We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your own pillow...”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Vicksburg
Lewisville, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Bring your own pillow...”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

(The city of Vicksburg as a whole appears economically depressed and in need of updating. The older motels seem to be where you can get a room for under $100 a night. And they are not in the best of shape. There are some shiny, new hotels – but you will be paying premium prices.)

We were traveling with our pet and did a search for pet-friendly lodging in Vicksburg. Our price, with pet fee and taxes, was about $70 for the night.

The property was old but the rooms were unusually spacious. Our room had a king sized bed and a loveseat with coffee table. There was the usual desk and dresser. And there was a mini-fridge and microwave.

The carpet, furniture, and bedding were worn, and the older model TV was teetering on its’ broken stand. The mattress was firm but not uncomfortable. The biggest problem for us was the pillows. They were worn-out feather pillows and they compressed down to nothing. I stacked two and then folded them in half to try to get some support.

It is ok for an overnight rest-stop if you aren’t picky. (I’d compare the quality to an older cabin at a state park – if that gives you an idea.) The lady in the office was friendly. The lobby was updated and hosted a nice continental breakfast.

Ultimately, we decided to cancel our reservation for the return trip and try our luck finding another pet-friendly hotel in Vicksburg. We probably won't stay there again when there are other options yet to try.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wkndroadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    80
    65
    23
    16
See reviews for
68
97
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NW Georgia, USA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

This motel is for travelers who want someplace cheap, but quite acceptable. The property is no-frills. Staff seem harried, but they greet the customers. Breakfast is nothing much: bagels, dry cereals, instant oatmeal, waffles-with-assistance. After hunting around for this location, I found it along an access/service road. I'm quite satisfied and would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRCGeorgia_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Nothing fancy, but it had a refrigerator and microwave. We only paid $56.00 a night for 3 people. The carpet could've used a shampoo and would've liked more washcloths. There was a breakfast with cereal, instant oatmeal, waffles and pastries. Miniscule pillows. Luckily I took my own.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

A large clean room with sofa and coffee table, microwave and fridge. We were very pleased with this motel and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mackasx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

This hotel was clean, neat, and perfect for a 4 night stay while working in the Vicksburg area. The continental breakfast was very adequate, and the beds were very comfortable. The $50 a night rate was hard to beat. It's not luxurious, but I don't need a pool or spa.
It was quiet, and met all my needs for comfortable, economical lodging.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nieboer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2010

The room was clean and of a typical size for this type of motel. The free breakfast is more than adequate: a variety of pastries, toast, hard boiled eggs, cereal, oatmeal, grits, coffee, hot cocoa, whole and 2% milk, and best of all, belgian waffles made by the hostess and delivered to your table! The 2 on duty the morning I was there were very friendly. Along with free wi-fi for your laptop, what more could you want for only 45 bucks per night?

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Namcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Bluff, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

I will say I was a little worried about some of the reviews I saw, but the Pros were better than the Cons at this Econo Lodge.

Rooms were typical hotel rooms 2 Full size beds with a microwave and a mini fridge. Bath room was small with the toliet and shower in a room, sink and mirror in the sleeping side. The room was clean and had a little wear on all the furniture. I did not here anybody through the walls at night. The pool was nice. The free breakfast was just average, we had a rude lady helping us that morning.

All in all you are paying less than $60 a night you can not expect the Ritz. I was pleased with the hotel and would stay here again. It is located perfectly next to the Battlefield and all the resturants and shops.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMOOREEllsinore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econolodge2010, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
Dear Sir
I want to Thank you for choosing the Econo Lodge while in the Vicksburg area.
We tryly appreciate your loyalty.

I apologize for any problems you may have had while staying with us.

However, i just want to tell you what can we do to make your next stay wonderful.
I look forward to serving you when you are in the Vicksburg area again.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vicksburg hotels
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Vicksburg
3.2 mi away
Ramada Vicksburg
Ramada Vicksburg
#18 of 30 in Vicksburg
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 30 in Vicksburg
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#16 of 30 in Vicksburg
339 reviews
3.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Vicksburg
Rodeway Inn Vicksburg
#15 of 30 in Vicksburg
91 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Vicksburg
Hampton Inn Vicksburg
#1 of 30 in Vicksburg
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 3959 Clay St, Vicksburg, MS 39183-3458
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Vicksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Vicksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Vicksburg
Vicksburg Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing