We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok food but super slow/bad service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Garfield Resturant and Pub - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Garfield Resturant and Pub
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Vicksburg, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ok food but super slow/bad service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I keep giving this places second, third even fourth chances but keep getting disappointed every time.

Don't plan on coming here to eat unless you have at least 90 minutes to kill. This place has the slowest service in town.

The waiters take your order then disappear into the kitchen for 45 minutes. There are never servers walking around the floor they are always nowhere to be found.

I usually have to track down some waiter, any waiter and ask them to find OUR waiter.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    1
    3
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What happened?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Been a while since I had been here, but in a recent trip to Vicksburg we stopped at this restaurant . We always would eat here while visiting Vicksburg great food, friendly staff, great atmosphere. O were we disappointed!!! What has happened??? The staff was rude, the service was horrible, the resturant was not clean and it took forever to get our food even tho it was around 2 and the lunch rush was over. They don't even put the paper on the tables anymore to draw while you wait.... I must say tho the food is still really really good. just heartbreaking that the establishment has gone done so much. Maybe they need new management or something???

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CottonTopsMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owasso, OK
Level Contributor
109 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best bet is not to stop.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Have tried this place 3 times in the past year so visits were spread out. Service is very slow. They have never had many people dining in so I don't understand that. Food is just below my standards. Carpet is nasty. Booth are not clean, walls have food spatters. Uggh, the manager comes out and tries to make you feel like she appreciates the business and then tells you she can't understand why it's so slow "right now". Clean it up, put tile floors down and train your employees to smile and act like they wanna work even if they don't. On the other hand, if you like to drink, there are always a few people hanging at the bar smoking and drinking. Oh, yes the smoke filters through the whole restaurant no matter.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SabrinaBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Only one bug?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

On an overnight stay in Vicksburg,traveling to New Orleans, our party of four made a poor chioice to eat at this establisment. First off, the place was almost empty of customers.On a Friday evening at 5:30 PM., I thought this odd and it should have been a warning. Our food was ok, not exceptional, but the service was horrendous. We must have waited almost 10 minutes before our waitress arrived. She took our order in a very non attentive manner. Our order when received took another long period and 2 of the 4 dishes were not as we rquested..That was acceptable because it would probaility take forever to get them corrected. While waitng for our check, which took another 10 minutes or so we all jumped out of our seats because a roach was climbing up the wall in our booth. When the waitress asked what was wrong, we all said there is a roach walking up the wall.Her response in jest was, "What, only one?". Believe me, stay away from this place.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jpatbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Mississippi
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Service and food were not great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

This has to have been one of the worst experiences I have ever had at a restaurant. Usually, Garfield is usually a great place to eat but not this time. The waitress was less than interested in our table. we had to ask for refills..... had to ask for silverware AFTER the appetizer came out. We finished our meal and the dishes were picked up by the waitress who asked if we needed anything else and we told her no. We sat for another 10 minutes and she came back again. We finally had to ask for the check. The meal said it came with a choice of two sides but the waitress didn't ask and instead, gave what she wanted us to have. I doubt seriously we will go back here again.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lowry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garfield Resturant and Pub also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing