We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveler rating
97
121
63
21
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
97
121
63
21
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the street shuttle runs free shuttle shuttle service mississippi river outdoor pool non smoking room front desk staff would stay again great room room was clean and comfortable slots gambling interstate refrigerator ms battlefield
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 322 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2019

The hotel is nice, the staff very friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable. My only complaint was the front entrance. The floor looked dirty and there was a cigarette smell that tried to be covered up. First impression....creepy and dark. The casino was not on the property, you have to drive there or take the free shuttle. We were told the casino has three restaurants so we took the shuttle to go get dinner. Two of the three restaurants were closed on a Tuesday! The casino is also very dark and run down, the cigarette smoke seemed really heavy and took over our dinner. I will never go back there again!

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christie-BD-, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2019

Hi Sally, thank you for your review. We are glad to hear your room was comfortable and you found the hotel to be nice.

Air quality is top of mind for us, as we know many of our guests can be sensitive to the smoke. Our restaurants are completely non-smoking and our casino does have a non-smoking section. We will share your comments with our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2019

We had to book out of our original hotel as it was terrible, took a gamble late Sunday night they had vacancy. All good gave us a great room, large, very clean and comfortable, sleep well in nice bed. Reasonable rate around $89 no breakfast but 4 star digs. front desk very helpful and efficient, this would be the best priced hotel in town. Free shuttle to casino but I reckon you could walk it easily. Would recommend this hotel to anyone

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank shanea955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christie-BD-, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2019

Hello and thank you for your four-star review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your overall stay and we hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2019

We stay at the Ameristar at least twice a year. William, one of the managers at the hotel, is the coolest guy ever and his sidekick Alpha will make sure you get whatever you need. We tend to stay on the 7th floor and Natalie is a super sweet lady that will make sure you have everything you need; her smile lights up the hallway. They are excellent guest services representatives! We look forward to seeing them every visit.

One thing to keep in mind; the casino business is basically a weekend business so understand the place will be rocking on the weekends. We always stay during the week and head out by Friday.

In the casino, during the day, you will meet a host of really friendly employees at the tables--particularly Mike the casino pit boss and dealers Jessie, Yalanda, Verlinda, or Cora May--they try their best to make your visit top notch. Mention to them that you read about them on a trip advisor review--they will love it!

If you game by night, Helen and Jerry are super cool dealers with a great sense of humor. We don't always win--but one would be crazy to expect that every time---we come back year after year because all of these employees treat you like family.

There are multiple reviews about the smoking; we can't deny that it is a smoky place. However, neither of us are smokers and we get used to it pretty fast. We have been playing blackjack for a very long time and came to accept that cards and smoking pretty much go hand in hand. Most of the time though, people are pretty courteous and will try not to blow it in your face--no guarantees though--each person is unique!

Room tip: We stay during the week Monday through Thursday; gets a little noisier by Thursday. Not sure about weekends as we do not game on weekends.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank maria p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christie-BD-, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2019

Maria, we cannot begin to express the many thanks for your reccomendation, loyalty and your thorough review. We have forwarded your feedback to the manager of each team member you mentioned so that they may be celebrated internally for their customer service. Again, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us your thoughts and we can't wait to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2019

Americans is the best Casino in Vicksburg! It has an excellent Sports Bar area. It is easy to access just off the interstate. My sister has won thousands on the slots there. The management is excellent. The buffet is very good.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christie-BD-, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2019

Hi Leo, thank you so much for the five-star review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the sports bar and dining experience and would like to congratulate your sister on her winnings. We hope to see you both again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2018

We stayed at the Ameristar on Saturday, Nov. 4th. The hotel was extremely nice and very clean. The desk agent at check in was one of the very best, he was professional, proficient and friendly. Definitely an asset to the Ameristar. The Casino wasn't very crowded, so that was a big plus for me. The only bad part of the trip was the buffet, it was not good at all. A waste of money for sure. Do yourself a favor and eat elsewhere. If ever in the area again, I will most likely return.

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank 798missyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christie-BD-, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2018

Hi Missy, thank you for taking the time to leave us a four-star review. We are so glad to see that your overall stay was good and you received professional and friendly service. We hope that you try some of our other restaurants in the casino on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews