We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best stop on our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ahern's Belle of the Bends
Ranked #6 of 11 Vicksburg B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best stop on our trip”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This historic home is an outstanding Bed and Breakfast. Our room was very comfortable with many nice extra touches. Breakfast was an unforgettable experience.The grounds are very pleasant, and I could spend hours on the peaceful veranda. Don't miss the gift shop with many unique and modestly priced items.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Book76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    19
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
33
180
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
STL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Got the Romance package. Roses were out of sight! Wine wasn't bad either.
This house is a testamony to the work of the current and previous owners. Beautiful without being cluttered with old nick-nacks. Everything was clean. Everything worked. I have to say I got the best grits in Mississippi here.
Why not 4 stars?
First no river scene, but plenty of locomotive noise. Not their fault, the river moved and the railroad has been there as long as the house. If you want a riverfront room and buffet, go to a casino. If you want real people and real history, come here.

Room Tip: We were in the Riverscene room. Cant see river, but do get a good look at the active train track an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrweezr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallatin, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Very pleasant owner and staff. It had a very intimate feel (with only 4 rooms). Great veranda, with 3 swings, several chairs and bug spray provided. Beautiful staircase and parlor. Our bed was comfortable and with a beautiful bedspread---the type I haven't seen in over 40 years. Excellent breakfast. Highly recommended. I only wish it had a view of the river..... Oh, and you must phone (or get their email) 1 hour before arrival to get the driveway gate code number!

Room Tip: Only one room on the first floor. The other 3 are on the second floor. There is a railroad track nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, TX
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This house was built in 1876 and is a wonder to visit all by itself. The innkeeper was very friendly and it was the best breakfast I have had in a loong while. Very much worth the price. Everything was very clean. The furniture was so interesting and the balcony and yard were awesome. We took lots of pictures. Truly a treasure.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sitkamary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr Oxford, England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We chose this B & B for our visit to Vicksburg because it looked like a style of building and hospitality that we would never have experienced anywhere else - and we were right! This elegant building with it's grand staircase, verandas, balcony, parlour, dining area and awesome history was a wonderful place to stay. You enter from the back and nothing quite prepares you for the stairs, landing and rooms. The veranda and balcony goes right around the house, with swing seats in which to gently relax. Choc-dipped giant strawberries awaited us on our posted bed when we arrived and cookies the next day on our return from our day out. The bathroom was en suite, which was a pleasure as this is less common in Bed & Breakfasts, in our experience. Mary, our gracious hostess, explained that by adding (albeit very discreetly) the bathrooms to each room, this meant that the house did not qualify for the National Register of Historical Places.A shame with it's history, but I am glad she did. We were lucky enough to be given a guided tour of the house with it's history by Mary. All the rooms were beautiful, with different and fascinating antiques and tales to tell in each. In the morning all the guests met in the front parlour for coffee (available for coming down early and taking back to the room too) and then moved onto the most gloriously laid breakfast table. Porcelain and crystal abounded, with personal cruet sets and butter dishes. We stayed 2 nights and the breakfast was different both days. Fruit, bacon, grits, biscuits, eggs, syrup, jam, muffins - I could go on and on. Mary joined us at the table (10 guests) and the conversation flowed back and forth - what an eclectic mix of people. This was an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smilerviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I decided to stay at Ahern's Belle of the Bends for Memorial Weekend and had a very relaxing time! We enjoyed getting to know Mary and our fellow guests. The furnishings and decor gave the home a great atmosphere, and the home was kept very clean. The grounds were absolutely beautiful, with several stone benches to sit on, and comfy porch swings on the porch. Mary was helpful in recommending local places to eat, and breakfast was great (to include home-made strawberry jam!). We both felt very much at home here and hope we can come back! Thanks Mary!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

As others have said - we too felt like we walked back into the past from the beautiful gardens and the decor of the house - elegant - we normally do not stay at rates at a little higher than our budget allows with all our travelling - but this was one exception that we were happy that we did.

Fantastic breakfast as one expects from a bed and breakfast - this has given us truly the concept of the South. Wonderful place to visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HungryHunter62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vicksburg hotels
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Vicksburg
Hampton Inn Vicksburg
#1 of 30 in Vicksburg
868 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg
1.4 mi away
WaterView Casino and Hotel
WaterView Casino and Hotel
#16 of 30 in Vicksburg
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Baer House Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Bazsinsky House
Bazsinsky House
#1 of 11 in Vicksburg
207 reviews
1.1 mi away
Duff Green Mansion
Duff Green Mansion
#3 of 11 in Vicksburg
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahern's Belle of the Bends? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahern's Belle of the Bends

Property: Ahern's Belle of the Bends
Address: 508 Klein St, Vicksburg, MS 39180-4004
Location: United States > Mississippi > Vicksburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Vicksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ahern's Belle of the Bends reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing