We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites Walla Walla
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Walla Walla
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Perfect!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I was a bit hesitant to book my son here due to the reviews. He is starting Whitman and this hotel is across the street so we gave it a try. The room was neat and clean, the desk person was very helpful, and everything was new. They are in a remodel so the pool was closed.and the workout room was not open. This is why I went with 4 stars instead of 5. We will stay here again, no problem. I hate to write such a good review, the price could go up and availability could decrease!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Walla Walla, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review to share your experience. I apologize that the fitness room was not completed during your stay. We hope to have it remodeled soon. Thank you again for staying with us. We hope to see you again when you come to visit your son.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    74
    35
    38
    44
See reviews for
52
71
14
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We booked this place and started to worry when we arrived but it was great though under renovation. We didn't eat breakfast because it wasn't our taste in food but the price was right and it was quiet. Walla Walla is a great place to visit. We would go back in a heart beat. People were great, we had a lovely cheese plate at Olive as well as a iced Americano with soy.

Room Tip: Be sure to choose a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazycycler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Walla Walla, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a Tripadvisor review. It is very important for us that our guests’ experiences are shared. We appreciate your understanding during our renovation, and we're happy that you enjoyed your stay in Walla Walla. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We could not believe the value this motel was for the money! Perfect location, beautiful rooms with very comfortable bed and linens, new TVs, balcony was a bonus, VERY nice staff, and bonus of a pool! We loved it and will DEF stay here again.

Room Tip: Perhaps not all the rooms are remodeled, so ask for a remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Walla Walla, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. In addition to staff friendliness, we're happy to hear that you like the new changes. Please visit us again when your travels bring you back to Walla Walla!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colbert, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I am another traveler who took a chance on the Vineyard Inn based upon the most recent reviews. The motel is undergoing a major remodel and upgrade, ala "Hotel Impossible." So far, so good! Be sure to ask for a remodeled room. The front desk clerk said that everyone who books online automatically gets a remodeled room, but it is probably safest to follow up your reservation with a phone call. The location on Main Street can't be beat. It is a short walk to charming downtown Walla Walla, with some fabulous restaurants, shops, and probably 20 wine tasting rooms. You don't need a car to get there. This is a rather "no frills" motel, but still a fantastic value. The building is an older concrete block building. The lobby is basic and nondescript, although it is still undergoing renovations. There is a pretty nice, clean swimming pool and the grounds were well kept. Our room was great! All new beds (I LOVED the bed!), pillows (which rock!), quality linens and towels, new carpeting, etc. Nice big 42" LG flat screen TV, too. The room was super clean, including the updated bathroom. We paid $59 online for a king suite, which is a remarkable value. I think the regular price is only $62, which is still ridiculous for a room this nice and comfortable. The only downside to our stay was the poor excuse for a continental breakfast and perhaps the worst coffee I have ever tasted. It was watery and tasted stale. Nasty stuff. I think whoever made it is not a coffee drinker... LOL But, there is a Safeway right behind the motel, just a 2 minute walk away, and there is a Starbucks inside. Considering the bargain rates for a really nice, clean, and comfortable room, I absolutely didn't mind a quick morning walk and a few bucks to get some good coffee. I suspect the hotel is still ironing out some issues, but they are doing a fabulous job so far! For what we saved on the room, even versus the beat up looking older TraveLodge a few doors down, we had some great meals (Brasserie Four, a French bistro several blocks down the street, rocks!!) and have a case of wine to take home from some of the awesome local wineries! All in all, we have no complaints and we will definitely stay here again. In my opinion, you certainly get a lot more than you pay for here, even with the reallllly lousy coffee. :D As a final note, my "excellent" rating is influenced by the price and the quality of the room. If it were a more expensive hotel, I would have rated it "very good". This isn't the Marcus Whitman, but hey - if you don't mind not getting a $200 mint on your pillow, you can't go wrong here!

Room Tip: If you book online, you should get a remodeled room. Call the hotel after booking to verify. The k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timinspokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Walla Walla, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a Tripadvisor review. Thank you for the feedback. Good or bad, it's important for us to know how we are performing. I will see what changes can be made to our coffee.

Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NO, LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

It's nice for a budget place. They are in the process of an update and our room was done. It had new furniture, mini-fridge and microwave. I didn't hear any construction noise but we were here on a weekend.
It was walking distance to everywhere we wanted to go "downtown." Staff was friendly and competent.
Nothing extraordinary but much nicer than most places I've stayed for the price.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kimb3534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Walla Walla, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a Tripadvisor review. During our remodel, it's important that the construction doesn't impact the guest, So I'm happy to hear that there was no issues during your stay. Thanks again for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous re-model, wonderful staff! Decided to give this little gem a
look in spite of the negative reviews from last year. Like so many of the wines so readily available, this place just needed a little time! High quality bedding and bath products, fun colors, very helpful staff. Price for two nights was an amazing surprise!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTnestMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Walla Walla, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for the kind words and writing a Tripadvisor review. We are happy to hear that you like the remodel changes. Please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2013

First off...the pillows...taking all my willpower not to shove one in my bag and leave my clothes behind. Lol. Good location, good service. I stayed in one of the remodeled rooms. Very comfy, cozy, and modern. Flat screen tv, wifi, microwave, mini fridge, a/c. Very clean. Would most likely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aah22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Walla Walla, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a Tripadvisor review.. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the newly remodeled room accommodations. Especially our new pillows. Thank you for staying with us. We looking forward to seeing you when your travels bring you back to Walla Walla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Walla Walla hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 15 in Walla Walla
254 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Walla Walla
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Walla Walla Suites Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Walla Walla
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Walla Walla
Courtyard Walla Walla
#5 of 15 in Walla Walla
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Walla Walla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Walla Walla

Property: Red Lion Inn & Suites Walla Walla
Address: 325 E Main St, Walla Walla, WA 99362-2003 (Formerly Walla Walla Vineyard Inn)
Location: United States > Washington > Walla Walla
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Walla Walla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Walla Walla 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Walla Walla, right across from Whitman College, is the Walla Walla Vineyard Inn. Downtown restaurants, museums, wineries and shopping are located within steps of our entrance. The VA Medical Center is one mile, with other hospitals located within 1 mile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Walla Walla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walla Walla Vineyard Hotel Walla Walla
Walla Vineyard Hotel
Walla Vineyard Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing