We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free & good for kids”

Lower Mississippi River Museum and Interpretive Center
Ranked #6 of 40 things to do in Vicksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pentwater, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Free & good for kids”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

As others have mentioned, there are lots of inter-active displays and a ship to explore, so this seems to be a good stop for those traveling with children. However, as there is not much about the history of the river or adult-level explanations of the challenges in flood / course control, it was a disappointment. (been through lots of ships, most recently at Patriots Point).

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JudyR-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    60
    13
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Francisville, Louisiana
2 reviews
“I was genuinely Surprised!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I visited here and we were not expecting much, but it was a truly wonderful museum. Lots of hands on exhibits and we loved playing on the attached boat. Plus Rusty's restaurant is right across the street!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starkville, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love the history, keep going back!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

It helps that the LMRM is free, but I keep going back for the history. I love watching the film at the beginning (optional) and walking through (self guided). I have been to the LMRM three times. I always enjoy touring the ship, and even my teenage brother loved it! So much fun- I felt like a kid again. The first time I went through I was just with my brother. We spent an hour at the museum (or under). The last time I went, I dragged my parents along and we spent about an hour and a half exploring.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jessyjolly88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churchland, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice displays.”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We went close to closing 5:00pm and was unable to spend alot of time here. What we did see was very well done. I think it is worth the stop.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very interesting and free also”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Enjoyed the experience, especially the tour of the USS Mississippi river boat. Was a great learing experience with some exhibits designed specially for younger children

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wade E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lower Mississippi River Museum and Interpretive Center also viewed

 

Been to Lower Mississippi River Museum and Interpretive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing