We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay but some issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed in an "ocean view" corner room on the 10th floor. The ocean view is just a peekaboo view through the buildings that are actually on the beach. This was not a surprise, we got that before booking. The view of Diamond Head was stellar. We loved that the windows opened on 2 adjacent walls allowing the lovely breeze to circulate though the room. As others have noted, the elevator is incredibly slow, but we were never in that much of a rush.

What we did not like was that it seemed every time we went to the lobby, there was never anyone at the front desk. We had to wait or hunt down someone to retrieve our car. Also, the "restaurant" was always out of items when we stopped in for breakfast. The "business center" is a very tiny room at the end of a dark hallway. When I went there to check into my flight and get a boarding pass, the entire stairway up was not lit and extremely dark as was the hallway getting to the room - very creepy and hard to navigate. Then when I checked into my flight, I had to pay a fee of around $7 dollars for a 10 or 15 minute session on their computer and was charged 75 cents for every page that printed out. I've never had this experience at any other hotel. If it weren't for these issues, I would have given it 4 stars.

I thought that being away from the heart of Waikiki would be nice, but we found ourselves walking down there every day and then longing to be closer. We loved the upgrades made to the main avenue (Kalakaua?) and the new City Walk neighborhood at the south end of the strip and wished we had stayed down there instead.

Just a side note, not about the hotel - it had been maybe 7 years since visiting Honolulu and we were appalled at how bad the traffic has become. We wasted so much time trying to drive from one spot to another. On our trip up to the north shore, the back up was so bad it took us over an hour just to get to the outskirts of town. Pity.

Room Tip: Get a high floor corner room.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank migobeachnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,006)
There are newer reviews for Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

686 - 692 of 1,006 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

Afte a long day of flying to Honolulu, we were both looking to relax in our room. However, when we arrived, our reservations were not in the hotel's system. Matthew Pickett, General Manager, took the time to investigate and deternined they had forgotten to book our room and they were totally booked. He spent the time to accommodate us at a sister property with an upgrade that he would pay the difference. Matthew turned a negative experience into a very positive experience and everything was handling very well and the other accommodations were excellent. Even though we never did stay a night at the Aqua Lotus hotel to enjoy the accommodations, we would book again as everyone there bent over backwards to ensure we had a good experience with them. I would not hesitate in booking a room there again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Thank BruceJ32406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I've stayed at the Lotus 2x (2011 and 2012) and love that it is in the quiet/peaceful "end" of Waikiki across of Kapiolani Park/Diamond Head, which in my opinion the best place to stay in Waikiki. The rooms are lovely, spacious and comfortable with a mini fridge discreetly tucked away below the t.v. in a cabinet. Bathrooms are also spacious. House-keeping is good. Although we had an "ocean view" two times, it was a brief expanse of the Pacific glimpsed through tall buildings. There is a "lack of privacy" as folks from nearby buildings can easily see into your room. The first time I stayed at the hotel there was a roof-top party with a blaring bass that went on past 9pm. While management was sympathetic, they made it clear that the party was "within" their rights to carry-on into the evening. The very comfortable bed and high count sheets were fabulous. The second time I stayed at the hotel the bed was saggy, and it wasn't possible to switch rooms which made for a sore back. I would stay at the Lotus again because of the fantastic location, the quiet "local" neighborhood and easy access to local eateries and shopping on foot. San Souci beach is a short walk away. Way less crowded, if you're game to walk further is Diamond Head Beach. FYI you can park across the street in metered public parking (free at night) to save the cost of hotel parking. However, be sure to plug your meter in the morning or find other free street parking. If you want to stay in Waikiki and have a "local experience" you will LOVE the Lotus. This is the perfect place for solo travel, a couples retreat or friend's get-away. You will immediately feel at peace and at home on this property. Diamond Head, otherwise known as Mauna Leahi is a wahi pana or sacred and storied place for Hawaiians. Being so close in proximity to the Lotus, I always feel the mana or sacred energy of Mauna Leahi can be felt on-site. I grew up on Oahu and have always loved this section of Waikiki. The only reason why the Lotus did not receive 5 stars was because of the "noisy party" and "saggy bed" situations. I travel for a living and need to receive a sound sleep for early mornings.

Room Tip: If you are an early sleeper, ask management if there are any roof-top parties scheduled and find a...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lee Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. Your sentiments reflect what most guests comment on the most and what we consider the details that separate us from most hotels. Whether it be the excellent location, friendly and efficient staff or the number of value added amenities that are provided, this property will not let you down regardless the reason for your trip.

We are hard at work to improve our product offerings and services. In the past few weeks we have added Verismo Espresso machines and new upgraded bed linens, added small touches to our evening turndown housekeeping service and a daily breakfast offering on our second floor. We are very near to announcing a much anticipated operator for our restaurant space that will change the culinary scene in Honolulu for years to come.

We hope to see you again very soon at our charming little hideaway on the Gold Coast.

Aloha,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

THe Aqua Lotus was a fantastic place to stay. We stayed for 15 nights and would highly recommend it to our friends and family. WE were pleasantly surprised at thequiet, zen like appeance of the lobby. It made you relax the minute you walked in... very nicely decorated... but yet simple. The rooms were all brand new.. very quiet.. nice view of Diamond head and view of the ocean. Saw whales from the balcony every day! Staff were more than exceptional! They were always there to service your needs. The free wine bar was a nice touch as well as the free coffee and tea the free bicycles, newspaper, beach chairs and towels, Nice to be a 5 minute drive from the business of Waikiki or a 15 minute walk. At the end of a busy day it was like coming to a second home. The staff knew us by name and were more than willing to offer their assistance. The breakfast restaurant was perfect... coffee, muffins, yogurt and granola, boiled eggs, pastry basket bagels etc...nice not to have to go out every morning...great coffee maker in room... microwaves on request and a fridge. Also washer and dryer on 3rd floor which was great for our extended stay.. nice surpirse! We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurie333wink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. Your sentiments reflect what most guests comment on the most and what we consider the details that separate us from most hotels. Whether it be the excellent location, friendly and efficient staff or the number of value added amenities that are provided, this property will not let you down regardless the reason for your trip.

We are hard at work to improve our product offerings and services. In the past few weeks we have added Verismo Espresso machines and new upgraded bed linens, added small touches to our evening turndown housekeeping service and a daily breakfast offering on our second floor. We are very near to announcing a much anticipated operator for our restaurant space that will change the culinary scene in Honolulu for years to come.

We hope to see you again very soon at our charming little hideaway on the Gold Coast.

Aloha,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Away from the Waikiki crowd yet still in Waikiki, the Lotus will more than satisfies those looking for a quieter, friendly place to stay. Rooms are attractive, well-appointed, and of good size. What makes the Lotus excellent is the location and the staff. Everyone smiles. Everyone is helpful and committed to making your stay memorable. The wonderful San Souci beach is just steps away from the Lotus. Kapiolani park surrounds the hotel. Diamond Head looms in the distance. The hustle of Waikiki is a pleasant 20 minute walk along the shoreline. You will be glad to return to the tranquility of the Lotus.

No restaurant? Who wants to eat in a hotel restaurant anyway if you have a car? Just up the road is Town restaurant, the best in Honolulu, in the Kaimuki district, about 10 minutes away. Eat malasadas at Leonard's bakery, about 7 minutes away. Go early to the Saturday Farmers Market at the community college about 7 minutes away. Eat a plate breakfast or lunch where President Obama eats at the Rainbow Drive-In about 6 minutes away. That's away from the Waikiki beach commercial madness.

As for the $20/day for parking, your car is secure, delivered to you promptly and with a smile.

The Lotus is for independent travelers. If that's you, the jewel is in the lotus.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank h2onab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. Your sentiments reflect what most guests comment on the most and what we consider the details that separate us from most hotels. Whether it be the excellent location, friendly and efficient staff or the number of value added amenities that are provided, this property will not let you down regardless the reason for your trip.

We are hard at work to improve our product offerings and services. In the past few weeks we have added Verismo Espresso machines and new upgraded bed linens, added small touches to our evening turndown housekeeping service and a daily breakfast offering on our second floor. We are very near to announcing a much anticipated operator for our restaurant space that will change the culinary scene in Honolulu for years to come.

We hope to see you again very soon at our charming little hideaway on the Gold Coast.

Aloha,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Service, service, service. We found the the employees at this hotel among the most helpful we have encountered in our travels. They were uniformly cheerful and interested in meeting our needs.

We liked the location, away from the more hectic area, but a nice walk along the ocean, into town.

Although this hotel is not beach front, it was more than adequate in terms of view. Sunrise behind Diamond Head was lovely to watch and one of my favorite pictures from our trip is of my husband relaxing on our balcony just looking at the scenery. The room was roomy and very comfortable.

Room Tip: We had a corner room, high up in the hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. Your sentiments reflect what most guests comment on the most and what we consider the details that separate us from most hotels. Whether it be the excellent location, friendly and efficient staff or the number of value added amenities that are provided, this property will not let you down regardless the reason for your trip.

We are hard at work to improve our product offerings and services. In the past few weeks we have added Verismo Espresso machines and new upgraded bed linens, added small touches to our evening turndown housekeeping service and a daily breakfast offering on our second floor. We are very near to announcing a much anticipated operator for our restaurant space that will change the culinary scene in Honolulu for years to come.

We hope to see you again very soon at our charming little hideaway on the Gold Coast.

Aloha,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Aqua Lotus Honolulu has the very best staff! They made us feel very welcome! Our room on the 11th floor had great views of Diamond Head and the ocean. Loved the location away from the noise of Waikiki but close enough to walk to. Everything we requested at the time of booking was provided. Nice clean room, comfortable king size bed and fridge for our drinks. Close to beach and they provide beach chairs and beach towels. Hope to stay here again!

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view. Corner suites are large and sunny.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. Your sentiments reflect what most guests comment on the most and what we consider the details that separate us from most hotels. Whether it be the excellent location, friendly and efficient staff or the number of value added amenities that are provided, this property will not let you down regardless the reason for your trip.

We are hard at work to improve our product offerings and services. In the past few weeks we have added Verismo Espresso machines and new upgraded bed linens, added small touches to our evening turndown housekeeping service and a daily breakfast offering on our second floor. We are very near to announcing a much anticipated operator for our restaurant space that will change the culinary scene in Honolulu for years to come.

We hope to see you again very soon at our charming little hideaway on the Gold Coast.

Aloha,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,077 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,557 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head

Address: 2885 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly The Lotus at Diamond Head)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $245 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated enclave located on the famed Gold Coast of Waikiki, the Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head is a fusion of Asian inspired decor and warm Hawaiian hospitality. Rent beach cruiser bikes and explore Waikiki. Enjoy daily happy hour specials and delicious island cuisine at Wisp Restaurant & Lounge located on-site. Nestled between Kapiolani Park and a spectacular white sand beach shared with Outrigger Canoe Club, this hotel offers a peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki with remarkable views of majestic Diamond Head and the Pacific ocean. With our boutique fee of $25 per-room, per-day, guests will enjoy amenities including: Free valet parking (normally $20 per day), Coffee & tea service, served daily in the lobby from 6am to 10am, Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel, Hawaiian bottled water available daily (in your room and car), Illy coffee system and coffee pods in guest rooms, In-room safe, Daily local newspaper, Local and toll-free calls, Wine served daily in the lobby from 4pm to 5:30pm, Beach chairs, towels, mats and other beach accessories (based on availability). See a guest service agent for assistance., Use of bicycles available for a ride around the park., Take a picnic excursion or more! (Tandem bicycle also available)., See our bell/valet agent for assistance., Waikiki shuttle available daily: Let your feet rest up while taking in all Waikiki has to offer aboard our exclusive Waikiki Shuttle service between participating Aqua properties to Ala Moana Center. See a guest services agent for assistance, visit mywaikikishuttle or download the RideSystem app on your smart phone for shuttle tracking., DVDNow Kiosk: Feel like staying in? Use your DVDNow card to enjoy complimentary movie or game rentals. Kiosk available on the 2nd floor., CastNow: Stream videos and live digital feeds to your TV from your smart phone, tablet or laptop. Instructions are located in your room., Yoga! Enjoy complimentary morning yoga sessions in the park offered daily at 7:30 am. Meet in the lobby to take advantage of this great opportunity to start your morning off with the many health benefits of yoga. Yoga mats are provided., Admission for two (2) to the Honolulu Museum of Arts (Use LOTUS room card for proof of stay.), Fruit Infused Water Station in the Lobby., Zumba & Tai Chi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Lotus Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Hotel
Lotus Honolulu At Diamond Head Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing