We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting!”

Warren County Welcome Center
Ranked #13 of 40 things to do in Vicksburg
Attraction details
Owasso, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
154 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Interesting!”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We pulled into Vicksburg and our first stop was the Welcome Center. While walking around enjoying the various paintings throughout the building a gentleman approached us to introduce himself as the artist and if we had any questions he'd gladly answer them. We didn't have any questions but we let him know we thought the paintings were beautiful. The Welcome Center was definitely welcoming. The staff were quick to offer coffee or info to everyone that walked through the door. We don't travel with pets but I noticed they had a dog park at the side of the building for tourists with pets that looked very clean and well maintained. The best part though was to see a train crossing the river on the old bridge that's still in use. I don't know what possessed me but for a moment I unwittingly reacted without thought and waved at the engineer. What is it about trains that brings out the kid in all of us? Next thing I knew he was giving us a short blast of the whistle. I'd of settled for a wave but the whistle was great. We walked the grounds and enjoyed it. It was a good way to relax before moving on.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    12
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Helpful”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Quick stop location for maps and advice from knowledgeable staff. Clean restrooms are always a plus.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JimfromTexas9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
138 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Friendly and Helpful”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

This welcome center lived up to its name as the people made me feel very welcomed to the state of Mississippi and the city of Vicksburg. The lady behind the counter was also very informative and recommend some things for us to do. She showed where our hotel was and how close it was to the different attractions.loved being able to see the Mississippi River from there. It worth going to before visiting the city. Had lots of brochures from different attractions.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank QSKSHEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5,222 reviews
1,924 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,859 helpful votes
“Professional and informative”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Love these centres; they are so helpful for anyone from out of town and these is so much history to this area that you definitely need help. Staff were very helpful and I found the artwork very interesting.
Also the models of the soldiers and their clothing were so realistic - you could tell so much of the anguish from their eyes.
Wonderful views of the river and bridges.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winder, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice family friendly rest area/welcome center”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a really nice welcome center. It has security present there which is a plus if you go there at night or if you are traveling with small children. The bathrooms are plentiful & clean. They also have a welcome to Mississippi sign there which is great if you missed the one off of I-20. Also you have a good view of the Mississippi River. There are lots of places to sit at the back of the welcome center that are shaded which is a plus for the summer. They also have vending machines. The rest rooms have changing tables in them for babies. There are a lot of pamphlets and coupons for things to do while in Mississippi.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cenalestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warren County Welcome Center also viewed

 

Been to Warren County Welcome Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing