We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Wine, Friendly Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Longshadow Cellars

Longshadow Cellars
Ranked #16 of 101 things to do in Walla Walla
Attraction details
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Fabulous Wine, Friendly Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I had been dreaming of going to Long Shadows for years and finally had my chance last week. We decided on a spur of the moment trip to Walla Walla and when we drove past the Long Shadows tasting room sign I made my husband stop and go back. It was late afternoon and we didn't have a reservation but Rachael kindly welcomed us and escorted us into the tasting room. I didn't realize that there would be no tasting bar. The room is much more European with seating areas. With two other couples there Rachael managed to pour, explain, answer questions, bring water and crackers efficiently and warmly. This is not the place to go for a quick taste but then why would you go to Long Shadows to do that. The wines are so amazing and complex that you really just want to linger with each one. The whole experience lived up to what I had dreamed. I would definitely go back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank cconway_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    4
    0
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
160 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful tasting facility, fabulous wines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Longshadows is one of the truly fine wine cellars in Washington State. Walking into the elegant tasting room surrounded by Chihully glass art you quickly realize this isn't a typical wine tasting stop. The views from the large windows capture beautiful views of the countryside with mountains in the background. Then there is the wine; absolutely superb. Longshadows offers many varietals and styles, my bet is the dump buckets are still empty by days end.
This winery is only open on event weekends and by appointment.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelConnoisseurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The site is magnificent--wines were the best but the service and attitude was frustrating.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

There was no question that their wines were incredible---probably some of the best in the region. However, the staff was slow, not interested in helping and we had to skip another winery because we fell so far behind schedule. They just had an attitude that wasn't necessary. They put a damper on our entire day!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pdxmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron, Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great wine, great tasting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

The tasting room at this vineyard is gorgeous and the vistas are beautiful. Our tasting guide was very knowlegable and entertaining. He was very helpful, accomodating and pleasant. We bought two bottles of wine and he gave us a box for six, because he knew we would be stopping elsewhere and that would provide us a place to store our wine. How nice is that?? There is a tasting charge at this vineyard, but if you spend $45 that charge is waived. Reservations are a must here, and are sometimes hard to get. Plan ahead and make your reservation early.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nana5864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen, Virginia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Fantastic Vineyard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

If you only have time to visit one vineyard in Walla Walla, go out of your way and make an appointment. A group of fourteen vine lovers from Wintergreen VA had the good fortune to tour the vineyard, speak at length with one of the winemakers and his able staff and have an unforgettable catered dinner with about a dozen fine wines at a reasonable price! These folks really know how to make really outstanding wines (92-94 points) and it is a pleasure to sample them. Bring your wallet as you will be ordering many cases as we did!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LuBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Longshadow Cellars also viewed

 

Been to Longshadow Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing