We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Donuts”
Review of Shipley Do-Nuts - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shipley Do-Nuts
Restaurant details
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Donuts”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Great donuts in a shop with local flavor. Certainly nothing fancy, but a fun and tasty start to the day.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Blake K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    3
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“wow--walk a mile for a good donut”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

This place makes great donuts! Its that simple. Go there and try em. You wont be disappointed. Great Bavarian cream and the cake donuts are the best either glazed or plain.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 27SKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must for doughnut lovers”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Great old-fashioned doughnuts made in the shop. We got glazed and several filled doughnuts, and all were good. Coffee was fine too, and the prices are great.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pennancy_Nola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
132 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best Do-Nuts Ever”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Shipley has the lightest, tastiest donuts anywhere! They're like Lay's Potato Chips..."nobody can eat just one"!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ladygreyhound33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
285 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“WISH THEY HAD THESE IN WISCONSIN !”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

While traveling through Vicksburg ,MS. We seen something we had never seen before a shop called Shipley Do-Nuts. I am a donut lover, I MUST try these. I got a dozen Do-Nuts, some sprinkles, maple Iced, plain sugar iced and some of my favorite Butter Milk Cake. They have (3) Styles of Do-Nuts: The Yeast Do-Nut, The Filled Do-Nut(11 fillings to choose from) and The Cake Do-Nut. It was nearly 100 degrees outside today so without all the Do-Nuts melting I had better choose wisely. Their web site(www.Shipleydonuts.WS)has a nice story about the history of the business. Since 1936 and 63 varieties by far their best seller is their Plane Glazed Yeast Do-Nuts. We visited midday so we missed the cut by hand and served HOT throughout the day experience. The back baking areas lights were off and they were now selling the Do-nut in the front end of the shop. I will have to revisit someday to "sample the nectar of sumptuous HOT glased Do-Nuts". Don't get me wrong these Do-Nuts were fresh, flaky and delicious. But I do like a hot Do-Nut. And I I said before it was nearly 100 degrees outside we had to get this dozen back to the hotel quick.....! I truly wish we had a Shipley Do-Nuts this in Wisconsin!!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeep057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shipley Do-Nuts also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing