We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Would definately stay there again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aqua Skyline at Island Colony

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aqua Skyline at Island Colony
Ranked #52 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would definately stay there again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

First time in Waikiki and was very pleased choosing this hotel.Had an excellent view from our one bedroom corner unit and the staff were awesome. Short walk to the beaches and very close to all shopping.
Tour companies do pick up at this hotel or just down the street at Ross dept store. Was there for 10 days June 5th-14th the pool was closed but with so many beautiful beaches and sites to see who needs the pool. Also the Ala Wai Canal right across the street is a nice place to sit and unwind for a bit and reflect on how beautiful this Island truly is.

Room Tip: 1 bedroom corner unit has a great view of Ocean and Diamond Head. Kitchenette,Living Room, Bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Romona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for choosing the Aqua Skyline at Island Colony on your very first trip to Waikiki. As you've experienced, the hotel has a lot to offer our guests and is very centralized to many shops, restaurants and even the beach. Unfortunately during your stay, there was incident in the pool where it had to be drained and shut down for cleaning. This was an isolated incident and after a few days of cleaning and safety precautions, it was opened back up.
We appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the very near future.

Mahalo!
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    161
    75
    14
    15
See reviews for
126
127
47
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed for a week. Tip 1: Try hotels.com & expedia daily to score opportunity rates that pop out once in a while (always good to refresh the offer - this one came up suddenly).

We arrived in the morning & official check wasn't until 1500 hrs but we wanted to shower and hit the Arizona memorial at Pearl Harbor. So the nice lady at the desk offered to store our luggage and the shower and changing facilities. Tip 2: I asked whether there were any rooms available at the moment. She said there was one on the higher floor that was currently being cleaned, that we would have to wait for a while, which wasn't a problem - waited about 15 mins to get the room just below the 40th floor.

Room was large enough for my family, loved the balcony but the toilet was a squeeze but sufficient given this price point -definitely still value for money. Near Waikiki Beach, International marketplace etc. Tip 3: Don't forget to visit Marukame Udon nearby for excellent udon (go early or at breakfast to avoid long lines) and the newly opened Ross just down the street. Tip 4: Ask when are the fireworks on Waikiki Beach and whether your room can see it. If you love a fireworks show, a high floor and the nice balcony would be beneficial. By the way, don't leave unsecured items to dry on the balcony - they may just be blown away.

Loved the wifi too. Connected all our phones, laptops and ipads and it still worked fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spikeysingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for writing a review of the Aqua Skyline at Island Colony. It's great to see you enjoyed your stay with us and all that Honolulu and Waikiki has to offer. Being just a walking distance away from many shops and restaurants is a plus and of course the beach just a few blocks away as well. We look forward to serving you again in the very near future and again we thank you for choosing the Aqua Skyline at Island Colony Hotel.

Mahalo!
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

The Skyline is great value for the money one pays, especially in Waikiki, which is a very expensive destination.
We stayed in a one bedroom suite which afforded us much needed space for my wife"s shopping outings! I loathe walking but all the shopping is only a short distance away.
I was in a corner unit at Seaside & Ala Wai and overlooked the canal and had spectacular views of the ocean and the city at night. There is an unbelievable breeze that blew into our 25th floor suite from the canal side. Windows don't open far for obvious reasons as there is no balcony.
A young man named PT has been mentioned in previous reviews and deserves mentioning again. A credit to the Aqua group he is and you need to hang on to him. All staff as a whole are very helpful.
I have already recommended this establishment to many family and friends. Is there a commission to me if they book with you?
Only disappointment was that some cretin had thrown a bottle into the hotel pool and we could not use it during our stay BUT that wasn't the hotels' fault.
Cooking breakfast and eating on the oceanside balcony made for incredible starts to the day
In Arnie's words...... I'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Truckingreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for writing a review of the Aqua Skyline at Island Colony. Yes, you are correct about the value of the property. The amenities we offer we top notch with breathtaking views of the city, ocean and mountains. Being centralized in Waikiki helps as we are within walking distance of many shops, restaurants and even the beach. A big "mahalo" for recognizing PT and the staff. We all go above and beyond to ensure we go above and beyond in ensuring our guests are given the best service possible.
We look forward to serving you again in the very near future and we thank you for your patronage.

Mahalo!
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at Aqua Skyline (we were there for 6 nights). Location is convenient. 2 blocks from the beach. Near to shopping strip and lots of eateries. Booked a studio kitchenette. Room is big enough for 4 of us (2 adults and 2 kids). Kids enjoyed being out on the balcony with the breeze and view.

Toilet is small but has all the essentials, bath-tub, warm water, enough pressure etc. Aircon is a bit noisy and there is a bucket outside on the balcony that collects the water from the aircon and one day, it overflowed, and I had to throw the water into the toilet bowl on my own. Kitchenette is small but ok and I managed to cook on the stove and use the microwave to heat up stuff. Hotel also have laundry area where you can wash and dry your clothes - cost $1.25 each cycle. but do bring your own detergent. There is a small mini mart in the building that sell food, detergents, drinks etc etc., which is good. Free wifi in the room which is a plus!

Carpark is expensive at $25/day for hotel guest. One downside was the swimming pool was closed for renovation as some guests threw / left behind broken glasses in and the management had to clean up the pool during the entire stay we were there. And it will be good if the hotel can provide portable beach chairs and beach towels that guests can borrowed to the beaches.

Do ask for high floors and view to the Diamond head and golf area as there are fireworks on one of the night we were there and we thoroughly enjoyed the fireworks from our balcony.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor with the view to the mountain and beach. Bring your own detergent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle_Jamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Skyline at Island Colony. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is definitely centralized in Waikiki near many shops and eateries, all within walking distance.
We apologize for the inconveniences you endured during your stay. We are working at fixing the issues to provide a better experience for all our guests.
We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the very near future. Please email me directly, I will be happy to assist you. bkovaloff@aquaresorts.com

Mahalo!
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Just had a short stay over for a couple days of business. I wanted a hotel within walking distance of Waikiki without all the noise. This hotel is clean, well managed and the staff is great. Free wi-fi in the lobby but getting it in your room can be a challenge. The price is very reasonable and all the rooms have private balconies. I will definitely stay here on my next trip to Honolulu.

Room Tip: The store in the hotel is great! A little more expensive than going out to buy something but worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJ0266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for writing a review of the Aqua Skyline at Island Colony. The staff work hard everyday to ensure all the needs of our guests are met, including cleanliness. Being centralized is a plus, walking distance from many shops, the beach and restaurants. Looking forward to hosting you again in the very near future.

Mahalo!
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I called the day before our arrival to request a king bed and a high enough floor for a view. The person that took my request was very efficient and accommodating. Every morning of our 7 day stay, my husband walked to the corner Jamba Juice and would get me oatmeal and coffee, returning to our beautiful lanai to watch the rest of the world go to work!
Our room at the Aqua Skyline at Island Colony was perfect. The bed was very comfortable, the rain shower was a plus and the housekeeping service was excellent, with a very clean room each day.
The mini market on the 6th floor was very handy and the laundry facilities a plus. Pleasant Hawaiian tour operators are in the lobby and booked a tour of Pearl Harbor that was so worth it.
From Kuhio St one block away, you can get the bus to Diamond Head and have an awesome two hour experience hiking to the top with exquisite views. Hotel is great for easy walking to most designer shopping, restaurants, Waikiki shuttle stop, or just take a walk around the canal.
We will definitely be back!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Crystalfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for the lovely review. Our entire staff strives to make all our guests feel welcome and we go above and beyond to make sure all requests are met. The property is near many shops and restaurants and just a few blocks from the beach. Our recent renovations and upgrades have taken us to new heights and we are happy that you were able to experience this.
We look forward to a future visit with us and we thank you for your patronage.

Mahalo!
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had only stayed two nights but found this to be the perfect stop over spot on Oahu. We were checked into a room on the top floor with a terrace overlooking the skyline and beach. We were given chocolate covered macadamia nuts and a bottle of white wine in our room upon check in. The room was clean and well decorated. Great proximity to Waikiki Beach and overall no complaints about our stay here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sschwar5037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share your Skyline experience with our on-line viewers. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and the amenities that were provided by our team. As you stated, the property is centralized to everything and our Housekeeping staff work hard everyday to ensure our rooms are always clean and comfortable for our guests. Looking forward to your next visit with us, hopefully soon.

Mahalo!
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Waikiki Pearl
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#42 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#54 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,853 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Skyline at Island Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Skyline at Island Colony

Property: Aqua Skyline at Island Colony
Address: 445 Seaside Ave, Waikiki Beach, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2640 (Formerly Aqua Island Colony)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#35 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#43 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Skyline at Island Colony 3*
Number of rooms: 740
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Skyline at Island Colony infuses the Honolulu cityscape with contemporary urban design in an ideal location just 2 blocks to the beach and near Waikiki's best shopping and dining. Soaring above the city, the hotel is the tallest building in Waikiki at 44-stories. Here you'll find modern 3-star accommodations and spectacular panoramic views of Waikiki's skyline and Diamond Head. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Skyline at Island Colony allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chari rentals, Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, you'll enjoy renovated studios and suites appointed with modern decor, deluxe bedding, kitchenettes with granite countertops and stovetops, spacious balconies, and 40" flat screen LCD TVs. Relax and lounge in the pool area and sundeck, featuring amazing views and BBQ grills for your use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Vacatia, Priceline, HotelsClick, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Aqua Skyline at Island Colony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Island Colony Hotel Honolulu
Hotel Island Colony
Island Colony Hotel
Aqua Skyline At Island Colony Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing