We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts, excellent breakfast”
Review of Bazsinsky House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bazsinsky House
Ranked #1 of 11 Vicksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 13, 2013

David and Andrew were very welcoming. We had the room with the kingsized bed, which was very comfortable. There was a Nespresso-like coffee maker free to use all day with good quality coffee varieties. We went for the "lighter continental breakfast" (instead of the full cooked one) which consisted of a fresh fruit platter, blueberry muffins, toast, eggs, jams and orange juice, excellent!

Room Tip: Our room (kingsized bed) had a view over the Mississippi river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 226 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We loved this house--- renovated property with beautiful high ceilings and an array of art on display. Definitely feels like you're in a home-the owners were so nice and helpful. Our room was perfect/ breakfast was delicious and we found it a great deal! Couldn't recommend the house and Vicksburg more!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

While I was in Vicksburg on business, I had the opportunity to enjoy an evening reception at the Bazsinsky House on Monroe Street. The historic home (written history dates it back to at least 1840) has a generous ground floor for receptions and events. First of all, there are two large sitting rooms that open into one another. Adjacent is an expansive gathering area, punctuated by a beautiful bar, and a sun room and refreshing front porch. All of these spaces flow together, meaning that the home can accommodate quite a large group on a balmy night. All rooms were beautifully appointed, and we enjoyed live music in the marble-tiled area on one side of the bar.

In addition, bedrooms at the property are available to rent. If one is interested in staying in a historic Vicksburg property for the night, I can hardly imagine more gracious hosts than those of the Bazsinsky House. They saw to our every need during the evening we visited. After good drink, good food, and good company, we lingered on the porch, laughing and talking, before finally deciding to allow our sweet hosts to go to bed.

The only reason I can't give it five stars is that I didn't have the opportunity to stay overnight! :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradshawgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our hosts made us feel right at home! The house is in walking distance of Washington Street and across the street from the old courthouse. Our room was quiet, very comfortable and roomy. The house itself is full of history and the gardens are just beautiful. Our only regret is that we could not have stayed longer, but we will return. Thank you Dave and Andrew for making our stay so wonderful!

Room Tip: The room with the west view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The home is beautiful and the owners are very kind. The room was spacious. The bed squeaked really bad. The TV is very small and in an awkward location. Right inside the door there was an outlet that was open. Also in the bathroom part of the wall is not finished. There was a front staircase and a back one and we were told to park out back which was fine. The problem was coming up the back staircase and at the landing is the laundry and there were dirtly clothes left on the floor the entire time we were there. They were preparing for a party the following weekend so there were sweepers left out, Christmas lights on the floor and an empty cardboard box at the front door. Guess I just expected more as a guest.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Snickerdoddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Do you want to be treated like family (the ones you really like)? Two blocks from the quaint and intriguing shops and galleries of downtown. Off-street parking. Beautiful house, comfortable beds, modern bath with whirlpool, luciously thick towels, just a fabulous place to stay. This will be my choice every time I stay in Vicksburg. We only had the continental breakfast, but it was more food than we could eat - fresh fruit, toast and jelly, muffins, and boiled eggs, with drink of your choice. Very reasonably priced for a B&B with all the ammenities. Do yourself a favor and stay at the Bazsinsky House. You will be glad you did.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avidreader17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

With just 2 rooms for guests, it really feels like staying in a home. The house is filled with personal treasures and the owner/managers are charming and informative. We stayed here in October 2011, quite by chance, but it was one of the delights of our trip through Miss/La. Our room was quiet and comfortable, the bathroom small but well equipped. Breakfast was huge and delicious. And dont miss going up and down in the "vintage" lift (elevator).

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vicksburg hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Vicksburg
Hampton Inn Vicksburg
#1 of 28 in Vicksburg
965 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg
0.3 mi away
Duff Green Mansion
Duff Green Mansion
#2 of 11 in Vicksburg
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baer House Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
The Corners Mansion
The Corners Mansion
#4 of 11 in Vicksburg
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Steele Cottage
Steele Cottage
#6 of 11 in Vicksburg
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bazsinsky House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bazsinsky House

Address: 1022 Monroe St, Vicksburg, MS 39183-2552
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Vicksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Vicksburg
Price Range: $139 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms are inside the main house. Located within two blocks of museums, restaurants, shops, and bars. Incredible views of rivers, downtown, and Old Court House Museum. Amenities include king-size beds, private bathrooms with whirlpool tubs and granite slab shower enclosures, central heating and air conditioning with individual thermostat controls, elevator, and off street parking. All major credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bazsinsky House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing