We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unable to confirm booking request”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Unable to confirm booking request”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I was looking forward to staying at this hotel for 3 nights over this Easter holidays. Unfortunately I had to cancel as the hotel would not guarantee a premier ocean view room with two double beds. There were three of us on the booking 2 adults and my teenage son - aged 15. As we were flying from the Uk ( 21 hour flights) I wanted to ensure we had a room with two double beds. After booking directly with the hotel online - I emailed to ensure we could guarantee the two double bed configeration. I was told a request would be made but no guarantees and that if they couldn't give us a room with two double beds they could put a roll away bed in the room. I then emailed them to state that after that after such a long a flight we needed to know that two double beds would be guaranteed or I would need to cancel. I didn't get a reply to the email - 1 day later (today) I telephoned to check - and was told no guarantees. I therefore cancelled. I do not understand why a hotel - with x amount of double bed rooms could not allocate one to our booking.

Very disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PIP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
I was very disappointed to read your review of the Lotus Honolulu and your decision to cancel your reservation. I can understand your hesitation to book without the guarantee of the bedding type that you requested. What set this property apart is the unique personalized service and contrast to the”Big Box” hotels in the heart of Waikiki. With that, one of our biggest challenges is the limit amount of inventory in certain categories, specifically in the Ocean View Premium double bed category of which there are only three.

It is also disappointing to me that we didn’t get a chance to provide a true representation of the service and experience that the majority of our guests rave about in the countless number of positive reviews in the pages below.

If you change your mind and would like to try to experience what the Lotus is all about, please feel free to contact me at mpickett@aquaresorts.com and I will ensure everything with your stay is up to our excellent standard of service.


Aloha,

Matthew Pickett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    227
    54
    15
    10
See reviews for
223
478
73
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Aqua Lotus for one night in February as a stopover for our flight to LAX. The staff were friendly and helpful and even arranged for the cleaners to make our room a priority so we could check in early! It's a 30 minute or so walk to the main city part but its right near the beach which is nice. The green trolley line comes straight past and the aquarium is just up the road. Overall a lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mel_roks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. Your sentiments reflect what most guests comment on the most and what we consider the details that separate us from most hotels. Whether it be the excellent location, friendly and efficient staff or the number of value added amenities that are provided, this property will not let you down regardless the reason for your trip.

We are hard at work to improve our product offerings and services. In the past few weeks we have added Verismo Espresso machines and new upgraded bed linens, added small touches to our evening turndown housekeeping service and a daily breakfast offering on our second floor. We are very near to announcing a much anticipated operator for our restaurant space that will change the culinary scene in Honolulu for years to come.

We hope to see you again very soon at our charming little hideaway on the Gold Coast.

Aloha,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel goes beyond expectations to provide beautiful rooms with mountain and water views
In addition they have free bikes, wine and coffee each day. The rooms have beautiful views of the ocean and mountain. They have fabulous terraces as well. The only negative is that it is not near the center of town so that you need a car or public transportation to go to restaurants. Management of the hotel is exceptional.

Room Tip: If you don't rent a car you need to walk a considerable amount to get to nearby restaurants How...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _jillviuker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. Your sentiments reflect what most guests comment on the most and what we consider the details that separate us from most hotels. Whether it be the excellent location, friendly and efficient staff or the number of value added amenities that are provided, this property will not let you down regardless the reason for your trip.

We are hard at work to improve our product offerings and services. In the past few weeks we have added Verismo Espresso machines and new upgraded bed linens, added small touches to our evening turndown housekeeping service and a daily breakfast offering on our second floor. We are very near to announcing a much anticipated operator for our restaurant space that will change the culinary scene in Honolulu for years to come.

We hope to see you again very soon at our charming little hideaway on the Gold Coast.

Aloha,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed here when it was the W Hotel and was very sad when they closed it. I was excited to see it back as an Aqua Hotel. I travel to Honolulu 4 times a year for work and have stayed in many Waikiki Hotels. The Aqua Lotus was amazing. I got a corner room (highly recommended!!) and the staff could not have been nicer. Everyone was very friendly and went out of their way to make my stay a great one (free bikes, free beach chair and towels!). The coffee makers in the room make lattes. The rooms are outstanding. STAY HERE!!!

Room Tip: Get a corner room!! Two balconies, huge rooms and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurferinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. Your sentiments reflect what most guests comment on the most and what we consider the details that separate us from most hotels. Whether it be the excellent location, friendly and efficient staff or the number of value added amenities that are provided, this property will not let you down regardless the reason for your trip.

We are hard at work to improve our product offerings and services. In the past few weeks we have added Verismo Espresso machines and new upgraded bed linens, added small touches to our evening turndown housekeeping service and a daily breakfast offering on our second floor. We are very near to announcing a much anticipated operator for our restaurant space that will change the culinary scene in Honolulu for years to come.

We hope to see you again very soon at our charming little hideaway on the Gold Coast.

Aloha,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

If you have to spend time in busy Honolulu and want to be close to the ocean, this hotel is a good choice because it's away from the densely populated Waikiki area and very near the beach. It's across the street from a large park and quite close to Diamondhead. Great room and very helpful, friendly staff. The only negative was the lack of a restaurant. They served a limited breakfast (not free), but orange juice was not available when we were there. However, there's an excellent restaurant in the hotel next door, and a walk of a few blocks gets you to Waikiki, where there are many good places to eat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NKMtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Came here for honeymoon, feel so relaxed and at home.
Super clean and friendly, walking distance to centre or $6 by taxi which staff will call for you! Amazing views from balcony and beautiful park across the street.
Quiet beach next door, 5 stars would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank draganandjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. Your sentiments reflect what most guests comment on the most and what we consider the details that separate us from most hotels. Whether it be the excellent location, friendly and efficient staff or the number of value added amenities that are provided, this property will not let you down regardless the reason for your trip.

We are hard at work to improve our product offerings and services. In the past few weeks we have added Verismo Espresso machines and new upgraded bed linens, added small touches to our evening turndown housekeeping service and a daily breakfast offering on our second floor. We are very near to announcing a much anticipated operator for our restaurant space that will change the culinary scene in Honolulu for years to come.

We hope to see you again very soon at our charming little hideaway on the Gold Coast.

Aloha,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I loved this hotel! It had no pool (that's what the ocean is for) but an incredible view of Diamond Head, Kapiolani Park and the Ocean (which was a lovely surprise). We had a corner Diamond Head Premium room on the 7th floor and it was very quiet. The staff were all spectacular! Warm, friendly and extremely helpful (especially the valets and the housekeeping people). It was the perfect distance from noisy, bustling Waikiki. I've stayed in the dead center of Waikiki and I was truly spoiled staying here. There is a small hotel cafe with nice sitting areas but no formal restaurant. They are working on that part. The bed is soft and comfy, the happy hour wine was great and now I don't think I can stay anywhere else. Mahalo and Aloha from a former Kamaina!

Room Tip: Corner rooms on higher levels are quieter and have lovely views with two patios. Great cross breeze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DArianeN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. Your sentiments reflect what most guests comment on the most and what we consider the details that separate us from most hotels. Whether it be the excellent location, friendly and efficient staff or the number of value added amenities that are provided, this property will not let you down regardless the reason for your trip.

We are hard at work to improve our product offerings and services. In the past few weeks we have added Verismo Espresso machines and new upgraded bed linens, added small touches to our evening turndown housekeeping service and a daily breakfast offering on our second floor. We are very near to announcing a much anticipated operator for our restaurant space that will change the culinary scene in Honolulu for years to come.

We hope to see you again very soon at our charming little hideaway on the Gold Coast.

Aloha,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head

Property: Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head
Address: 2885 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly The Lotus at Diamond Head)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated enclave located on the famed Gold Coast of Waikiki, the Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head is a fusion of Asian inspired decor and warm Hawaiian hospitality. Rent beach cruiser bikes and explore Waikiki. Enjoy daily happy hour specials and delicious island cuisine at Wisp Restaurant & Lounge located on-site. Nestled between Kapiolani Park and a spectacular white sand beach shared with Outrigger Canoe Club, this hotel offers a peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki with remarkable views of majestic Diamond Head and the Pacific ocean. With our boutique fee of $25 per-room, per-day, guests will enjoy amenities including: Free valet parking (normally $20 per day), Coffee & tea service, served daily in the lobby from 6am to 10am, Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel, Hawaiian bottled water available daily (in your room and car), Illy coffee system and coffee pods in guest rooms, In-room safe, Daily local newspaper, Local and toll-free calls, Wine served daily in the lobby from 4pm to 5:30pm, Beach chairs, towels, mats and other beach accessories (based on availability). See a guest service agent for assistance., Use of bicycles available for a ride around the park., Take a picnic excursion or more! (Tandem bicycle also available)., See our bell/valet agent for assistance., Waikiki shuttle available daily: Let your feet rest up while taking in all Waikiki has to offer aboard our exclusive Waikiki Shuttle service between participating Aqua properties to Ala Moana Center. See a guest services agent for assistance, visit mywaikikishuttle or download the RideSystem app on your smart phone for shuttle tracking., DVDNow Kiosk: Feel like staying in? Use your DVDNow card to enjoy complimentary movie or game rentals. Kiosk available on the 2nd floor., CastNow: Stream videos and live digital feeds to your TV from your smart phone, tablet or laptop. Instructions are located in your room., Yoga! Enjoy complimentary morning yoga sessions in the park offered daily at 7:30 am. Meet in the lobby to take advantage of this great opportunity to start your morning off with the many health benefits of yoga. Yoga mats are provided., Admission for two (2) to the Honolulu Museum of Arts (Use LOTUS room card for proof of stay.), Fruit Infused Water Station in the Lobby., Zumba & Tai Chi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Lotus Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Hotel
Lotus Honolulu At Diamond Head Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing