We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who could ask for anything more?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aqua Skyline at Island Colony
Ranked #59 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I called the day before our arrival to request a king bed and a high enough floor for a view. The person that took my request was very efficient and accommodating. Every morning of our 7 day stay, my husband walked to the corner Jamba Juice and would get me oatmeal and coffee, returning to our beautiful lanai to watch the rest of the world go to work!
Our room at the Aqua Skyline at Island Colony was perfect. The bed was very comfortable, the rain shower was a plus and the housekeeping service was excellent, with a very clean room each day.
The mini market on the 6th floor was very handy and the laundry facilities a plus. Pleasant Hawaiian tour operators are in the lobby and booked a tour of Pearl Harbor that was so worth it.
From Kuhio St one block away, you can get the bus to Diamond Head and have an awesome two hour experience hiking to the top with exquisite views. Hotel is great for easy walking to most designer shopping, restaurants, Waikiki shuttle stop, or just take a walk around the canal.
We will definitely be back!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Crystalfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Aloha,
Thank you for the lovely review. Our entire staff strives to make all our guests feel welcome and we go above and beyond to make sure all requests are met. The property is near many shops and restaurants and just a few blocks from the beach. Our recent renovations and upgrades have taken us to new heights and we are happy that you were able to experience this.
We look forward to a future visit with us and we thank you for your patronage.

Mahalo!
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

334 - 340 of 491 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had only stayed two nights but found this to be the perfect stop over spot on Oahu. We were checked into a room on the top floor with a terrace overlooking the skyline and beach. We were given chocolate covered macadamia nuts and a bottle of white wine in our room upon check in. The room was clean and well decorated. Great proximity to Waikiki Beach and overall no complaints about our stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sschwar5037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share your Skyline experience with our on-line viewers. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and the amenities that were provided by our team. As you stated, the property is centralized to everything and our Housekeeping staff work hard everyday to ensure our rooms are always clean and comfortable for our guests. Looking forward to your next visit with us, hopefully soon.

Mahalo!
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Clean room. Friendly and extremely helpful staffs. We requested a high level for better views and we were given the 43rd floor! One below penthouse :) we stayed for 8 days altogether~~~would stay again without a thought :)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank devilishlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Mahalo for the lovely review of the Aqua Skyline at Island Colony. We appreciate your comments and look forward to your return visit in the very near future.

Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My husband and I had a pleasant stay at the Colony for 12 nights in May 2013. We arrived around 4 hours early but got checked in straight away by the friendly concierge, who also moved us to a room higher up to get a better view when we asked. The staff are friendly and the hotel is in a great location - close walking distance to the major shopping strip and markets, restaurants and the beach, but far enough away that street noise is not an issue (except for the nightly police sirens). Having a parking garage on site was also very handy, but pricey at $25 a day) . The hotel is undergoing some renovations so the pool is updated and the room we stayed in was more modern and had wifi. One issue - there was only one aircon unit in the suite which was located in the bedroom so the living room was often quite warm because their airflow wasn't great. But all in all it's a good hotel in a fantastic location and is really good value for money compared to other places we looked at staying. If we come back to Waikiki we'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Note: there don't appear to be any room balconies facing the mountains - only windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vmwhitak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Aqua Skyline at Island Colony. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we met your expectations. The hotel, being centralized in Waikiki makes it convenient to get to shops, restaurants and even the beach. We look forward to a future visit with us and we thank you for your patronage.

Mahalo!
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Hotel: Stayed here for 1week, room was ok, but was not kept clean throughout the week. The beds were made and new towels were given daily, however the bathtub was never cleaned even when we left a note for the maid on the bed. When we arrived we had to ask for a different room, the 1st was right next to the garbage chute and the smell was strong. We were given a new room without any hassle. Location was good, close to shops and restaurants. Its a 10 min walk to Waikiki beach. Area is safe to walk around. Pay the parking in advance, will save you time every time you leave. Our room overlooked the pool (12th floor) it was quiet all day and night.

Extra: We had a car so we would visit beaches around the entire island. You need a car, you'll miss way too much if you stay only in Waikiki. Hanauma bay was great for snorkelling. Hawaiian shark adventures tour was really cool, the sharks are peaceful! Diamond head was great, the hike worth it. I found it rough, but I need to hit the gym :( go early we started at 8, finished at 10, it was getting busy already. Went to a gun range, easier than I expected. Stop at the lookouts along the highways, good way to find nice beaches that you would have missed. Dole plantation was boring, but if you visit the area be sure to stop for a dolewhip ice cream with pineapple juice. Went to Polynesian center and luau for my bday. Food was ok, 2nd half of show was really good!!

Be prepared to see lots of homeless people. I'm used to seeing this in Montreal but I was shocked by how many there were in Waikiki and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cuba_siiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Aloha,
Thank you taking the time to write a review of the Aqua Skyline at Island Colony. We apologize for the inconveniences you endured during your stay. Your feedback is critical and have been brought up at our recent managers meeting with the team. We thank your for your patronage and look forward to the possibility of serving you again in the very near future.
I would like to know more about your experience and should you have the time, please email me directly at bkovaloff@aquaresorts.com

Mahalo!
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed for 7 night in Aqua Skyline and the experience was superb.
Initially when we arrived, we were surprised that the hotel actually read our comment and gave us the highest room available which was just under the penthouse level! We also were able to get the room with a better view of the city and slight ocean view.
However, we had a slight hiccup due to bed arrangement, this was quickly resolved as one of the most friendly staff, PT, came around to place an extra fold-able bed in our room and we were able to book into a room with the proper setup the next day. Although the level was slightly lower, we were still at one of the highest level.
The rooms are clean and nicely renovated. All the staffs we came across were helpful and very friendly, including the security guard down in the lobby!
The hotel is also in a great location! Located in a quiet street, yet very close to Waikiki beach!

Overall we had a great experience in Aqua Skyline and would like to give thank to the BEST staff we've came across, PT!

Room Tip: Try and get a room that has the city/ocean view, they're excellent at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time in sharing your Skyline experience with our Trip Advisor viewers. We are ecstatic that you enjoyed your stay and that our team was able to turn a bad situation into a positive one. We know our guests save up for a trip like this, and it is our job to ensure all expectations are met. We truly value your patronage and hope to one day serve you again. Thank you for giving a shout out to "PT" and the rest of the Aqua Skyline at Island Colony staff. Comments like these go a long way and it goes to show that your Hawaiian Experience was one that will last a lifetime.

Mahalo!
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at the Aqua Skyline at Island Colony for a week-long business trip in March 2013. In addition to being an excellent deal financially, the hotel was in a nice central location- within walking distance to shopping areas, the beach, and various nightlife and restaurants around Waikiki. Our room was on the 42nd floor, and had amazing views of both the beach and downtown; Diamond Head and Molokai were visible in the distance, and the sunrise and sunset from our spacious lanai was an added bonus. To top it off, despite being centrally located, we did not have difficulty with noise disturbance from traffic, other guests, or tourists in the area. Parking was available and affordable on several streets nearby, as well as within the hotel garage for a reasonable fee. Further, the hotel had various security measures in place to ensure that guests felt safe. Brian, a member of the management team, as well as several other staff members, treated us with respect and kindness, and were consistently available to answer questions. Our room was clean and came equipped with a kitchenette and large refrigerator, as well as a working air conditioner and comfortable, clean beds. We highly recommend this hotel and will be returning on our next visit!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views and get more sunlight :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Aloha,
It has been an honor serving you on your recent visit to the Aqua Skyline at Island Colony. As you've experienced, the property is centrally located in Waikiki near many shops and restaurants. The views are breathtaking and on a clear day, the neighboring islands are visible. The staff here work hard to ensure all guests leave here having experienced the true meaning of Aloha and have find memories of a vacation to last a lifetime. We appreciate the positive comments and look forward to another visit in the very near future.

Mahalo!
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#52 of 84 in Honolulu
1,824 reviews
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#50 of 84 in Honolulu
507 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ilima Hotel
#32 of 84 in Honolulu
954 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Skyline at Island Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Skyline at Island Colony

Address: 445 Seaside Ave, Waikiki Beach, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2640 (Formerly Aqua Island Colony)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#43 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $161 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Skyline at Island Colony 3*
Number of rooms: 740
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Skyline at Island Colony infuses the Honolulu cityscape with contemporary urban design in an ideal location just 2 blocks to the beach and near Waikiki's best shopping and dining. Soaring above the city, the hotel is the tallest building in Waikiki at 44-stories. Here you'll find modern 3-star accommodations and spectacular panoramic views of Waikiki's skyline and Diamond Head. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Skyline at Island Colony allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chari rentals, Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, you'll enjoy renovated studios and suites appointed with modern decor, deluxe bedding, kitchenettes with granite countertops and stovetops, spacious balconies, and 40" flat screen LCD TVs. Relax and lounge in the pool area and sundeck, featuring amazing views and BBQ grills for your use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Skyline at Island Colony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Island Colony Hotel Honolulu
Hotel Island Colony
Island Colony Hotel
Aqua Skyline At Island Colony Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing