We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Upper Delaware Scenic and Recreational Area
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Deeper waters and breathtaking views

This was our first time to the Upper area of the Delaware and it was just as beautiful as we had... read more

Reviewed July 22, 2017
tripsavage
,
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
One of ourfavorites

We alweays take out-of-town company here. The bridge is interesting history; fun to walk (also... read more

Reviewed June 22, 2017
diner17618
,
White Mills, Pennsylvania
Read all 18 reviews
  
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveler rating
11
5
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
5
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scenic drive zane grey museum roebling bridge ny canoeing route
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 18 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2017

This was our first time to the Upper area of the Delaware and it was just as beautiful as we had hoped. A little bit different from other areas as it has some areas that go down to depths of over 100+ feet, make sure to wear your life vests! The scenic drive on the way into the area is only about 15 or so minutes longer than the non-scenic way in... make sure to invest in those extra few minutes and also take the time to pull over to look at the river from the "rest area parking". Happy travels!

1  Thank tripsavage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2017

We alweays take out-of-town company here. The bridge is interesting history; fun to walk (also walk the short trail along the river on the NY side) and of course eagle watching is always the highlight.

Thank diner17618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2017 via mobile

Visited the Friday before Memorial Day and the weather was excellent. There were lots of folks out on the River canoeing. The views from Route 97 on the New York side are impressive. I would recommend calling ahead for the hours and details of sites to visit. We tried to go to the Zane Grey museum but it was closed. The hours were incorrectly posted online. Check out the Roebling Bridge too, but drive carefully!

Thank Trey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2016

We were passing through on our way upstate and decided to drive this scenic bypass. The Hawk's Nest area and the canal bridge were great. Get out of your car at the canal bridge and explore it, definitely nice.

The rest was just so-so. We didn't partake in any of the museums, we thought it would be a good place to drive through. There's some cute towns but otherwise it's not any more spectacular than driving through any other part of America with cute views and small towns. Maybe slightly nicer. If you aren't going fishing or boating or camping or whatever, no reason to take this route. It is somewhat scenic but not mindblowing in any way, or memorable. This is a destination for outdoor activities, not a must-see drive.

1  Thank ibadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2015

We didn't partake in the water sports here, just drove around. We enjoyed the canal bridge the most. Same guy who would go on the build the Brooklyn Bridge.

Thank TimJMeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2015 via mobile

Canoe, kayak, fish, see bald eagles up closr. Lots of camping and other outdoor activities available. Take a drive to the Hawks nest on Rt 97 unbelievable scenery

1  Thank HR218guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2015

We took a drive across the Roebling Bridge into New York and toward Port Jervis, New York. The Hawks Nest Lookout area to view the Delaware River is amazing

2  Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2014

We’ve been here before. During a long drive heading back to New England from a trip to Baltimore for the 200th anniversary of Francis Scott Key’s writing of the lyrics to the “The Star-Spangled Banner,” we detoured for an overnight in Budd Lake, NJ near Allentown, PA and the Pocono Mountains. Then, we drove though all three National Park Service units for the Delaware River.

Upper Delaware Scenic & Recreational River is a separate National Park Service unit from the Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area. It encompasses areas of PA and NY north of the Delaware Water Gap NRA and Middle Delaware National Scenic River. It extends through parts of five counties along this section of the river --- Delaware, Orange, and Sullivan in New York and Pike and Wayne in Pennsylvania. The Delaware River is the longest undammed, free-flowing river in the northeastern United States.

Unlike the other two areas, this one has towns and buildings close by that seem integrated into this national park unit. A drive on Route 97 is pleasant in any season.

As the name implies, this NPS area is mostly about the river. Recreational activities include canoeing, kayaking, rafting, tubing, fishing, and eagle watching. There are also hiking trails in Pennsylvania and New York. It is also about the home of author Zane Grey and Roebling Bridge, the oldest existing wire cable suspension bridge in the United States. Both are part of this national park unit. We visited both.

Admission is free to the Zane Grey Museum at 135 Scenic Drive in Lackawaxen, PA, but donations are gladly accepted. The self-guided tour of his study and office takes about an hour if you look at and read everything. The National Park Service volunteer at the desk is nearby and can answer any questions. It was home to this prolific western author in the early years from 1914 to 1918. Like Washington Irving, Zane Grey had a place to sleep just feet behind his desk. Irving’s was subtle; it was a padded bench that could be concealed by draw drapes. Grey’s was a full-sized twin bed with no camouflage. It was interesting to learn the Zane Grey was originally a dentist in New York City. “Riders of the Purple Sage” was his most famous novel. Other books became TV series --- “The Lone Ranger” and “Sergeant Preston of the Yukon.” Many of Grey’s works were published posthumously. The volunteer said that he heard that something had been published in February 2013.

For those who participate in the Passport to Your National Parks Program, the Zane Grey Museum has the cancellation station at the front desk. There are two cancellation stamps. They read:
● Upper Delaware SRR - Beach Lake, PA
● Upper Delaware Scenic & Recreational River - Zane Grey Museum
The bookstore is at Zane Grey Museum.

There was a kayak rental station across the street from the Zane Grey Museum. There are several others in on the New York side at Barryville, Narrowsburg, Port Jervis, and Hancock among others.

Roebling's Delaware Aqueduct a/k/a Roebling’s Bridge connects Lackawaxen, PA to Minisink Ford and Barryville, NY. Begun in 1847 as one of four suspension aqueducts on the Delaware and Hudson Canal, it was designed by and built under the supervision of John A. Roebling, future engineer of the Brooklyn Bridge.

Roebling's Bridge Tollhouse is on the bridge on the New York side. It contains exhibits and historic photographs. I found it interesting. It took about 15 minutes to go through. The D&H Towpath Trail provides a one-mile stroll along the 1828 towpath. The bridge has a walking path for visitors to view the scenic beauty of the Delaware River. One might see bald eagles as there are nests in this area. I walked the bridge.

It was an experience to drive over and to walk on a bridge that was over 165 years old and still solid. There’s a parking area on the Lackawaxen side where one can get a good look at the structure of the aqueduct. That's a great photo stop. There are also info boards.

There are only a few restaurants in the area on the PA and NY sides of the bridge. There are more in Barryville, NY which has a coffee shop and a diner. There are no fast food places.

We recommend a visit to the attractions in the National Park Service unit from spring through fall.

A nice tag-on for history enthusiasts is a visit to Minisink Battleground Park that commemorates the Battle at Minisink Ford on July 22, 1779. It is also commemorated on the village square in Goshen, NY, in the Lackawaxen Cemetery adjoining St. Mark's Church in Lackawaxen, PA and Fort Decker in Port Jervis, NY.

The areas around the Roebling's Delaware Aqueduct are wheelchair accessible. There were stairs at the tollhouse. There were stairs in front of the Zane Grey Museum. Both are accessible only with assistance. Call the ranger station ahead.

If you found this review helpful, kindly click YES below.

16  Thank Maurene_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

beautiful area, great riding roads,scenery is just breathtaking in spots. there's all kind of rafting & camping areas, great photography opportunities..good for families & good for everyone else too.

1  Thank ladtvtxrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Like: Seeing Bald Eagles, hearing Nature's peace and quiet without so much human noise, and seeing plenty of live fish.
Dislike: Amateur "catch and release" anglers being sloppy. Saw too many dead fish of "keeper" size and quality.

Thank voveritasdse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews