We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different, quaint, food just ok”

Walnut Hills Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 137 Restaurants in Vicksburg
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stopped in for lunch while in route from Florida to Arkansas based on roadside sign. The restaurant is located in a large home built in the 1800's. Wife ordered corn bisque and I ordered club sandwich with fries. My club was good. Turkey and ham was thick sliced and not deli style thin. Good taste. Fries were a bit different with some sort of batter coating similar what you would find on fish. Did not really add any special unique flavor to the fries, so why do it? Wife stated the corn bisque was very good.
Service was just ok. My diet coke was empty without an offer of a refill. For a restaurant that is a bit pricier than most, a Diet Coke refill is not too much to ask.
If you like eclectic, this is your spot. If you like value and useful service, keep driving.

Thank 1969RS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut H, Manager at Walnut Hills Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for your review. We value all feedback and try to make our little restaurant the best we can for our customers. With great food on all counts and only the Diet Coke to mention, how was the rest of the service? Did it come out quickly? We feel we provide an excellent value to our town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (749)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

598 - 602 of 749 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

We ate here at lunch and really enjoyed the food. The setting is very nice, and the service quite friendly. We had the seafood gumbo, which was very very good. Then we split a shrimp po-boy which was also very good.

Thank IvoryTickler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut H, Owner at Walnut Hills Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013
Google Translation

Glad you enjoyed your visit. Come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Good down home country cooking, all on a lazy Susan so you can choose what you want - I skip the turnip greens!

Fantastic food, good sweet tea and a very social way to eat lunch.

Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is definitely a must-see when you're in Vicksburg. The food is great as is the atmosphere. If possible, try the Round Table experience. Gives you a lot of choices and their famous fried chicken!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Amber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Upon entering Vicksburg, the first thing depending on what time of the day it is, I'm hungry where is the best place to eat? We consulted the National Parks Brochure and online restraunt guide and located this out of the way jewel. It took some discerning driving to locate this wonderful establishment, but was well worth the hunt.

When arriving at this converted 19th century home, we were impressed with the outside landscape of beautiful blooming azalea's and other regional plants that adorned the front of the Victorian style house. The porch was an amazing step back into time, with rocking chairs and a cool breeze blowing across the front of the house. The daily specials were inscribed on an antique looking blackboard, what looked to be out of an old schoolhouse.

Upon entering the small but eligant entrance, the house was decorated in the time period with artifacts from the area. Each room of the house was setup in a dinning area with your choice of round or square tables. The round tables were setup for enjoying the entire entree and sides of the daily special, costing around $20 per person including your drink. Normal dinning was setup on the square tables with each place setting containing a placemat with the history of the area and the restraunt.

A friendly server immediately came over to take the drink order while we perused the menu, which included al-a-cart options as well. The option of the famous Mississippi sweet tea and other pleasurable beverages were at our disposal. Adjacent to the dinning rooms was a small bar area that contained an old wooden bar from what looked like 19th century motif as well. After we placed our drink order, another server brought out hot from the oven cornbread muffins with butter which melted in to a rich wonderful texture and addition to the tasty morsles.

The food was prepared in an old style of beatiful china looking dinerware. On each plate were small bowls of the homemade comfort foods of the south which included, Kale, southern style greenbeans, mac and cheese, purple hulled peas and other delicious delectibles. The famous southern fried chicken was truly a delight, as was the home made stew. For dessert, there were many homemade choices, prepared daily. Cheescake, carrot cake, and the famous carmel cake which was 4 layers of yummy white cake and carmel covered hunk of the delicious goodness as well as the filling in each layer.

This along with the very affordable price, made the Walnut Hills Restraunt to be one of our favorite finds on our trip. If you are planning on being in Vicksburg, you want to make sure this is on your stop to absorb some of the rich southern food and hospitality. Check them out online at www.walnuthillsms.com. You will be glad you made the stop and experienced a "Diamond on the Mississippi."

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sierratango60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut H, Owner at Walnut Hills Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Walnut Hills Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing