We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food!”
Review of El Ranchero Mexican Restaurant - CLOSED

El Ranchero Mexican Restaurant
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Clear Lake, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Food!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

This was the best Mexican food I have eaten in a long time. Homemade guacamole is outstanding! Friendly staff, prompt service, reasonable prices. The cheese sauce was excellent. I shared pork carnitas fajitas with my son. Very good. If I lived nearby I would be eating here weekly.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gann1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vicksburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
74 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“By far the best in town”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Always fast & friendly here. The food is the best Mexican in town. We end up here at least once weekly, sometimes twice. Good margarita also

Helpful?
2 Thank DMJ6545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, MS
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Restaurant in Vicksburg”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

This is the best Mexican Restaurant in Bicksburg by far. The food is excellent and where the locals go! Wonderful!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank v'burgresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“More authentic than El Sombrero”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We loved visiting here with friends and visitors, and Cadets from chamberlain-Hunt Academy. Good food, very good prices.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank pquentinj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The staff wanted to go home!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

As another reviewer noted, the name has changed to Martinez Restaurant. The sign was not lit up so it was very hard to find. The staff was all totally uninterested in us and acted like they just wanted to be somewhere else. Our waitress was fine but never cracked a smile. Sullen is the word that comes to mind. The salsa and chips were good. I had the enchilada platter which was fine but not great. My husband had a grilled shrimp skewer which was over cooked, tough and chewy. He said the onions were overlooked and not easy to eat. This place was nothing to write home about. Average is being generous.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank NewboldBroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Ranchero Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing