We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bright and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The room is bright, airy and both the room and bathroom are spacious and comfortable. It is modern and the staff are friendly. It is an easy walk to the main Waikiki area along the beach and park.

We ate at the restaurant 'Park' on our first night as we were exhausted from international travel- it was fantastic- food was great as was the service.

The lobby is nothing fancy nor the lift but the rooms and restaurant do feature- we would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a corner room and the views were good a higher floor they would be even better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rusky_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Aloha Rusky_13,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Lotus Honolulu. We are delighted that you had a "bright and relaxing" stay with us. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the Chef at Park. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Mahalo,

Joshua M. Gray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,059)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

623 - 629 of 1,059 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

The Good:
- The rooms look new, with a modern decor that is kept clean.
- The hotel is a little off the beaten path of Waikiki in a quiet part of Waikiki, yet still with walking distance of the shopping, restaurants, and bars. I prefer the quiet area, as I come to Hawaii to relax - not eat at Cheesecake Factory, shop at the Ferrari Store, and get over-whelmed by a "World War Z" swarm of tourists on the beach.
- The hotel has its own restaurant for dinner (no breakfast or room service, however), and there are three nearby restaurants (Michel's, New Otani Hotel, and Beach Front Cafe).
- The hotel has free wine from 3-5PM (legit!), and coffee/muffins for a charge during the morning (lame).
- Next door is a small convenience store selling sundries, snacks, hygiene products, alcohol, etc.
- The staff is efficient, friendly, and cool as [--] (offering paper cups so we could take our "juice" to the beach).

The downsides:
- Hotel is not beach front, and the "ocean view room" pictures are terrible misleading. The "ocean views" are the backsides of two taller buildings (which are beach front); in fact, you are better off getting a Diamond Head view, as they may offer great vistas of Kapiolani Park and Diamond Head. However, the hotel is within very easy walking distance (like ±150 feet), and they offer beach chairs.
- No pool or gym. But whatever, you can swim in the ocean and do a few hikes.
- No breakfast. The Beach Front Cafe is really good (and offers cheap eats), but requires a short walk to the park. But, damn, why not serve a basic breakfast, even for a charge?
- No Room service. You have a restaurant, why not go the slightly extra step?
- And, the travesty of travesties, no MINI BAR! How do you expect me to get "housed"?

Bottom line: I would stay here again if I stayed at a high room facing Diamond Head... and brought a supply of cereal and wine.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Harold_Crick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Aloha Harold_Crick,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Lotus Honolulu. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you would come back in the future. Our restaurant, Park, is coming along quite well and some of the suggestions you made are actually being considered. We hope to see you again soon.

Mahalo,

Joshua M. Gray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Awesome staff! Very friendly and awesome views!! Great restaurant for drinks before the night or a great dinner! Awesome pupu's as well! Very great drink list. Room kept up very well and all things were replenished frequently. Would recommend to all my friends and family. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Made261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Aloha Made261,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Lotus Honolulu. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your visit and even took the time to visit our restaurant. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the staff. We look forward to seeing you again and please tell all your friends.

Mahalo,

Joshua M. Gray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at aqua lotus for our first trip to Waikiki and I must say I was highly disappointed by trip advisor rating.

First let me say the hotel is beautiful inside. The rooms are cleaned and service is great the problem is those are the only positives I can say.

The hotel is far from any action which made evenings horrible for my wife and I. If you stay out too late you have to walk past homeless park where there are tons of homeless people. It makes you feel worried. Nothing happened mind you but walking at night through that is not exactly what I call paradise.

There is no easy access to beach. The hotel provides you with cheap beach chairs which you have to walk to a beach a couple of hotels down. It gets very annoying as I was informed the hotel was beach front. Also the hotel is so far that no excursions picked us up. We had to got other hotels for pick up.

There are no real options to eat at the hotel. The one place there was not our taste at all.

I think this hotel works for older people. There is no life in lobby it just feels empty. If your goal is quietness and no action stay there. It's not cheaper than other hotels so if you want fun and life don't stay here


  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Juan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Aloha Juan E,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Lotus Honolulu. I am quite disappointed that your visit did not go as well as you had expected. I would be more than happy to discuss with you what we could do to make your visit more enjoyable the next time you visit Honolulu. Please contact me at the email address below when you are available.

Mahalo,

Joshua M. Gray
General Manager
jgray@lotushawaii.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was our first trip to Hawaii and Honolulu, and I couldn't have been more pleased with Aqua Lotus. I had heard that Waikiki was big and bustling like Miami is to Florida so I assumed all hotel options would be huge resorts. What a delight that our travel agent recommended Aqua Lotus. Every evening, I felt like I was coming "home", not to a hotel. It was easy to come and go whether on foot, bike or car. The staff was so warm and welcoming - I almost felt like giving them a hug when we left! The room was comfortable and we loved sitting on the lanai and enjoying the view. If we are fortunate enough to return to Honolulu, we will DEFINITELY stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Aloha Patrice D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Lotus Honolulu. We are very proud of our "home" and we are delighted that you felt that way while you were here. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the staff and please thank your travel agent on our behalf.

Mahalo,

Joshua M. Gray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had trip of business and pleasure--- we stayed here during the 2nd part of our 5 day trip for 2 nights. This was the business part. I chose the hotel based on reviews and price. We booked a good price for Honolulu that was company budget friendly for Honolulu. We stayed on the 8th floor--- the hotel is in a weird location near some condos and a large park-- away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. I have mixed feelings about the hotel--- the rooms were nicely decorated with laminate wood and the staff was friendly and efficient- especially the valet parking! The hallways are open air and there is only 1 elevator (not a huge hotel so that was ok). Not much to eat or do around here, but the hotel is quiet. You have to take a little walk to the beach and some rooms have partial ocean views-- which ours did. If you like resort feel, convenience of shopping and restaurants right out the door and all around this is not the place to stay and probably not that great for kiddos? If you want modern, quiet, nightly wine service and a boutique feel- this is your place!

Room Tip: If yo are noise sensitive- get a room away from the elevator--- we are both heavy sleepers but we st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayLilTRAVELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Aloha JayLilTRAVELS,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Lotus Honolulu. We hope to see you again in the future.

Mahalo,

Joshua M. Gray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We chose this hotel based on trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed . It is a lovely boutique hotel on the east end of Waikiki near Diamond Head. We liked that it was away from the hustle and bustle do downtown Waikiki yet still near the beach. The service was excellent. We had a a wonderful dinner at their new restaurant and also had a lovely dinner at a restaurant nearby called the Hau Tree restaurant. If you are looking for a smaller boutique hotel with lovely views, comfortable rooms and gracious staff, we highly recommend this delightful hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NashDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Aloha NashDoc,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Lotus Honolulu. Having excellent service is key to running a great business and word of mouth helps keep the business coming. I'm delighted to see that you chose our property because of the reviews that you have read and I hope someone finds your review as helpful! We look forward to seeing you again.

Mahalo,

Joshua M. Gray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
352 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,186 reviews
Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Surfjack Hotel & Swim Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head

Address: 2885 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4002 (Formerly The Lotus at Diamond Head)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $241 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated enclave located on the famed Gold Coast of Waikiki, the Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head is a fusion of Asian inspired decor and warm Hawaiian hospitality. Rent beach cruiser bikes and explore Waikiki. Enjoy daily happy hour specials and delicious island cuisine at Wisp Restaurant & Lounge located on-site. Nestled between Kapiolani Park and a spectacular white sand beach shared with Outrigger Canoe Club, this hotel offers a peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki with remarkable views of majestic Diamond Head and the Pacific ocean. With our boutique fee of $25 per-room, per-day, guests will enjoy amenities including: Free valet parking (normally $20 per day), Coffee & tea service, served daily in the lobby from 6am to 10am, Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel, Hawaiian bottled water available daily (in your room and car), Illy coffee system and coffee pods in guest rooms, In-room safe, Daily local newspaper, Local and toll-free calls, Wine served daily in the lobby from 4pm to 5:30pm, Beach chairs, towels, mats and other beach accessories (based on availability). See a guest service agent for assistance., Use of bicycles available for a ride around the park., Take a picnic excursion or more! (Tandem bicycle also available)., See our bell/valet agent for assistance., Waikiki shuttle available daily: Let your feet rest up while taking in all Waikiki has to offer aboard our exclusive Waikiki Shuttle service between participating Aqua properties to Ala Moana Center. See a guest services agent for assistance, visit mywaikikishuttle or download the RideSystem app on your smart phone for shuttle tracking., DVDNow Kiosk: Feel like staying in? Use your DVDNow card to enjoy complimentary movie or game rentals. Kiosk available on the 2nd floor., CastNow: Stream videos and live digital feeds to your TV from your smart phone, tablet or laptop. Instructions are located in your room., Yoga! Enjoy complimentary morning yoga sessions in the park offered daily at 7:30 am. Meet in the lobby to take advantage of this great opportunity to start your morning off with the many health benefits of yoga. Yoga mats are provided., Admission for two (2) to the Honolulu Museum of Arts (Use LOTUS room card for proof of stay.), Fruit Infused Water Station in the Lobby., Zumba & Tai Chi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Lotus Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Hotel
Lotus Honolulu At Diamond Head Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing