We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss the Cairo”

Vicksburg National Military Park
Ranked #1 of 40 things to do in Vicksburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 1800 acres of now peaceful countryside, this park was once the scene of a bloody 47-day Civil War battle.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Don't Miss the Cairo”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The free movie at the visitor center provided a good framework for the visit. Growing up in the northeastern part of the country I wasn't familiar with much of the history in the south. The driving tour itself wouldn't be of much interest if you don't pick up the map at the visitor center and read what was going on at each numbered stop. As we progressed farther into the park and got a feeling for the proximity of the opposing troops we enjoyed the experience more.
We especially enjoyed the Cairo exhibit at the far end of the battlefield. The restored vessel and the artifacts inside the museum post there gave real flavor to the time period (I wouldn't have guessed they had Lea and Perrins back then!?).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,987 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,542
    379
    54
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Alabama
Level Contributor
471 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Still Has The Feel Of The Battle Of Northern Aggression”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was an unforgettable experience for me. The battlefield is laid out with markers showing the numbers of dead as well as monuments to the various divisions deployed for this battle. The man made berms for limited protection remain. The place still has the feel of the battle and seems to carry the sorrows. The debate of the day-do states have the right to succeed when the federal government, who is supposed to serve at the pleasure of the states, clearly oversteps their constitutional bounds. Where are we today?

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churchland, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Huge place and well worth it.”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We paid to have a guide ride through the park with us, he provided so much more information than we would have gotten on our own. The place is enormous and has so many memorials to represent. There are markers and clearings to show the terrain better and to show areas of where each side fought. If you truly want to make the experience worth your time, hire a guide, you won't regret it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“47 Day Siege of Vicksburg”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We hired a guide through the National Park Service at the Visitor Center. The guides are licensed and charge $20 an hour to drive through the park and describe the events that took place in the siege and the interesting people who were involved. The guide was available within 15 minutes of our morning arrival at the Visitor Center--we had not prebooked one, but other times and days may not as quick as our experience. Decide beforehand how much time you have to spend in the Military Park as there is a lot to see, & if all guides are like ours, they have a lot of information to share. It might help if you decide early what you are particularly interested in learning about. We got out of the car numerous times to take pictures and get a better view of the terrain and memorials, etc. The park itself is well arranged--blue markers indicate Union areas & red markers indicate Confederate areas. The Ironclad the Cairo, pronounced "Kay row," is close to the end of the visitor drive & it is fascinating to see and learn about, so plan well so you don't miss it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HLII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
218 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Excellent history lesson”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was an amazing add on to our road trip. The park had a brief video history and then a driving trip around the entire park area. We stopped at several of the special sites and viewed the battlefield where so many lives were lost in our country. I was really impressed. It's amazing how being in the actual spot of an historical event makes it really come to life.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank shirmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vicksburg National Military Park also viewed

 

Been to Vicksburg National Military Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing