We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little national park”

Weir Farm National Historic Site
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Wilton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The summer home of J. Alden Weir, a pioneer of the American Impressionist movement.
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great little national park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

I live quite near the park and visit it often. Rangers are knowledgeable and helpful. Beautiful woodlands, fields and pond. Weir's homestead has been refurbished and is now open for visitors. There are frequently artists in residence and the park offers art materials so you can try your hand at drawing. Great place to get the feel of the Impressionist era in American art.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    19
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
110 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Weir else?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Weir Farms is a low key national park in Wilton/Ridgefield. Undergoing renovations now, but fun outing if you're in the area and interested in art and/or feel like hiking.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank oliver57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, CT
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Don't Miss It”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We are so lucky to have a National Park (Historic Site) in Wilton! Beautiful grounds for strolling any time of the year, art exhibit, and classes. For a national park experience close to home, I wouldn't miss it, even if only for the Park Rangers with those great iconic hats.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marilynparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, CT
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend the day.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stopped by Weir Farm on a nice Sunday in October. It was a great way to spend the day. The grounds are beautiful. The visitor's center is staffed by Rangers. Our two children (4 and 3) enjoyed the Junior Ranger programs. We did the Pond Pack and the Letterboxing activities.

The Pond Pack was fun, they give you a Junior Ranger backpack with supplies (tape measure, magnifying glass, bug box, sketch pad and a field guide for identifying things). Then you go for a short hike (45 minutes) through the woods on an easy trek to the pond. The trail loops around the pond and comes back. We found the dam to be a good place to picnic. We then headed back to the visitor's center and did the letterboxing, about another 45 minutes. The kids get a badge for completing one exercise and a patch if they complete both.

Also, on Sundays they put out a nice tote with water color painting supplies. The kids painted while at the pond and also back at the farm. The houses on the Weir Farm weren't open when we were there. It looked like they were being restored. We spent about 4 hours total on the property.

There is a little gift shop in the visitor's center with an orientation video. There are also clean bathrooms attached to a barn out back. We didn't see any place close-by for food, but it didn't matter for us because we packed a lunch. We got into the main parking lot at around 11:00. It was about 1/2 full. They have over flow parking and the Rangers were right on top of letting people know where to park.

I highly recommend a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AWandering1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinclairville, New York
Level Contributor
128 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“wish the buildings were open”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stopped and watched the video before walking around the grounds a little. Considering the buildings were closed, it was a fast visit. There is a tour but we did not have time to wait for it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank marcy333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Weir Farm National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Weir Farm National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing