We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walla Walla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Maxwell House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 11 Walla Walla B&B and Inns
Bremerton
1 review
“Charming place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

This was a very welcoming house with a great garden. Rooms were immaculate. One had a clawfoot bathtub and another room had a huge walk-in shower. Breakfast was a 4-star experience. The owner made everyone feel more like personal friends rather than guest. I highly recommend it. Also, it is within easy walking distance of the Whitman College campus.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank historian44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
32
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

Truly enjoyed Penny's hospitality and great breakfast. The B&B is a 10 minute very enjoyable walk from wine tasting places, galleries, and restaurants. Many vinyards are only short drive away. We were thrilled that we could start runs and bike rides ride from the house.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and similarly equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldcitizenPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, WA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

My husband & I enjoyed our 3-night stay at The Maxwell House B&B while we had a Walla Walla Wine Adventure the end of Sept 2010. We rarely stay in B&Bs because we always fear it might be noisy, or too personal, or - I don't know - can't nail my finger on our previous hesitancy to book a B&B. Well - Penny, our wonderful B&B hostess, has changed our minds by virtue of our exceptional experience at The Maxwell House. A 1904 house couldn't be more sound and more beautiful. I felt right at home from our first step over the threshold and from there it just got better and better! Our 1st floor bedroom was large-sized with a bathroom to match. Wonderful accommodations and extremely comfortable. The Inn was full the entire time we were there and we hardly heard a peep from anyone! That is until we sat with our fellow guests at breakfast time - a breakfast catered by Penny herself which rivaled any morning meal we've ever tasted. It seems that Penny attracts the most wonderful guests to her B&B and the breakfast conversation was most enjoyable and comfortable. Lovely! Penny is very accommodating and whips up a 5-star breakfast at a time of your choosing - no pressure to rush into the family dining room at the crack of dawn. No worries - Penny was at the ready with a delicious meal regardless of the morning time in which we chose to dine. Her house is in a very quiet neighborhood of beautiful older homes and the walks through nearby Pioneer Park were very enjoyable. Downtown eating was so easy - we simply walked to the restaurants each night. And if you have any Whitman College business while in Walla Walla, you couldn't stay at a better location. Do not hesitate to book The Maxwell House B&B. You will not regret it!

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank iolson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Level Contributor
198 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

Another couple and we spent two nights in Walla Walla on a "Follow the Path of Lewis and Clark" trip through Oregon, Washington and western Idaho, all along the Columbia River and east to Idaho. Penny is an outstanding hostess, extremely accommodating. Her breakfasts were delicious. We had the two first-floor bedrooms and they were excellent, very comfortable. The home is very near Whitman College and our husbands especially enjoyed a morning walk there. For dinner one night we ate at Saffron, an outstanding and unique restaurant. For lunch we ate at the Marc in the Marcus Whitman Hotel, again a delicious meal and excellent service. Also enjoyed the paintings of the Whitmans in the hotel. We visited Fort Walla Walla, most interesting........and spent a little time wine-tasting in Lowden, L'Ecole 41, Waterbrook and Reininger - all excellent.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizcraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

Great location, blocks from Whitman where there are nice gardens and a winding creek (nice for an evening walk). We stayed at Maxwell House and another B&B (the one with over 100 reviews) during the same trip, and were impressed by how well Maxwell House compares. Please note that the 100+ review B&B sends a follow-up email after your stay, requesting your review on TripAdvisor, while Maxwell House does not. This explains the numerous reviews one B&B compared to others. Maxwell House is a more traditional B&B - homey, with more interactions with Penny (owner) and other guests. It does not have some hotel-like amenities, such as robes, in-room fridge, central A/C, that may be found in another B&B. We believe we stayed in the owner's quarters at Maxwell House, with gorgeous french doors separating the sitting room, king-size Tempurpedic adjustable bed, double vanities, oversize shower, digital cable TV. There were portable A/C and ceiling fans to keep it comfortable. Breakfast was enjoyable, though not customizable. Because of the fewer reviews on TripAdvisor, we came to Maxwell House knowing very little; however, we had a great time, and highly recommend Maxwell House.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandiceOnVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2010

During my stay at the Maxwell House Bed & Breakfast I was greeted at the door with a smile and warm conversation. The Innkeeper, Penny Maxwell Bingham not only was a wonderful guide full of local Walla Walla information but she served as a dutiful concierge and phenomenal cook. The breakfasts she made for us were to die for. Yes, staying at a Bed & Breakfast is a little spendier than a hotel but here you get personalized service and assistance and delicious meals and refreshments. The Maxwell House is also just a hop and a skip away from beautiful downtown Walla Walla where you can do an array of wine tasting, shopping and dining. Along the way you can also view historical homes and the quaint neighborhoods of this beautiful town. For all you runners: The house is also a short jog away from a really cool park. Running there was a delight.

In other cool news about this cozy getaway the innkeeper Penny also keeps a blog where she posts cute/funny stories about her inn and delicious recipes that she makes for guests
http://themaxwellhousebb.blogspot.com/

Penny at Bright's Candy Store: http://www.youtube.com/user/MaxwellHouseBB

Penny teaches you how to make the perfect bed: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EwPaQCBI0M4

Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank VisitWallaWalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2009

We had two fantastic days at the Maxwell House last week. Penny is a wonderful cook and a most gracious hostess. Breakfasts were amazing (apple pancakes made with local apples served with local blackberries and dusted with powdered sugar..... seriously, it just doesn't get any better than this!) Home-made cookies and tea available round-the-clock, as well as local apples for consumption. The king-size bed in the Rose Room was very comfortable, and the surrounding neighborhood is nice and quiet. Also, it's just a couple blocks from Whitman College -- an extra plus for us. Wonderful adirondak chairs on the front porch, and a really neat bubbling fountain on the porch as well. Perfet weather completed the weekend.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kareberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Walla Walla hotels
0.9 mi away
Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Walla Walla Suites Inn
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Walla Walla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 14 in Walla Walla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Walla Walla
Courtyard Walla Walla
#4 of 14 in Walla Walla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Walla Walla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maxwell House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Maxwell House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 701 Boyer Ave, Walla Walla, WA 99362-2309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Walla Walla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Walla Walla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maxwell House Bed & Breakfast is located in a delightful neighborhood in Walla Walla. Shady trees line the streets of this quiet neighborhood, close to the downtown area and historical district. Carefully decorated rooms that delight your senses invite you to relax and settle in for a wonderful stay. Delectible meals, pleasant hospitality and comfortable ambiance will put The Maxwell House as a memory to be returned to again and again. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing