We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Goldie's Trail BBQ

Goldie's Trail BBQ
Ranked #48 of 129 Restaurants in Vicksburg
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Denham Springs, Louisiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Real disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Use to visit Goldie's on a regular basis when visiting Vicksburg. Very disappointed this time. Food is not as good as it used to be. BBQ pork was just sliced pork with bbq sauce poured over it. Salad had more dressing than greens.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    24
    23
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Sauce”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Every time that my family and I go back home to Vicksburg we stop at Goldie's and get a big jug of their BBQ sauce. That sauce has to last us for about a year so we get the biggest that they have. I usually get the pork sandwich and the sauce just puts it over the top!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dandajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A real disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were pretty excited about finding an authentic Mississippi barbeque place, and we weren't in Mississippi long enough to find out if this was representative of the state barbeque, but this was not good. Being from Texas, we ordered beef expecting brisket, but what we got was sort of shaved beef, not thin enough to be shaved, but just sliced, and certainly not anything close to brisket - more like roast beef that hadn't cooked long enough to get tender. We worked our way through it, but it was just so disappointing. I honestly don't remember the sides, but there just wasn't much good to say about anything, including the service. We were there in mid-afternoon, only ones there, which probably should have scared us away to start. The staff wasn't mean or anything, but they were pretty non-interested. The whole thing was just unfortunate.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kay2048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
142 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Just OK - 2.5 Star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Would give a 2.5 star if I could.

Visited based on some locals recommendation and found it to be OK. Service was very good and friendly, but I found the price a little high and the meat lacking in flavor. I mean it was good, but just did not have any smoke flavor. Tasting BBQ across the country, there are lots of better to be eaten out there - if this is the best in Vicksburg, I feel sorry for the residents.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RMabe_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An all time favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stop by Goldies every time we are in Vicksburg. The BBQ is always excellent...really excellent! I enjoy ribs the most. Very meaty. The cole slaw and potato salad are fantastic as are the beans. Get a large glass of iced tea, use plenty of napkins and enjoy!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CPB981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goldie's Trail BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Goldie's Trail BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing