We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Walla Walla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Lovely place to stay. Staff was friendly and helpful. Best hotel breakfast I have ever had!!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelainTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,680)
There are newer reviews for Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,443 - 1,449 of 1,680 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2011

First of all, I rarely give 5 stars, but the MWH deserves it. Staff was perfect in every way...some of the best trained people I have ever seen. Bravo! Stay here if you are anywhere within 100 miles!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bike_california
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

They say the "Tower" is the place to be at the Marcus Whitman, it being the original 1920's building, though there's a newer wing as well. Several lobby rooms are furnished with period pieces from the late 20's, beautiful antiques and divans and little nooks to sit in and contemplate the charming scene. There's even a grand piano tucked in a corner that guests are actually allowed to play. One upstairs floor has a sequence of paintings on the wall depicting the story of Marcus Whitman and his settlement of the area.Free breakfasts are served in the dining room, chosen from an elegant and very generous buffet. Had dinner the previous night there ("The Marc") and it was creative, delicious, and the wines (Walla Walla is a wine maven's heaven) divine. Somewhat pricey, but you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: They say the Tower rooms have more atmosphere, and that's where I was, but I didn't see the...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anniemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

As always if your in the area this is the best accommodations in town! I loved it! The room had a spa, very clean and quiet!!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auditing4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the March Whitman Hotel.

The staff was exceedingly polite. The hotel is a lovely grand old hotel. The rates are quite reasonable. Location-wise, it is in walking distance to the main street in Walla Walla, as well as restaurants such as Whitehouse-Crawford. The bar staff is also quite friendly. The room rate comes with a free breakfast buffet, which is nothing too fancy, but offers the basic breakfast fare (great biscuits!) and is greatly appreciated.

The rooms are well maintained and fairly well renovated given the age of the hotel. There was a band playing at some nearby restaurant the first night we were there, which made it a bit difficult to sleep -- I have no idea if that speaks to the thickness of the walls or the loudness of the band. We could not hear people in any other rooms, so I am assuming it is the latter. Parking was plentiful. Great stay at the Marcus Whitman!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaGyrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

it is so nice to stay in town at a nice hotel and walk to tastings and restaurants!! Everything at Marcus Whitman was great, the breakfast was excellent, the rooms were nice and the staff very friendly!!! I left a nice bracelet in my room after checking out.. they phoned me and said it was found and are in the process of returning it to me.. a friendly, honest staff!!! Hope to return soon as we had a wonderful girls' weekend in the wine country.. Thanks Marcus Whitman!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauraSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

This was my first visit to Walla Walla. I stayed 3 days at this wonderful hotel. From the time I encountered the reception staff, I found all employees to be very helpful and accomedating. The beds were comfortable and the rooms had nice, flat screen t.v.'s. My only small complaint is that the WiFi, while in my room, wasn't always receiving a strong signal and would sometimes drop. Other than that, it was a great stay. The location is within a comfortable walking distance to many of the shops, cafes, and restaurants in this bike and pedestrian friendly town.
I look forward to my next visit here.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyhiker21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Walla Walla hotels
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Walla Walla
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Walla Walla
Courtyard Walla Walla
#5 of 15 in Walla Walla
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Walla Walla Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Walla Walla
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 15 in Walla Walla
255 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Walla Walla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 6 W Rose St, Walla Walla, WA 99362-1870
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Walla Walla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Walla Walla
#1 Family Hotel in Walla Walla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Walla Walla
#3 Business Hotel in Walla Walla
Price Range: $142 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1928 through a community labor of love, The Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center - named "2015 Hotel of the Year" by the Washington State Wine Commission - is a downtown Walla Walla landmark where history and luxury intertwine. The property was fully renovated in 2001 and restored to its original grandeur, while adding modern updates to provide a truly luxurious experience for today's traveler. The full grounds include a 133-room hotel with luxury suites, a state-of-the art conference center featuring grand renaissance ballrooms, six on-site wine tasting rooms, and the award-winning The Marc Restaurant - recently named "Restaurant of the Year" by the Washington State Wine Commission - and The Vineyard Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcus Whitman Hotel Walla Walla
Marcus Whitman Hotel And Conference Center
Marcus Whitman Walla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing