We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice exhibits”

The Old Depot Museum
Ranked #8 of 40 things to do in Vicksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hernando, Mississippi
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice exhibits”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great exhibits of cars, ships, trains in addition to the Civil War battle field recreation which was great for gaining insight into the military park tour we took the following day. Satff was very knowledgeable and personable

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wade E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    56
    25
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mesquite, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Boats & Trains!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

For youngsters (and those who think young) there are model trains everywhere in this museum! It is reasonably priced @ $5.00 but you will have your fill of models, both trains and boats. There is an elevator for the upper floor(s) so handicapped is ok. The owners are very kind and knowledgeable. There is even a table where you can "run" the trains; perfect for kiddoes.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita
Level Contributor
255 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Interesting History Lesson”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The small museum tells the story of the battle of Vicksburg and is the ideal way to begin your visit to the park.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary1675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Vicksburg story”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

A film depicts the battle for Vicksburg, Model cars, model ships and model trains may not interest everyone. Small models of local homes and buildings were very detailed. If limited on time see other sights instead,

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank vkrombach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“This was a neat, tiny, but packed full place, in the Old Depot Museum”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We took my 9 year old son here at opening on a Saturday morning. The place was empty, so good time to go! We stopped over in Vicksburg just for this battlefield museum, enroute to Gulf Shores. I had no idea there was a running train exhibit in the first room of the museum and old cars and ships upstairs that would delight and intrigue my 4 year old too! The battlefield models were awesome, the battle truly came to life and it was obviously so much care went into the making of the models. In other exhibits, the donations of model ships, and from ship crew and soldiers' families, priceless to give the big picture to visitors. Highly recommend. We intended to stay just 30 minutes as we had to hit the road, but we couldn't pry our kids out until an hour had passed. Fun time. Oh and nice clean bathrooms. This is in the old train depot and there are several old train cars out back, the kids can climb on too, which is what we did before the museum opened. The address is 1010 Levee St. The access to upstairs is stairs, unknown if there is an elevator, but I doubt it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Depot Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Old Depot Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing