We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to bring the kids & grandkids”

El Sombrero Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 130 Restaurants in Vicksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vicksburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to bring the kids & grandkids”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I enjoy Tex-Mex food, which is what El Sombrero serves. It is excellent value for the money, and therefore a great place to take children. I will say the food tends to be on the spicy-hot side even for a Mexican restaurant, but since my family all like it that way, it's never been a problem. You might check when you call to make a reservation if less spicy food is available upon request. The margaritas are good, not overly strong, but large and tasty. Quite a few different varieties of domestic and imported beer, including O'Douls, for your friends who avoid alcoholic beverages. I've rated it only Very Good, because this is not in any sense gourmet food, but it IS tasty and satisfying, and an excellent value for the money. I found the servings, though ample, are not as huge (only one platter) as some Mexican restaurants provide and which I often see going to waste. I consider that a plus, especially if some among your friends feel they must finish everything they are served (and, predictably, are trying to lose weight). The restaurant is very large and attractive; the entryway is over the top; be sure to notice as you enter. My favorite thing about El Sombraro is the wait staff, who are friendly, cordial, and bang-up wonderful with the kids.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Olgrumbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    57
    29
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akron
Level Contributor
160 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good Time In Lounge”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We were staying in the Holiday Inn next door and went to watch football and have a light dinner. First of all the place is beautiful inside, not your normal Mexican Restaurant. I had their shrimp cocktail which was totally unusual. It was 15 shrimp served in a beer fishbowl with fresh herbs and a warm broth. It was served with crackers. The beer was cold and reasonable and the service was good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach CA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good dinner for location and price”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Tasty for Mexican food in a town that I wouldn't have thought could pull it off! The wait staff had little if any personality, but thats okay. Cheese sauce is also big on the menu, whatever that is But the salsa and chips (they were hot that night) were as good as any place. The quesadilla, burritos, rice and beans are chain-restaurant quality but the price and quantity was fine. We paid less than $20 for two and left stuffed. No surprises either good or bad.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ScribblesLongBeachCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, MS
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We ate here on Saturday night, November 3. There was a large group of us (three long tables a couple of booths with the dads sitting at the bar area). They were very busy, but we didn't have to wait long to be seated.

The waiters brought our drinks, took our orders and had our food to us in a timely manner. A couple of the small kids, sitting at a seperate table from the adults, orders got missed (probably due to them not being in their seats when orders were being taken). Once this brought to the waiter's attention, he immediatly got their order and within a few minutes, they had their food.

The food was good as was the service. The only complaint is all our orders were on one ticket. It took a while for the cashier to sort through this with so many of us trying to pay our part.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Crystel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Mexican dinner”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Its a very big Mexican Restaurant just next to the Holiday Inn and has a large selection of fantastic dishes in a very colorful interior and might get a bit loud if full, but there would be also outside seating avbl. if you prefere this.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2abc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sombrero Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Sombrero Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing