We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location!”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Clean and updated hotel at the base of Diamond Head. Staff was awesome. Only think missing was a pool. Great beach 200 feet away. If you are looking for that quiet oasis close to all the action, this is it! I will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottyhanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    225
    54
    15
    10
See reviews for
213
463
72
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
239 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is not right on Waikiki, but that's a good thing. It is within easy walking distance of the beach, but is situated in a lovely park so it is much quieter than other hotels in the area. The park is great for an after dinner walk or a morning run. The rooms are nice, and we had a great view of Diamondhead. The staff is friendly and very efficient. The hotel restaurant Park is also very good. We really enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

As a quiet getaway, this is the place to stay….close to Waikiki, away from the noise. Modern clean designs with a top notch staff. It is a smaller place (reduces noise as well); friendly and accessible…you won't get lost. I am ABSOLUTELY DELIGHTED that they do not have a pool; a mature retreat. Next trip to Oahu, I'll will stay here again.

Room Tip: I think the best rooms are on the Diamond Head side; away from the park. Lower level rooms will get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The choice of The Lotus Honolulu was perfect for our recent trip to Hawaii. Located just off of the Waikiki 'strip', it was a peaceful getaway yet accessible to all of the main attractions in the area. The amenities were wonderful, from the comfortable beds and excellent layout of the bathroom, to the balcony that overlooked Diamond Head. The service is top-notch, with friendly and attentive staff. We requested Premium rooms and were not disappointed.

Room Tip: Request a room that has a view of both Diamond Head and the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I choose this hotel based on the TripAdvisor reviews and loved it. I took the advice of other reviewers and booked on a higher floor where the views were incredible. I loved not being in Waikiki but able to walk there. The staff was so friendly I felt like I was walking into the "Cheers" bar.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zanharter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Fl
Level Contributor
182 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed for three nights at the Lotus Honolulu and chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews. During our stay, we stayed in two room types. Both had comfortable beds, quality furnishings with excellent housekeeping. The staff were uniformly friendly, had a great attitude and were knowledgeable about the area. All the vibes are positive. It’s been noted in previous reviews about the breakfasts, so I won’t comment on that.

I would like to add our experience with two room categories:

Diamond Head View Premium Room. The hotel’s website features a photo and a room description: “Luxurious corner units feature two private lanais offering stunning views of Diamond Head and the Pacific Ocean.” We were assigned room 521 with a tree blocking the view of Diamond Head from one window and from the other window a view of a parking lot and a sliver of ocean. We heard the sound of the elevator when it opened & closed, people talking and children yelling in the hallway, and motor scooters, cars & buses going by on the street. In the morning we are awakened around 6:50AM by the beep-beep of delivery trucks backing up. We asked for a room change away from the street and a higher floor. Here we learn that this category of room is only up to the 6th floor – the top floors of 7-12 are another price category, Ocean View Premium Room. With no availability on these top floors we agreed to an upgrade to an Ocean View Room and hopeful that we’ll get a good nights rest there.

Ocean View Room. The hotel’s website features a photo and a room description: “Lotus Honolulu Ocean View rooms feature majestic views of the Pacific Ocean, 380 square feet of space, and a furnished private lanai.” We are assigned 1024, away from the elevator and more towards the ocean side. Take a look at the photos to see what you think of the “majestic views of the Pacific Ocean”. However, the room is quieter. But around 6:50AM those delivery trucks back-up beeping like an alarm clock.

So to summarize:
Depending upon how light or solid a sleeper you are, you may be perfectly satisfied with any of the rooms.

If a view is really important to you, look at the photos that other guests have posted not just the ones posted on the hotel’s website.

I suggest discussing your room choice with staff before making reservations.

Perhaps these concerns could be rectified with a more modern quiet elevator and heavier duty sound proof windows.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Journeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

I decided to write my first hotel feedback for this hotel is because it really brought me down. First of all my BF and I picked this hotel as it highly recommended by trip advisor. The hotel itself is clean. But things turned down when I lost my most expensive and most meaningful necklace at this hotel. And the stuff did not even really try to help we to find it at all. so watch out your belonging if u chose at this hotel

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Rita Qianqian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Aloha Rita,

I would like to apologize for the loss of your necklace. We take issues of theft very seriously and if you did not receive the assistance that you needed while here, I take full responsibility for that and I will correct the matter immediately. My team and I have researched you claim and at this time, we can not find any information regarding your complaint. Please contact me at the email below so that we may assist you further. I look forward to hearing from you and resolving this matter.

Mahalo,

Joshua M. Gray
General Manager
jgray@lotushawaii.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,844 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head

Property: Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head
Address: 2885 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly The Lotus at Diamond Head)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated enclave located on the famed Gold Coast of Waikiki, the Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head is a fusion of Asian inspired decor and warm Hawaiian hospitality. Rent beach cruiser bikes and explore Waikiki. Enjoy daily happy hour specials and delicious island cuisine at Wisp Restaurant & Lounge located on-site. Nestled between Kapiolani Park and a spectacular white sand beach shared with Outrigger Canoe Club, this hotel offers a peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki with remarkable views of majestic Diamond Head and the Pacific ocean. With our boutique fee of $25 per-room, per-day, guests will enjoy amenities including: Free valet parking (normally $20 per day), Coffee & tea service, served daily on the 2nd floor from 7am to 10am. (In the loby from 6:00 am to 7:00am), Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel, Hawaiian bottled water available daily (in your room and car), Illy coffee system and coffee pods in guest rooms, In-room safe, Daily local newspaper, Local and toll-free calls, Wine served daily in the lobby from 4pm to 5:30pm, Beach chairs, towels, mats and other beach accessories (based on availability). See a guest service agent for assistance., Use of bicycles available for a ride around the park., Take a picnic excursion or more! (Tandem bicycle also available)., See our bell/valet agent for assistance., Waikiki shuttle available daily: Let your feet rest up while taking in all Waikiki has to offer aboard our exclusive Waikiki Shuttle service between participating Aqua properties to Ala Moana Center. See a guest services agent for assistance, visit mywaikikishuttle or download the RideSystem app on your smart phone for shuttle tracking., DVDNow Kiosk: Feel like staying in? Use your DVDNow card to enjoy complimentary movie or game rentals. Kiosk available on the 2nd floor., CastNow: Stream videos and live digital feeds to your TV from your smart phone, tablet or laptop. Instructions are located in your room., Yoga! Enjoy complimentary morning yoga sessions in the park offered daily at 7:30 am. Meet in the lobby to take advantage of this great opportunity to start your morning off with the many health benefits of yoga. Yoga mats are provided., Admission for two (2) to the Honolulu Museum of Arts (Use LOTUS room card for proof of stay.), Fruit Infused Water Station in the Lobby., Zumba & Tai Chi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Lotus Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Hotel
Lotus Honolulu At Diamond Head Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing