We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

My family spent Christmas week in Honolulu. I decided to stay here based on trip advisor reviews and it was great.
All the reviews were accurate.
Great staff! Great location!
You are close to everything but won't hear late night craziness :)

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank TweetGavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Aloha TweetGavin,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Lotus Honolulu. Our staff and location are truly two of our biggest assets. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the staff and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Mahalo,

Joshua M. Gray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,024)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

555 - 561 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed here for three nights at the end of a 9 day holiday to Honolulu. Having done most of our shopping and sighseeing, we looked for a tranquil location near Diamond Head. The Aqua Lotus is a perfect choice for peace and quiet away from Waikiki. The room was impressive with lovely views of Kapiolani Park and Diamond Head. The room was tastefully presented and had two balconies catching the breeeze from the ocean and the mountain. The beach is only a short walk away and if you needed to go back into Waikiki, the bus goes right past, but you can walk there in about 15 minutes. The view at night back to Waikiki is one of the best you'll get anywhere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Aloha Rick C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Lotus Honolulu. Peace and quiet is exactly what you get in our little neighborhood here on the Gold Coast of Waikiki. From the sounds of your review, you picked the right place to "unwind" from your holiday before heading back to Sydney. We are delighted that you chose us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Mahalo,

Joshua M. Gray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We booked this hotel at the last minute = we were originally going to stay at the Waikiki Marriott Resort, but as we got closer to our arrival date, the reviews on Tripadvisor about the Marriott were so bad, we cancelled, and due to the great reviews on Tripadvisor, we booked the Lotus.

What a wonderful surprise! The lobby is lovely. There is always fresh fruit and fresh water. The complementary wine in the afternoon is an added plus, as is the free coffee in the morning. If you don't want to buy breakfast from the restaurant on the 2nd floor, there is a convenience store next door. But make sure to eat dinner at the restaurant - great food and friendly servers. We went up for dessert one night, and two nights later, when we went back for dinner, Lisa remembered us!

The front desk welcome was so warm and helpful - TJ and Travis really went out of their way to give us information, and to help us book our tour of the Arizona.

The room was beautiful!! From our balcony, we had great views of Diamondhead and the ocean, admittedly with a parking lot in front, but the other 2 views made up for it!

The beach was just a short walk, and thanks to Travis, we went equipped with beach chairs and towels. Small, but quiet beach - just what we were looking for.

Admittedly, central Waikiki was a bit of a hike, but considering the craziness ( sort of like Times Square), we loved the location. We had been told not to get a car for Honolulu, and the advice was right on! Traffic is horrendous and there is no place to park. One day we walked down, but since I had a bad leg, we cabbed it down. One day we were actually able to take a bus back to the hotel, but that didn't happen again - they stopped running at 4:30 in the afternoon!? I made the suggestion that the hotel could offer a shuttle service just to central Waikiki a few times a day.

I don't know if I would visit Honolulu again, but I do know that I would definitely stay at another Lotus property.

Room Tip: If you can get one without a view of the parking lot, but then you might now get the doubleheader of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank koshershrimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Aloha koshershrimp,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Lotus Honolulu. To see/hear about a guest's first impression of our hotel is a highlight of my day. When a guest truly appreciates the quietness of our location and the genuine care that our staff has for each guest, we can honestly say job well done. I hope you change your mind and come back to Honolulu one day. We will be waiting for you!

Mahalo,

Joshua M. Gray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

It's a small 12 story hotel with about 50 rooms but it's obvious the Lotus was renovated within the last few years. The staff was great, the room presentation was great! What a nice treat to walk into my room with Hawaiian Music playing and my Ice bucket stocked. I would suggest trying to get a higher floor but you may not get it with the limited amount of rooms. It never hurts to ask.

The only odd thing about my room was the shower/Tub combination. It was really a stand up shower and not a tub. It's a bathtub only an toddler can use. I give the Lotus high marks. If you don't mind a "Non resort Stay" but a high quality hotel next to the beach, then the Lotus is perfect

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlyboyKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Aloha FlyboyKen,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Lotus Honolulu. I have come to realize that it is the small things that add the most value. I am glad to hear that you appreciated the music upon arrival and I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the staff. We hope to see you again soon!

Mahalo,

Joshua M. Gray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This beautiful hotel is in a quiet area at the end of Waikiki Beach with an absolute gorgeous view of both the Ocean and Diamond Head. My wife and I rented a car and used the Valet parking service of the Hotel but often walked into the busy shopping area of Waikiki.

Our room was very modern and comfortable. The hotel itself is slightly dated but well maintained! The hotel staff was excellent from the Valet parking attendant to the housekeeper to the front desk staff. All were very knowledgable, professional and very attentive to our needs.

The only thing I was slightly dissapointed in was the breakfast selection in the Restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Aloha Carl S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Lotus Honolulu. Your honesty in your review is what helps us get better day after day. I am happy to tell you that we are in the process of modifying our breakfast selection and we look forward to adding some new items in the near future.

Mahalo,

Joshua M. Gray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

My sisters & I stayed at your hotel last wknd when we were in town to run the Honolulu Marathon. I've been to Oahu (specifically Waikiki) hundreds of times & I can't believe I never heard about your hotel before. I love the quiet location away from the hectic craziness of Waikiki. The accommodations were wonderful - very clean, beautiful, with a simple elegance. Our room was a comfortable size the for 3 women :) and the bathroom was nice & spacious. Your staff was awesome, friendly and very professional and made us feel at home. Thank you for the great service and wonderful hospitality. We will for sure spend more future vacations with you all.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 992ElsieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Aloha 992ElsieK,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Lotus Honolulu. Our newly remodeled rooms are always a hit with our guests and our "hidden" location has been a well kept secret of Honolulu Marathon participants for years. We are glad you found us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Mahalo,

Joshua M. Gray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

It's bad enough that we were flying in from American Samoa and California to run a scary 26.2 miles...then to book a hotel room at a place we've never been to...we were a little anxious about that! But there was no need - from check in to the minute we left the hotel we were assisted by friendly, helpful, knowledgeable staff who went out of their way to not only get us in and out of the hotel, but also talk about our stay, the marathon, our experience! We never felt rushed, and the hotel is in a great location away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. While there may not be a pool or bouncing nightclub the beach and the serenity of this hotel provides a home-away-from-home experience that we appreciated, as well as direct access to a beautiful and less crowded beach. We will definitely be staying here every time we're on O'ahu! Thank you staff and manager for adding to our awesome Marathon experience!

Room Tip: rooms on the east side have a direct view of Diamond Head, a ocean view from the bed! Room 523 was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TuiTui808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Aloha TuiTui808,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Lotus Honolulu. Our location and staff have always been key to providing a "zen like" experience. We are glad that you have found a home away from home! I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the staff.

Mahalo,

Joshua M. Gray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,128 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,569 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head

Address: 2885 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly The Lotus at Diamond Head)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $233 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated enclave located on the famed Gold Coast of Waikiki, the Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head is a fusion of Asian inspired decor and warm Hawaiian hospitality. Rent beach cruiser bikes and explore Waikiki. Enjoy daily happy hour specials and delicious island cuisine at Wisp Restaurant & Lounge located on-site. Nestled between Kapiolani Park and a spectacular white sand beach shared with Outrigger Canoe Club, this hotel offers a peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki with remarkable views of majestic Diamond Head and the Pacific ocean. With our boutique fee of $25 per-room, per-day, guests will enjoy amenities including: Free valet parking (normally $20 per day), Coffee & tea service, served daily in the lobby from 6am to 10am, Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel, Hawaiian bottled water available daily (in your room and car), Illy coffee system and coffee pods in guest rooms, In-room safe, Daily local newspaper, Local and toll-free calls, Wine served daily in the lobby from 4pm to 5:30pm, Beach chairs, towels, mats and other beach accessories (based on availability). See a guest service agent for assistance., Use of bicycles available for a ride around the park., Take a picnic excursion or more! (Tandem bicycle also available)., See our bell/valet agent for assistance., Waikiki shuttle available daily: Let your feet rest up while taking in all Waikiki has to offer aboard our exclusive Waikiki Shuttle service between participating Aqua properties to Ala Moana Center. See a guest services agent for assistance, visit mywaikikishuttle or download the RideSystem app on your smart phone for shuttle tracking., DVDNow Kiosk: Feel like staying in? Use your DVDNow card to enjoy complimentary movie or game rentals. Kiosk available on the 2nd floor., CastNow: Stream videos and live digital feeds to your TV from your smart phone, tablet or laptop. Instructions are located in your room., Yoga! Enjoy complimentary morning yoga sessions in the park offered daily at 7:30 am. Meet in the lobby to take advantage of this great opportunity to start your morning off with the many health benefits of yoga. Yoga mats are provided., Admission for two (2) to the Honolulu Museum of Arts (Use LOTUS room card for proof of stay.), Fruit Infused Water Station in the Lobby., Zumba & Tai Chi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Prestigia, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Lotus Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Hotel
Lotus Honolulu At Diamond Head Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing