We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the best tamales I've ever had”
Review of Solly's Tamales

Solly's Tamales
Ranked #24 of 131 Restaurants in Vicksburg
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Minnesota
Level Contributor
185 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best tamales I've ever had”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Solly's is hardly anything to look at and at first look, you may think you should skip it. Don't! If you enjoy tamales, and I do, well these are awesome. I am so glad I decided to stop and sorry I didn't grab a dozen more for later!

There is limited place to dine in and most do take out, but regardless, the tamales were some of the best I've had and I grew up by the border......

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BorealForestDweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Get em and freeze em”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Every time I am in Vicksburg I buy 3 or 4 dozen, take them home and freeze them for when I really have a hankering for them. Usually with beer, friends and a ball game. Better than pizza.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TimJBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
119 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great traditional tamales.”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Great old style tamales. Corn-husk wrapped, then foil wrapped per dozen, then newspaper wrapped to keep them warm. You can load up a few dozen for your cooler and microwave them. They came out great a day later. Mild with a small hint of spice. If you want to juice them up, use the salsa or the hot sauce of your choice.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Toastmaster2D2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
118 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good tamales”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The tamales were tasty but pretty small. The prices are excellent and they also have pralines. They aren't as good as the one's in Savannah..but do satisfy your sweet tooth!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tinaz494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
177 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Tamale Trail”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I'm trying to hit as many places as I can on the Tamale Trail. Starting at Solly's was the thing to do. These have been the best I've had so far. Ms. Betty is a real treat to talk with and it's a great place to people watch. Now I'll have to have a couple of dozen shipped home to share with my friends.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solly's Tamales also viewed

 

Been to Solly's Tamales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing