We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great staff, and killer breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Walla Walla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Spokane, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great staff, and killer breakfast”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I was there for a wedding on a Saturday earlier this month and really enjoyed the hotel. I hadn't been there for 30+ years and the restoration was very well done. The front desk staff was great and so was every other staff member that I met. The free breakfast on Sunday morning was the best free buffet I have ever had - unbelievable really. Downtown Walla Walla is pretty cool too,. My only knock is that it is a little pricey, as we paid just over $200,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,156
    329
    90
    45
    25
See reviews for
255
733
52
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I can't really say anything new about this place, but I agree with every good thing that has been said about it. We were on a 1-week road trip of Eastern Washington, and mostly stayed at modestly priced, good-value hotels (our usual practice). However, every now and then we pay more for something special, and the Marcus Whitman Hotel did not disappoint. The first night, we went to The Vineyard Lounge. My husband had the Hot Spinach Artichoke Dip (served with fresh tortilla chips and veg) and Iron Horse Brewery's "Irish Death" ale. I chose the Local Cheese & Crackers and the house red (blended locally for the hotel by L’Ecole N° 41). The next evening, we ate at The Marc Restaurant, for an equally satisfying experience. Magnifique.

Room Tip: Save $35 or more per night by booking a room in the "West Wing." The amenities are the sam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motheromercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waitsburg, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Six of us enjoyed a Saturday night stay and dinner at the Chef's Table. Grant, Dean, Joey, Mack & Loren made our experience so special, and then there was the beautiful food and wines. Lobster Ravioli w/watercress, Cape Cod Diver Scallop, Sorbet, Buffalo w/lemon pepper spatzel and blue cheese (the Locati Barbera was outstanding with this course), then Washima Ranch Eye of Ribeye w/morels and Yukon potato, followed by the crowing jewel, a Horchatta Mousse Cake w/Strawberry, and spiced pecans. A once in a lifetime meal with wonderful wine pairings, and experience. The hotel and rooms are so beautiful too. The Marcus Whitman is the jewel of Walla Walla.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with another couple from Oregon for our annual wine tasting event. Upgraded our room reservation to the tower - well worth the upgrade fee. Wonderful bed - had great nights sleep. Incredible staff. Everyone ensuring we had a nice time. Many thanks to Devon for rescuing our binoculars!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brucejmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnation, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

In a typical year I stay approximately 90 nights in various hotels across the US and abroad. From the time I was greeted with a smile (at midnight) till the morning of departure, the management and staff at the Whitman Inn went "above and beyond" to ensure a pleasant stay. Being gluten free can be a challenge when I travel-first morning asked for some eggs to be prepared special-following two mornings I was approached by wait staff to make sure I had what I needed for breakfast. Want some winery tasting recommendations? You came to the right place-even 4 tasting rooms in the hotel itself! Room was excellent-service outstanding-bar was friendly and welcoming-chef is outstanding-very reasonable price for this high quality property! Steve Yoder

Room Tip: There is a "historic original building" and a "newer" section that was added lat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sayoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Marcus Whitman is a must-visit while in the Walla Walla area. The lobby and rooms are stunning and the employees are more than accommodating. Jonathan at the front desk always greets you with a smile that is ready to help and James was an extremely friendly and helpful security officer. Luis from the kitchen made the breakfast buffet a phenomenal addition to an already stellar stay at an amazing hotel. I look forward to coming back!

Room Tip: Different elevators fit different luggage racks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnDab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel. All of the staff were so accommodating and helpful, especially Jonathan, the front desk manager, and Dan Leeper, the Assistant General Manager.
The room was perfect, the breakfast great, and you can't find a better location to walk anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Walla Walla hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Walla Walla
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Walla Walla Suites Inn
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Walla Walla
Courtyard Walla Walla
#5 of 15 in Walla Walla
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walla Walla
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 15 in Walla Walla
254 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Walla Walla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 6 W Rose St, Walla Walla, WA 99362-1870
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Walla Walla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Walla Walla
#1 Green Hotel in Walla Walla
#1 Family Hotel in Walla Walla
#3 Business Hotel in Walla Walla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1928 through a community labor of love, The Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center - named "2015 Hotel of the Year" by the Washington State Wine Commission - is a downtown Walla Walla landmark where history and luxury intertwine. The property was fully renovated in 2001 and restored to its original grandeur, while adding modern updates to provide a truly luxurious experience for today's traveler. The full grounds include a 133-room hotel with luxury suites, a state-of-the art conference center featuring grand renaissance ballrooms, six on-site wine tasting rooms, and the award-winning The Marc Restaurant - recently named "Restaurant of the Year" by the Washington State Wine Commission - and The Vineyard Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcus Whitman Hotel Walla Walla
Marcus Whitman Hotel And Conference Center
Marcus Whitman Walla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing