We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good dinner for location and price”

El Sombrero Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 129 Restaurants in Vicksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Long Beach CA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good dinner for location and price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Tasty for Mexican food in a town that I wouldn't have thought could pull it off! The wait staff had little if any personality, but thats okay. Cheese sauce is also big on the menu, whatever that is But the salsa and chips (they were hot that night) were as good as any place. The quesadilla, burritos, rice and beans are chain-restaurant quality but the price and quantity was fine. We paid less than $20 for two and left stuffed. No surprises either good or bad.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ScribblesLongBeachCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    57
    29
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, MS
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We ate here on Saturday night, November 3. There was a large group of us (three long tables a couple of booths with the dads sitting at the bar area). They were very busy, but we didn't have to wait long to be seated.

The waiters brought our drinks, took our orders and had our food to us in a timely manner. A couple of the small kids, sitting at a seperate table from the adults, orders got missed (probably due to them not being in their seats when orders were being taken). Once this brought to the waiter's attention, he immediatly got their order and within a few minutes, they had their food.

The food was good as was the service. The only complaint is all our orders were on one ticket. It took a while for the cashier to sort through this with so many of us trying to pay our part.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Crystel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Mexican dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Its a very big Mexican Restaurant just next to the Holiday Inn and has a large selection of fantastic dishes in a very colorful interior and might get a bit loud if full, but there would be also outside seating avbl. if you prefere this.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2abc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Monroe, Louisiana
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

What a surprise to see such a beautiful place in Vicksburg. Lots of parking and tables inside and out. Fast friendly service . The prices a affordable.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank shopgir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Depends on what you are looking for...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Its not the most AUTHENTIC Mexican food, but its definitely cheap and definitely tasty. So if you like good food and good prices, go here. Authentic Mexican food in Mississippi is hard to find, but good, well-cooked cheap food is not!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lk_1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sombrero Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Sombrero Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing