privacy. If you just went for the breakfasts, you'd feel like you'd been on a great vacation - each day served on a different setting of her special china. Delicious, home made gourmet meals all served by Penny. One of the things we liked most about Maxwell House was the kindness and servant's heart of our host Penny. Her enthusiasm to give her guests the very best experience clearly made our get away a success. Maxwell House should be rated #1 among B&Bs in Walla Walla. Don't miss this gem in wine country!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifer f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for The Maxwell House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 62 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

What a nice find this B&B was. My wife, Peggy, and I wanted to return to Walla Walla for my birthday celebration. We had not stayed at a B&B in Walla Walla before and decided to give it a try. The Maxwell House could not have been nicer for us. We love to walk, and its location next to Whitman College. allowed us to walk the campus on our strolls into town center. Penny was a great host, and went out of her way to accommodate my wife's vegan diet. We loved the rooms and furnishings of the Maxwell House, and especially enjoyed the comfortable front porch. We will certainly return to this delightful place again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

When most people think of Maxwell House, they think of coffee, and not very good coffee at that. From now on when I think about Maxwell House I'll think of the wonderful little B&B Nancy and I stayed at in Walla Walla, Washington this weekend. Located in the center of the Whitman College community and a few short blocks from the quaint downtown section of Walla Walla, The Maxwell House is a century old home that, at one time, had been converted to apartments. It was re-converted eight years ago by hostess Penny Maxwell after her husband bought it to fulfill her life long dream of owning a B&B. We arrived at lunch time on the Fourth of July and were met at the front door by Penny. We spent some time getting the grand tour and a briefing on what to do and where to go during our visit. We already knew we were going to spend most of our time touring some of the many vineyards and wineries in the Walla Walla area but we really didn't have a clue about where to get food to go with our wine. Penny had the answers. As one would expect from a B&B operator, she knew all of the best places and could even suggest what to order at each spot. The house itself is a charming two story with a lovely back patio and gardens and a front porch where we spent all of the time we weren't touring wineries. As one might expect, Penny is a marvelous breakfast cook. No bacon and eggs here. There was always a surprise coming out of her kitchen. Regular rates at The Maxwell House for our room on the ground floor are $160 per night, but Penny does run a mid week special, three nights for $333. We had a great time in Walla Walla. I know we'll go back and when we do we'll stay at The Maxwell House.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my weekend stay with my 3 of my best friends. Penny was totally accommodating. She graciously added a gluten free breakfast for me at the last minute. She also helped us to narrow down our sightseeing/wine tour experience. The living room and dining room were so beautiful and comfortable to hang out in and to catch up with old friends. We also enjoyed the single bed options for a girls only weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adventurousRichland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed the weekend at the Maxwell House with another couple for winery touring and we're so happy we chose to stay here. Penny was such an accommodating hostess! She always made sure we had what we needed and her breakfasts were quite delicious. Her B&B is beautiful (Victorian is not a style I usually like but this place is quite charming), clean and her backyard patio and gardens are so comfortable and relaxing, especially with a nice bottle of wine. The location is very convenient for exploring both the Whitman college campus and downtown Walla Walla on foot, but she does have bikes available as an alternative. We will be referring friends and family to Penny and her wonderful inn!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is our 2nd trip to Walla Walla and maxwell house for wine tasting. Penny has gone out of her way on each trip to make our stay exceptional. The location is within walking distance to downtown tasting rooms and dining. Penny has great tips regarding local attractions and restaurants. The breakfasts were supurb and we enjoyed relaxing in the backyard with our wine by the fire pit.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank pohMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My wife and I regularily stay at B&Bs and this is one of the best we have stayed at. Penny is a wonderful host and her house is beautiful. The rooms are clean and very comfortabe and the breakfasts are delicious. We would highly recommend this B&B to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickvancouverBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Walla Walla hotels
0.9 mi away
Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Walla Walla Suites Inn
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Walla Walla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Walla Walla
Courtyard Walla Walla
#5 of 15 in Walla Walla
169 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 15 in Walla Walla
255 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walla Walla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 701 Boyer Ave, Walla Walla, WA 99362-2309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Walla Walla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Walla Walla
Price Range: $160 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maxwell House Bed & Breakfast is located in a delightful neighborhood in Walla Walla. Shady trees line the streets of this quiet neighborhood, close to the downtown area and historical district. Carefully decorated rooms that delight your senses invite you to relax and settle in for a wonderful stay. Delectible meals, pleasant hospitality and comfortable ambiance will put The Maxwell House as a memory to be returned to again and again. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing