We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local restaurant with good food”

Rowdy's Family Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 129 Restaurants in Vicksburg
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: Seafood, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Voted Vicksburg's Best Catfish for the last nineteen years. Our regular catfish dinner plate includes a half pound of catfish filets-original, grilled blackened or thin-sliced with pickled onions, french fries, cole slaw and cornbread served with a glass of our specialty blended tea. Come taste the original Johnny's Sauce, a Vicksburg favorite for eighty years. Our specialty dessert is Mississippi Mud Pie. We proudly serve Pepsi beverages distributed by Brown Bottling Group.
Platte City, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
153 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Local restaurant with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Very good food at a local restaurant. We both had steak....cooked perfectly with a good flavor. Wonderful fresh green bean and awesome sweet tea. Had to have some peach cobbler for desert!!!! Friendly service and average prices. We would eat here again if in the area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank js_mo_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    67
    44
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
144 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Mississippi Catfish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stopped for lunch and had the 1/3# catfish special. Slaw and fresh potato chips with some Comeback sauce. They called it something else, but its the Mississippi Comeback sauce with some great crisp catfish. I ate the whole basket of chips with the sauce.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Walley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
209 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Loved the catfish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Nice homestyle place for a quick lunch. I had the catfish (their specialty) with home made chips and turnip greens. Everything was seasoned very nicely. The spicy house dressing was addictive with the chips. The catfish was amazing- all the fried food was fresh, and crispy.... not greasy at all. The hushpuppies were light and crisp on the outside, tender and moist on the inside. The waitress was friendly, and helpful, but not overbearing. Apparently "Rowdy" is brother to the Beechwood Inn's owner. Both are exceptional - but different.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lafff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RowdyVicksburg_MS, Owner at Rowdy's Family Restaurant, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for the great review! We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your food at Rowdy's as well as your experience at the Beechwood Inn. We look forward to seeing you again! Best, Rowdy (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Regular to lower food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is not whatwewereexpecting.the food is a number4 from 1-10 . I ate salad house,cat fish fry REALY salty, and catfish blackened the amount was minimum and too salty. Nothing out of any chain .we don't recommend it if you want to eat good foo for good price.not stall

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Rowdy's has consistently awesome catfish and other types of seafood. I love their blackened catfish! The service has been great, too. We stop here each time we travel on I-20 through Vicksburg. Great food for a reasonable price.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CGSMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RowdyVicksburg_MS, Owner at Rowdy's Family Restaurant, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
We appreciate your loyalty! Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and we're happy to hear you have included us in your travels. We look forward to seeing you again, soon! Best, Rowdy (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rowdy's Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rowdy's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing