We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Fresh Fish"”

Rusty's Riverfront Grill
Ranked #3 of 129 Restaurants in Vicksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Fresh Fish"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I really wanted to like this place, local, good reviews...
I ordered the grilled Mahi Mahi with green beans and a salad.
The fish was way over salted and overcooked to a rubbery mess.
I will never understand why it is so hard to cook a piece of fish!

Wait staff was very nice and professional.

Will I come again? Maybe.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank uhsig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    255
    102
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Forest, Ms
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I visited Rusty's on February 9th, a Saturday night, and there was about a 30-40 minute wait which was not a big surprise as it was into the dinner service. When seated, we received prompt attention and the fried green tomato appetizer was delivered quickly and piping hot. It was delicious with just the right batter to make it crispy-crunchy and flavoring in the sauce that made simple fried green tomatos into a treat to be remembered. The appetizer portion was very generous. The salad was a standard green tossed salad and nothing remarkable, but it was fresh and good. For entree, I had the special - blackened salmon over sweet potato mash. It was absolutely delicious. The salmon had that "melt in your mouth" texture and, as a southern girl, the pecan topping was just the extra touch to put it over the top. The side order of green beans were tasty as well. We passed on dessert, but had a wonderful time with attentive service, great atmosphere, and delicious food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gwyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississippi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I had 5 recommendations to eat at Rusty's for date night. We got there early in the evening but there was already a thirty minute wait. We knew it might push our time but figured that with an hour or so we should have plenty of time. We ordered our food and as we sat there watched the pass through from the kitchen. The appetizer didn't take a long time but our entree was around 45 minutes or so. We had to have our food boxed up and take it with us because at that point it wasn't even ready and we knew that if we ate it we'd basically have to inhale it to be done in time. We were a little later than we wanted to be arriving but had around an hour and a half and thought that would be plenty of time, however in the time we waited we watched the pass through to the kitchen. In the 45 minutes to an hour that we waited, I watched the majority of the food wait under the warmer for a minimum of 10 minutes. I saw a basket of food get knocked over and stay that way for 5 minutes while laying on the counter. When it was finally noticed it was righted but not withdone. Plates sat half done under the warmer as the rest of the food was cooked. The food would back up until they were having to reach over people's food to set down the other plates. The server was nice and appologetic but waiting about 6 hours after I arrived at a resteraunt to be able to eat my food and having to take it with me and then when I finally ate, the food was over done and not nearly worth the almost 30 dollars I paid for it, to say the least we are very unhappy. It was dry, almost burnt, and a very small portion size for the price. My husbands sea food was disappointing. Even after eating we were both still hungry.We paid 63 before tip. The server was great but the food and watching the kitchen was not worth it. However we chose not to punish her with a low tip for what she is not responsible for. They also advertise riverfront but be prepared to look at a large boat museum. You do not actually see the river. We don't mind paying a lot of money for fresh seafood, a great view, and good service but to pay that for below par food, no view, and an extremely long wait, well, we will not return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank invisibleash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We ate lunch there twice. About the only place in Vicksburg. That is were several people in Vicksburg recommended.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank wixom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome food and service!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband ate there at night it's busy and a little bit of wait but we'll worth it!!!! We has the pick 3 I had broiled scallops fried shrimp and crab cake. He had fried shrimp grouper and scallops I had baked potatoes and salad he had cheese grits and onion rings. We had the crawfish tails as an appetizer and I had a salad it was ALL sooooo GOOD

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rusty's Riverfront Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing