We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent southern fare!”

Walnut Hills Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 137 Restaurants in Vicksburg
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This restaurant has it all. Great atmosphere. Great food. Decent prices. The fried green tomatoes with the crawfish cream were the best fried green tomatoes that I've ever had! The hush puppies were the best I've EVER had! The fried catfish was outstanding! The sides were all good southern standards one would want to eat in a place like Vicksburg.
The ambiance in the old house in old town Vicksburg was great.
The service was very good.
One disappointment: we were told that we would eat round table family style there. But when we walked in for dinner, we discovered that round table was at lunch time only. So, if this is what you want, be sure to go at lunchtime. However, we stayed anyway and ordered off the menu and it was very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

596 - 600 of 750 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

We ate an early dinner here in the middle of the week. Luckily for us, there was no wait. The food was great, service nice and friendly, but not overly cloying, and the old house itself is lovely. My husband says that this was the best gumbo he has ever had (and he loves his gumbo). The rib dinner was good, salad was pleasant although some might say predictable, but it suited me fine. If I ever get back to Vicksburg, it will be the first place I go to eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank momcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We enjoyed eating in this neat old house, but found the food to be rather ordinary. The servings were large but rather unmemorable.

Thank 46,749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut H, Owner at Walnut Hills Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Oh dear, I'm sorry to hear that your food was not memorable. That's certainly not our standard... we must have had an off day on your visit! Please try us again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stopped in for lunch while in route from Florida to Arkansas based on roadside sign. The restaurant is located in a large home built in the 1800's. Wife ordered corn bisque and I ordered club sandwich with fries. My club was good. Turkey and ham was thick sliced and not deli style thin. Good taste. Fries were a bit different with some sort of batter coating similar what you would find on fish. Did not really add any special unique flavor to the fries, so why do it? Wife stated the corn bisque was very good.
Service was just ok. My diet coke was empty without an offer of a refill. For a restaurant that is a bit pricier than most, a Diet Coke refill is not too much to ask.
If you like eclectic, this is your spot. If you like value and useful service, keep driving.

Thank 1969RS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut H, Manager at Walnut Hills Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for your review. We value all feedback and try to make our little restaurant the best we can for our customers. With great food on all counts and only the Diet Coke to mention, how was the rest of the service? Did it come out quickly? We feel we provide an excellent value to our town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We ate here at lunch and really enjoyed the food. The setting is very nice, and the service quite friendly. We had the seafood gumbo, which was very very good. Then we split a shrimp po-boy which was also very good.

Thank IvoryTickler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut H, Owner at Walnut Hills Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013
Google Translation

Glad you enjoyed your visit. Come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Walnut Hills Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing