We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Would be return visitor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aqua Skyline at Island Colony
Ranked #57 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Ulladulla, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would be return visitor”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I stayed here with a friend for a period of 10 days. On arrival it was neat and tidy. It is currently being renovated painted etc. The reception staff were very helpful. Our plan arrived in the early morning. Our room was not yet ready however they kept us informed and sent a request to housekeeping to have the room ready asap. Once allowed into our room we were pleasantly surprised. We had a fantastic view and the room was clean roomy enough for us and all our shopping. The beds were very comfortable, however my bed did not seem to get made properly for our whole ten day stay. They pulled up the linens but did not remake or tidy very well. The pool area was spacious and the spa and sauna were very clean. The apartments are central to everything and only a five minute walk to the beach. The air conditioner was quite noisy and the traffic was surprisingly loud considering we were on the 36th floor. There is a cocktail evening on the roof terrace. It is a must to go to that just to admire the view from all sides of the building. The only major negative I have of our entire stay is the state of the bathroom in the foyer area. It was disgraceful. The whole bathroom was filthy. As this was the first room I encountered on our stay I was very suspicious of what our room would be like. Luckily that was only one area I never went to again. They really need to get some bleach and scrubbing brushes into that room.

Room Tip: The higher your room the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Green_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    171
    84
    15
    19
See reviews for
139
142
48
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

This was a last minute booking and i would recommend Island Colony to anyone. Very reasonably priced a short walk to the main strip and best of all fantastic customer service. We stayed 10 days in a kitchenette studio which suited us, two twin double beds clean bathroom and kitchenette cooktop for simple cooking. The kids also loved the pool and other facilities.
Well done Island Colony!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marisa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

The rooms were clean. It seemed just a little dusty to me. We were pleased with service. We needed a service call for the tub and it was fixed soon. We were very happy with checkin. It was quick and our room was on the 34th floor, so the view was awesome. We could see the ocean and diamond head. Our room looked just like the pictures. We didnt have any problem with elevators. We had complimentary wifi. The bathroom is small but clean. The refrigerator and microwave were good for us, but I would never have tried to cook in there. It was way too small for all that. It was very easy to get to the beach from there. I guess the only thing I did like was the smell from the room next door. There are people that live there, so it smelled like their food all the time,rather than a fresh hotel hall way. However,we did not spend much time in the room. We also had no problem with our key either, as others have complained about.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler1978Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2014

The positives of this hotel was the service was excellent, friendly, kind and helpful. We booked a staycation at the Aqua Skyline because our friend told us the hotel was nice and newly renovated, which she was right about. We checked in on a Friday night and service was great and prompt. When we got to out room, the room was absolutely wonderful. We had a kitchen, good amount of living room and bathroom space and the bedroom was beautiful with stunning view of the city, along side the firework that was showing at the HIlton Hawaiian Village. Over all I would stay here again and even recommend family and friends to stay here. The service was great along with everything else. We were a very happy campers!!!!! :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Worst stay I have had in years. Followed the good reviews and booked...boy was I mislead.

Driving up it looked impressive. Do not be fooled. This is not a hotel and only books 100 out of the 1500 rolms for hotel guests.

Pool is closed until after March. Ice machines are out of order. Renovations on all floors means primer paint, patch jobs on the walls, and paint scraping everywhere. Elevators have missing buttons for some floors. Door key worked once out of 10 tries. Shower head for people under six feet. Spring mattress without the box springs. Blue stains on the carpet. And...no WIFI.

Other than that...it wss great.

Felt likeva giant dorm. Dumpy and full of young kids paying rent.

I will never stay at an Aqua property again.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about our property. It's unfortunate that you endured these issues while here. We strive to provide an wonderful experience for all guests and unfortunately yours was sub-par. I would like to know more in detail about your stay, please contact me at bkovaloff@aquaresorts,com.

Mahalo,
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The positives of this hotel is that it is a good location on the canal and only three blocks from Waikiki Beach. It is in the centre of the shopping district. My room was clean and newly painted. The shower was lovely with lots of pressure (32nd floor). The 'kitchen area' was tiny, and I mean tiny, but equipped with two pans, utensils, dishes etc. My lanai overlooked other rooftops, and on one side I had a good view of the canal and the other a reasonable view of the beach and ocean through the other hi-rises. The front desk staff were courteous and speedy. There was no enthusiasm for their job.

The negatives as I found them are the bed was a mattress on a board (no box spring), but it was not uncomfortable. My room was not at all like their ads claim. Cooking facilities were a sink and two-burner hotplate side by side - it was optimistically 30" wide. No other counter-top or food preparation area. The electric coffee maker stands on the hot plate cooking surface! The bathroom had a stainless steel kitchen sink, not a bathroom wash basin, and was larger than the sink next to the cooking surface. Their housekeeping left a lot to be desired and I had to repeatedly ask for supplies (shampoo etc), I had a footprint on my bed-sheet and the room was not cleaned daily, but the linen and towels were. It is old and tired, and the brown plastic shelving with dusty ornaments for sale didn't help. The area for hanging garments was about 15" wide and incorporated the iron and ironing board. It has a very noisy location because of the proximity to the main road next to the canal.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rocheshunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your Skyline experience with our online viewers. We truly apologize that your expectations were not met while staying with us. Please contact me at bkovaloff@aquaresorts.com as I would like to know more in detail about your experience and hope that one day in the very near future we could serve you again.

Mahalo,
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

From the pictures online, I thought this place would be amazing. I was surprised the it was only 2 stars, but that should have alerted me to what this place really was. I agree with another reviewer that the renovations looked like a brother in law did it. The renos felt like they were slapped together, and you could still get a sense of this being an older hotel. With a little more effort it could have been beautiful. The hallways are dingy and smelly. It just feels like there is no pride taken in the up keep of this place. The Aqua brand itself to me is not a trusted company. I stayed at another Aqua hotel for one night in Waikiki, and while the lobby was nicely updated and beautiful, the room was not. This is one time where the reviews on trip advisor let me down. I will never stay at an Aqua brand hotel, nor recommend one. The only plus side to this place was the impeccable customer service we received from the front desk staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Aqua Skyline at Island Colony. We truly apologize that your expectations were not met and take pride in our property and product. Our owners have spent a lot of time and money upgrading the facility and although it did not meet your satisfaction, we would love a chance to serve you again in the very near future. Please contact me directly at bkovaloff@aquaresorts.com so that I may better hear about the experience you had at the property. As always, our team gives excellent service which we preach everyday to all our guests and we thank you for giving them that praise.

Mahalo,
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Waikiki Pearl
#73 of 84 in Honolulu
1,188 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
1,638 reviews
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#46 of 84 in Honolulu
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,886 reviews
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#45 of 84 in Honolulu
1,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Skyline at Island Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Skyline at Island Colony

Property: Aqua Skyline at Island Colony
Address: 445 Seaside Ave, Waikiki Beach, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2640 (Formerly Aqua Island Colony)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#35 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#43 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Skyline at Island Colony 3*
Number of rooms: 740
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Skyline at Island Colony infuses the Honolulu cityscape with contemporary urban design in an ideal location just 2 blocks to the beach and near Waikiki's best shopping and dining. Soaring above the city, the hotel is the tallest building in Waikiki at 44-stories. Here you'll find modern 3-star accommodations and spectacular panoramic views of Waikiki's skyline and Diamond Head. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Skyline at Island Colony allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chari rentals, Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, you'll enjoy renovated studios and suites appointed with modern decor, deluxe bedding, kitchenettes with granite countertops and stovetops, spacious balconies, and 40" flat screen LCD TVs. Relax and lounge in the pool area and sundeck, featuring amazing views and BBQ grills for your use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aqua Skyline at Island Colony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Island Colony Hotel Honolulu
Hotel Island Colony
Island Colony Hotel
Aqua Skyline At Island Colony Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing