We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True Southern Food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rowdy's Family Restaurant

Rowdy's Family Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 129 Restaurants in Vicksburg
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: Seafood, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Voted Vicksburg's Best Catfish for the last nineteen years. Our regular catfish dinner plate includes a half pound of catfish filets-original, grilled blackened or thin-sliced with pickled onions, french fries, cole slaw and cornbread served with a glass of our specialty blended tea. Come taste the original Johnny's Sauce, a Vicksburg favorite for eighty years. Our specialty dessert is Mississippi Mud Pie. We proudly serve Pepsi beverages distributed by Brown Bottling Group.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“True Southern Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stopped by here before visiting the Vicksburg battlefield. True Southern food - po'boys, hush puppies, greens, etc. Very good!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CJSlatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RowdyVicksburg_MS, Owner at Rowdy's Family Restaurant, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Hi, CJSlatt:
We're glad you chose us to dine with before going to Vicksburg Battlefield. Thank you for leaving us a review, too. We're so thrilled you loved our po'boys and hush-puppies, and the greens are an old family recipe! Again, thank you for choosing us, and we hope to serve you again!
Best, Rowdy N., Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    65
    43
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Fantastic food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We were traveling through this area and had to have our motorhome worked on at Steves. We inquired about a Southern food restaurant and were told about Rowdy's being a family owned restaurant with fantastic catfish. We were not disappointed !! We ordered the lunch special of grilled shrimp, salad, excellent french fries, drink, and peach cobler for only $7.99. Went back the next day for their catfish. FANTASTIC SOUTHERN FOOD.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank grannyteita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RowdyVicksburg_MS, Owner at Rowdy's Family Restaurant, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Hello, grannyteita:
We are so glad you left us a review! We're thrilled you loved the shrimp and catfish! We look forward to being able to serve you the next time you're passing through. Thank you again!
Best, Rowdy N., Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
164 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Our Vicksburg favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

As the name suggests, Rowdy’s is a family style restaurant. That atmosphere is maintained with prompt and friendly service. The fried catfish is great and the servings are generous. We always stop at Rowdy’s when we’re in the Vicksburg area at lunch time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CFH_NOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RowdyVicksburg_MS, Owner at Rowdy's Family Restaurant, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hello, CFH_NOLA:
We are so thrilled you love our food as much as we do! We appreciate your loyalty when you're close to us. We can't wait to serve you again!
Best, Rowdy N., Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, MS
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The BEST Catfish and Sauce!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you are in Vicksburg and want to know where the locals get their catfish, come to Rowdy's. The outside may look standard but the food is superior. I prefer my catfish thin. Make sure to try the Naussar's Sauce, you could eat it on a pine cone and it would be good. Try not to fill up on sauce on the crackers before your food arrives. The iced tea is legendary. And the place is very kid friendly. A great place to stop!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank v'burgresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RowdyVicksburg_MS, Owner at Rowdy's Family Restaurant, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Wow, v'burgresident!
Thank you for the truly kind and generous review of us! Yes, we love the Nosser Sauce that much, too! Your pinecone reference could possibly be true. :)
We appreciate your loyalty, and look forward to the next time we're able to serve you!
Best,
Rowdy N., Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice food, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

A basic family restaurant, but good quality food, large portions and well prepared. The catfish is a local specialty and the steamed broccoli and beans made a change from the stodgy southern foord so readily available. Getting seated was a bit of a saga. There were many empty tables, not many people waiting a, but the lady seating people spent ages trying to work out who should sit where. We waited a long time to get seated, but had a nice good value meal

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adam157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RowdyVicksburg_MS, Owner at Rowdy's Family Restaurant, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hello, Adam157:
Thank you for your feedback about your seating concern. We are so thrilled you loved the food, and that it exceeded your expectations. We appreciate you taking the time to review us, and we hope you'll return next time you visit.
Best, Rowdy N., Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rowdy's Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rowdy's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing