We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Aqua quickly becoming #1 Hotel chain in Hawaii” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Skyline at Island Colony

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aqua Skyline at Island Colony
Ranked #44 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Hawaii
Level Contributor
116 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Aqua quickly becoming #1 Hotel chain in Hawaii”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Aqua hotels took over management of the hotel portion of this condo-hotel in the center of Waikiki. It is and has been a favorite for Japanese and Canadian and now Chinese tourists because of its price and very convenient location at the center of Waikiki. For the price this is a value and best of the second tier resorts off the beach and better than anything on Kuhio Ave which is not the safest place at night with hookers and what seems to be weekly shootings and stabbings associated with the clubs and bars. Stick to the beach hotel bars where you can see the ocean and its mo bettah.

The 6th floor pool area has been remodeled with wooden cabanas, a small jacuzzi, there are plenty outdoor BBQ stations and a tiny exercise room, large modern laundry room and a friendly mini mart. There is a lobby cafe with coffee and some hot foods.

The major suggestion is that the sauna 2-3 max is way to small... there needs be bigger and separate ladies and mens saunas which was overlooked by the remodeling committee.

The rooms are nice and clean with the higher floors 20-45 having sunrise and moonrise views of Diamondhead volcano on the East side, sunsets, Friday fireworks show and Manoa Valley on the west side. Every room has open air lanai/balconies for dining, sunbathing and with the best weather on the planet you can sleep with your sliding doors open year round.

Room Tip: High floor west view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamakanuiahailono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Skyline at Island Colony is a part of the Aqua chain and is now one of 16 Waikiki properties and 23 total for Hawaii. We are happy that you were able to experience all what Skyline has to offer. We are centrally located in Waikiki and just a few blocks from Waikiki Beach. Just off the Ala Wai Canal, our views are stunning and if you are able to get into a high floor, they are breathtaking. As the tallest building in Waikiki, our property is truly a gem.
We look forward to a future visit with us, please call us directly to book your next vacation.

Mahalo!
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    137
    58
    10
    13
See reviews for
96
107
40
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel in December 2012. I had nothing but problems getting into hotel room.

None of the keys worked. The card reader was broken. There answer was to print cards 10 at a time. Between and my roommate over the 4 days we had 100 cards. You get to the room and fiddle with the cards until the door opens. 15 minutes at leAst bad if u had a couple of drinks and/or need the bathroom.

The hotels solution print more cards. They said they were awaiting for the locks to be fixed. Asked for another room but they would not accommodate finally met with the manager Mona and she was nice and apologized she said she would refund 1 night (out of 4 no bad). But she said i paid via agoda so she said she would refund via them. 6 months no refund! Called Agoda no idea what im talking about.

Other than the hotel is OLD! Rooms have been refurbished and nice but lobby pool hallways look like they were 20 years ago (i know because i stayed there twenty years ago - reading on their website remodeled thought be fun to stay there!). But it is only the rooms with broken door locks which have been remodeled.

10 15 minute walk to the beach.

I would've recommended if trying to save money but the manager promising a refund and not delivering left a bad taste in my mouth.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YVR_GQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share your Skyline experience with our on-line readers. I apologize for the inconvenience you endured and know that it must be frustrating to go through issues like you did. During this time period, it was brought to my attention that we had some issues with locks and know that since then, all of our problems have been resolved. I will further look into detail regarding your refund and should you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me directly regarding this matter.
We thank you for your patronage and look forward to the opportunity of serving you again.

Mahalo!
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

For me location, comfort, value, cleanliness are key to a good hotel. I do not need the services of a 5 star resort, I need a good "home base" while I am out busy beach hopping or seeing the sights. This hotel fit the bill for that. It does not have a fancy spa onsite or room service, or any of the other amenities the 5 star places have. If you don't need that, this place will meet your needs. Most important was the value paid for the room...if was a fair price and I had no complaints other than the shower head was way too low for me and showering was very uncomfortable. I was on floor 34 and had a nice view of the ocean and Diamond Head and the balcony was quite large. Waikiki beach is not that far, but do yourself a favor and find another beach...there are so many great "locals beaches" a quick drive away that are 100 times better with 80% less people crowding the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room on a high floor for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeffSeattle007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share your Skyline experience with our online readers. As you have stated, "location, comfort, value and cleanliness", are what we believe sets us above the rest. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to serving you again in the very near future.
We will more than happy to assist you with booking your next reservation.

Mahalo!
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cascadia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Honolulu is getting increasingly un-fun, but this is a pretty place. The remodeled rooms are quiet and comfortable and affordable. The higher you stay, the less noise you will hear, and the more of the topography you will see..

Thanks, Island Colony, for upgrading our room.

Sue S

Room Tip: high floor for noise protection and grand views of deveatated Honolulu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arachne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share your Skyline experience. We are happy that you were upgraded and was able to enjoy our comfortable and clean rooms. With all the amenities we have to offer, our property is like "a home away from home".
We look forward to serving you again in the very near future.

Mahalo!
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My partner my 8 year old son and myself stayed at aqua skyline on 20th march for 13 nights, we have never been to hawaii and didnt know what to expect, the hotel was going through some reconstruction which didnt impact on our stay at all, we stayed on the 38th floor so didnt hear a peep. Perfect location, 10 min walk to the beach lovely view of the canal, 2 min stroll to the shops my best holiday by far, saving up again!!! Would recomend this hotel to everyone, would suit all ages and kinds of people!!! Didnt visit the fitness room or restaurant so cant comment

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louiseb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Aqua Skyline at Island Colony. We appreciate the positive comments and look forward to serving you again in the very near future. Lobby upgrades have been completed with the addition of our new dining facility, Jagger's Café. They are open daily from 6 a.m.
Please call us directly should you need to make future reservations.

Mahalo!
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yelm, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We are locals here and wanted a special get-away for our daughter's 14th Birthday / Slumber party! What a great find! The price was perfect and we were not disappointed with our stay. The room was so very clean and modern, loved the kitchen and large family room. It was great for a group of 5 teenage girls to enjoy their time together, playing board games, eating, watching movies, swimming, eating, singing and dancing, and of course eating! We actually saved so much by making full use of the kitchen, which was spotless. The bedroom was large, bedding smelled so clean, and the balcony was spacious. Mahalo nui loa, thank you so much for making her birthday so perfect!

Room Tip: It is walking distance to everywhere! Perfect location, yet off the beaten path for some nice peace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Aqua Skyline at Island Colony. We appreciate the positive comments and look forward to the possibility of serving you again in the very near future. As you experienced what Skyline has to offer, we are happy that you found our product clean and spacious with all amenities needed right here in one location.
Please do not hesitate to call us to book your next vacation.

Mahalo!
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 10 nights March 11th to 21st in a studio kitchenette on the 28th floor. the room was renovated and we loved the large Lanai. The bathroom is small but who spends alot of time in there! The housekeeping was better some days than others but overall fine. We enjoyed our view and sitting out on the Lanai for breakfast in the morning and drinks in the evening. We could see the fireworks from the Hilton on friday nights.
The 6th floor has a pool and jacuzzi, BBQ's and plenty of room for lounging or having some quiet time to read etc... There is also a small fitness room we used for a morning work out and enjoyed the new equipment that was provided. They were still working around the pool and the jacuzzi was closed down half way through our vacation. It would have been nice to know about this prior to our arrival. Overall the pool area is great and there is lots of space compared to many other hotels/condos in the area. Towels are provide for the pool and beach at the front desk. We even took extra towels when we went on our road trips and it was not a problem.
We went to a managers reception on the Tuesday and had drinks and snacks. There were two staff singing and playing guitars, which was a nice touch. The manager joined in for a couple songs as well and we chatted with other guest...very nice!!
We found the location to work well for us. A short walk to the beach area and close to shopping and a variety of restaurants. We rented a car for the last 3 days of our vacation and parking was $25.00 per day at the hotel. Very easy to drive any where on the Island. We loved paddle boarding out at Kailua and went to the North Shore another day and found some great beach areas there. The West coast of the Island was nice as well and great to do some snorkelling.
Our vacation was wonderful and we would have loved to stay another week. We would definitely stay again at the Aqua Skyline and recommend it to other friends and family.
Thank you to all the staff who were very friendly and helpful. They always said hello, had a smile and asked about our day. Mahalo - Pt, Steve and Leilani for your exceptional customer service!!!! =)
Vancouver, Canada

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TLTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your Skyline experience with our on-line readers. WOW, what a great vacation you had. It's great to see that you enjoyed your stay and all that Aqua Skyline at Island Colony has to offer. You also mentioned sevaral of our team members who gave that special touch while you were here which i will be sure to commend at our next employee event. We thank you for your patronage and for choosing Aqua Skyline at Island Colony. We look forward to a another visit in the very near future, should you need assistance with reservations, please do not hesitate to call me directly.

Mahalo!
Brian "Kovy" Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.7 mi away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#53 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,748 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#35 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#72 of 83 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#61 of 83 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 stars 1,500 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Aqua Oasis
Aqua Oasis
#32 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Skyline at Island Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Skyline at Island Colony

Property: Aqua Skyline at Island Colony
Address: 445 Seaside Ave, Waikiki Beach, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2640 (Formerly Aqua Island Colony)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#35 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#43 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Skyline at Island Colony 3*
Number of rooms: 740
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Skyline at Island Colony infuses the Honolulu cityscape with contemporary urban design in an ideal location just 2 blocks to the beach and near Waikiki's best shopping and dining. Soaring above the city, the hotel is the tallest building in Waikiki at 44-stories. Here you'll find modern 3-star accommodations and spectacular panoramic views of Waikiki's skyline and Diamond Head. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Skyline at Island Colony allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chari rentals, Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, you'll enjoy renovated studios and suites appointed with modern decor, deluxe bedding, kitchenettes with granite countertops and stovetops, spacious balconies, and 40" flat screen LCD TVs. Relax and lounge in the pool area and sundeck, featuring amazing views and BBQ grills for your use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Aqua Skyline at Island Colony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Island Colony Hotel Honolulu
Hotel Island Colony
Island Colony Hotel
Aqua Skyline At Island Colony Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing