We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New owners have ruined this place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun Koon - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sun Koon
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Takeout
1 review
“New owners have ruined this place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Sun koon was my favorite restaurant in the area until the owner, See Fong, sold the place when he & his mother retired. The new owners have slowly began changing his recipes & could care less, it seems, about keeping the restaurant atmosphere enjoyable. The instantly added tacky televisions to the dining room, run a skeleton crew & do not seem to be buying as high quality ingredients as The Fongs did. Pity.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mizatina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    2
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vicksburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Shut down for health concerns”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Latest: The place has been shut down for health reasons -- bugs, rodents. So stay away for a while. Too bad, because I did enjoy the food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank orleans704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The South
Level Contributor
103 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Don't bother going here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

I was in Vicksburg for one week recently, we tried many different restaurants. Including Sun Koon. It was not good, the meal or the atmosphere. Very run down and bordering on dirty. We ordered crab rangoon, the won ton was tough/chewy, not good. We also had sesame chicken, won ton soup and shrimp fried rice. The portions were generous but that's the only positive thing I can say about it. Don't go here, there are better restaurants in Vicksburg to try.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank OleMiss91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

My husband & I eat here often because they have the best Chinese in town!! The sushi is the freshest I've ever had!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrsrollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Mississippi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Okay for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

The restaurant aspect doesnt appeal the client. But the food is good

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing