We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very informative”

Vicksburg Riverfront Murals
Ranked #4 of 40 things to do in Vicksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very informative”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The murals are very well painted and give an excellent history of Vicksburg - both industrially and, more importantly, regarding the civil war.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    122
    48
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stephenville, Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Great foreground to the river”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I took photos but not including them here. They are on my Facebook album, Run Dog Run. The American Queen stern-wheeeler was lowering her gang plank in the background. Made me wish to have been alive in the 1800's when life ....and politics were quite a bit different. Extremely well done murals.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bobinman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England - USA
Level Contributor
422 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Loving Artistic Effort”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I absolutely LOVED this attraction. I walked the entire length of the many lovingly painted art murals twice, pausing to study each one, and photographing many. I have never seen something like this before in all my travels. I like American history, and I got plenty of it here. The pictures seem almost alive. What a huge amount of loving artistic effort went into the creation of these paintings. Get out of your car and soak in the experience. Don't just drive by.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KayTee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Informative and interesting”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

A great way to present information of the history of the area in an informal and informative way. This was a great one for families as you can just wander past at your own pace and not worry about bothering anyone

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank wheressharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda
Level Contributor
325 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Interesting if You Know the Area”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I was accompanied by friends from Vicksburg who were able to explain to me the history and significance of the murals. If I had just viewed them alone as a tourist then I would not have appreciated them so much.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank therealnickpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vicksburg Riverfront Murals also viewed

 

Been to Vicksburg Riverfront Murals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing