We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean with Pride of Ownership”
Review of Hilltop Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in International Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hilltop Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed here for one evening on our way to Canada.
I don't think I had stayed in a motel where you can park in front of your room for a long, long time. The room was very inexpensive and yet it was very clean. It seemed as if every inch of the room was decorated with a North Wood's theme, probably a little over the top in decorating, but it also told me the owners loved this motel and put a lot of time into it. The exterior of the motel was also very clean and very decorated.
The beds were comfortable.
The breakfast in the morning was a few very sweet options, brownies, donuts and banana bread, and then coffee and juice. It was at least something, and the baked goods were very good.
I would definitely stay here again.
My rating is based on price and cleanliness. Excellent here is different than excellent in a top notch modern resort with many amenities.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AmazingRacerWannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 96 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2010

Stayed here on a Saturday night. Great location, right on Hwy 53. Nice little cozy place, had picnic tables outside, it was nice to sit outside and enjoy the sun. We walked to the Spot on 53 for dinner, sat in the lounge which was a little dark, food was okay. had a "continental breakfast" of juice and home made bread. Didn't fill you totally up but was nice to get something in the stomach. We actually went down the road a little bit further to the chocolate moose for breakfast, seemed to be the place to go on Sundays in town. Was good value. I would stay here again if I was in town.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ilovetraveling25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Needed a place to land outside Voyagers. Found this motel to be an easy stop. Clean, cute rooms, very quiet (we did come in on a Sunday) and friendly staff. Continental breakfast offerings were homemade coffee cakes, hot coffee, juice and granola bars, a nice touch.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladybuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We stayed one night in this motor lodge while on a cross-country road trip. It is your basic motor lodge set up: single story, with each room's door opening up on the parking lot.. Your parking spot is in front of your room.

Cost: Our room, with one queen bed and one double bed cost $86 including tax. This was the weekday rate with AAA discount. We were two adults and two children under 10.

Pros: The room was extremely clean, the beds were very good, the room (including the bathroom) was spacious, there was cable tv (though no HBO) and free wireless internet.

Cons: No mini-fridge, microwave, iron or hairdryer. No shampoo. No children's play area ( that we noticed) and no swimming pool.

Specific To Families Traveling With Children: I noticed that of the previous reviews, hardly any were from families with children, so I thought I would offer one. This actually might not be the best choice for children. When we checked in, the proprietor asked my husband our children's ages (two girls, ages 6 and 10). He then told my husband that he tells every guest with children under 12 that they are responsible for their children and need to be sure they behave appropriately; he expanded on this a little. These cautionary remarks upon check-in, coupled with the lack of a pool or children's play area, makes me think families with children might want to think about other hotel options in the area.

Christian Theme: A couple of reviewers remarked on the Christian icons around the motel. During our stay, the sign out front said "Praise The Lord", there was a bible and some kind of users guide on our nightstand and our bathroom had two small pictures with religious quotes. I don't think it was over-the-top, but maybe even a little is too much for non-Christians.

I would recommend this motel for older individuals and older couples.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BronxMom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nightbreeze95, Owner at Hilltop Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2010

In response to Bronx Mom 2. We are pleased that you enjoyed our sparkling spacious accommodations and comfortable beds. We do provide a fridge for our extended stay guests on request, plus free block and or cube ice for coolers and drinks for all guests. We will even supply a cooler if needed. Micro wave services are available at front desk. We also supply our guests again on request with hair dryers, irons, and ironing boards. All rooms are supplied with bar and liquid pump soap. For our travelers who don't carry shampoo with them, we will gladly supply them with a fresh botttle. We here at the Hilltop want each guest to feel as comfortable as possible! Thank You, Richard at the Hilltop, International Falls,MN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We stayed in the largest cabin which was very roomy and cozy. There was a living room, bedroom with three double beds, and a bathroom. Everything was spotless and the decor was nature-themed with animal stencils by Glenda, who along with her husband Richard owns this property. The next morning, breakfast was waiting for us on a picnic table. Glenda served her homemade rhubarb coffee cake which melted in my mouth. The whole experience was so very pleasant and was one of the highlights of our vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hendricksjrm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

This hotel is clean and friendly and great for a night's stay. Despite the name, it's not the least bit scenic. The homemade doughnuts in the morning were a nice touch. The Christian artwork on the wall is unintrusive and part of the charm of the rooms, which were surprisingly big. One bed in our room squeaked like crazy whenever you shifted position. No pool or Internet service.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RadioJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nightbreeze, owner at Hilltop Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2009

In Response: The new bed in question has been inspected and adjustments made to box spring. Results-NO squeak. We are very high on every detail here at the Hilltop in our well appointed rooms. As far as scenic, Hilltop is located on U S Highway 53 on the southside of International Falls inside city limits. Grounds are well maintained with picnic area for BBQ. Flowers are planted along roadway at entrance for great curb appeal. We are pleased that our guest enjoyed our fresh baked donuts included in our continental breakfast. Wireless Internet will be added soon! Thank You, Richard at the Hilltop, International Falls, MN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

This motel was clean as could be, the price was fantastic, and it was easy to find. The continental breakfast was just okay... no real coffee cream, good baking. It was good, but not the best I've ever had.
The owners obviously are invested in this operation, and it shows. It's cute as can be, and extremely well maintained.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colletti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near International Falls
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in International Falls
106 reviews
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Fort Frances
Super 8 Fort Frances
#1 of 4 in Fort Frances
375 reviews
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites International Falls
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Interna...
#3 of 8 in International Falls
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn International Falls
Days Inn International Falls
#5 of 8 in International Falls
157 reviews
3.3 mi away
La Place Rendez Vous Hotel & Convention
1.9 mi away
Copper River Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Motel

Address: 2002 2nd Ave, International Falls, MN 56649-3928
Location: United States > Minnesota > International Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in International Falls
Price Range: $52 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilltop Motel is located at U.S. Hwy 53 and 20th Street. We have a nicely shaded picnic area and offer free Super fast WIFI, ice, Boat overflow parking, complimentary continental breakfast, free local phones calls, 70 channel cable TV with fax and copy services available. We are (1) mile from Falls Int'l Airport, Near Rainy lake and offer a fully renovated stay with extremely clean rooms. We have individual Cabins as well Refrigerators and microwaves if needed. 1-800-322-6671 for reservations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hilltop Hotel International Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing