We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real nice place... a quiet oasis in Waikiki”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A real nice place... a quiet oasis in Waikiki”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

First, the hotel doesn't have a pool, beach, nor ocean views. If those are deal-breakers then you may want to stay elsewhere but you would be missing out on a gem.

The Aqua Lotus does have a friendly welcoming staff (valet, front desk, housekeeping, managers), nice Diamond Head views, a location directly across from beautiful Kapiolani Park, good-sized clean contemporary rooms, and it is removed from the crazy madness of the heart of Waikiki (a ten minute walk along the beach). It is about 200 feet from Sans Souci Beach - a really nice swimming beach at the edge of Waikiki. It does offer beach cruiser bikes to explore the local area as well as beach mats and towels for guest use. A unique historic district of older homes and cottages are just steps away at the base of Diamond Head and a good long walk brings you up to the Diamond Head overlook. Access in and out to the rest of Honolulu is easy and you can skirt the traffic on Kalakaua in Waikiki.

Improvements would be an extra elevator (only one) and a full service restaurant - it has a restaurant space that serves breakfast overlooking the park (nice) but it isn't fully operational yet.

I definitely will return here on future trips to Honolulu. I've stayed at the Halekulani (5 star, $$$$$) and the Waikiki Parc (meh...) and I prefer the location of the Aqua Lotus despite its lack of beach & pool. Go figure...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaybkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. Your sentiments reflect what most guests comment on the most and what we consider the details that separate us from most hotels. Whether it be the excellent location, friendly and efficient staff or the number of value added amenities that are provided, this property will not let you down regardless the reason for your trip.

We are hard at work to improve our product offerings and services. In the past few weeks we have added Verismo Espresso machines and new upgraded bed linens, added small touches to our evening turndown housekeeping service and a daily breakfast offering on our second floor. We are very near to announcing a much anticipated operator for our restaurant space that will change the culinary scene in Honolulu for years to come.

We hope to see you again very soon at our charming little hideaway on the Gold Coast.

Aloha,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    224
    54
    14
    10
See reviews for
213
450
72
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We chose the Lotus because of a discounted rate on the first night and it's location near Kapiolani Park. Even though it is not on the beach, access is only steps away.

I understand this property was once the W and before that the Doubletree so its not brand new. Our room was on the third floor and probably had the worst view in the hotel - roof of the porte cochere below, parking garage across and ocean view blocked by condos. Security-wise that probably wasn't great either. Anyone on that floor could walk on the roof to your terrace and possibly break in, though we had no problem. Still it had nice morning sun and the room was spacious. There was a small kitchenette and a bathroom with a nice stone tile shower instead of tub. The furnishings were new, clean and modern and the wider room made the room seem brighter than a typical room.

The platform bed however had a poor double-size mattress that sloped to the center. For one person that may not be too bad but for two it was. Add to that was the oversize linens housekeeping used to make up these beds made getting into bed impossible without ripping the bed apart. I had to remake the bed every night, and housekeeping kept making the bed same way every day.

Parking is extra, and valet is required given the limited spaces available. But our car was always in a good spot and we could always grab the keys, jump in and go.

There was no restaurant on the property during our stay, but other amenities like complementary wine every afternoon and free coffee each morning were nice. Staff were friendly and helpful. Beach towels and chairs were available to take to the public beach across the parking lot. I asked for and got a bath scale to help weigh our suitcases before we left. And the valets were great with directions and ideas for restaurants. There are coin laundry machines on the third floor too.

There is no spa or fitness center either but the park across the street is flat and easy to walk or run around. There is a parcourse and public tennis courts too.

Of course the location is the real attraction here. Kapiolani Park is big and quiet and short walk to the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. Getting around the island is as easy as a quick drive up Kapahulu to the H1.

Despite the bed and the third floor, I liked the Lotus and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid the third floor unless you want to use the coin-op laundry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fred117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. Your sentiments reflect what most guests comment on the most and what we consider the details that separate us from most hotels. Whether it be the excellent location, friendly and efficient staff or the number of value added amenities that are provided, this property will not let you down regardless the reason for your trip.

We are hard at work to improve our product offerings and services. In the past few weeks we have added Verismo Espresso machines and new upgraded bed linens, added small touches to our evening turndown housekeeping service and a daily breakfast offering on our second floor. We are very near to announcing a much anticipated operator for our restaurant space that will change the culinary scene in Honolulu for years to come.

We hope to see you again very soon at our charming little hideaway on the Gold Coast.

Aloha,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

The hotel is clean and the room was modern and nice. It is in a quiet part of Wakiki beach, which is good. But it is overpriced for what you get, there is no pool, the views are nothing to write home about and services are minimal. It would be great if the prices were slashed by a third or so.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ehelgason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. Your sentiments reflect what most guests comment on the most and what we consider the details that separate us from most hotels. Whether it be the excellent location, friendly and efficient staff or the number of value added amenities that are provided, this property will not let you down regardless the reason for your trip.

We are hard at work to improve our product offerings and services. In the past few weeks we have added Varisimo Espresso machines and new upgraded bed linens, added small touches to our evening turndown housekeeping service and a daily breakfast offering on our second floor. We are very near to announcing a much anticipated operator for our restaurant space that will change the culinary scene in Honolulu for years to come.

We hope to see you again very soon at our charming little hideaway on the Gold Coast.

Aloha,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yermo, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

The area of the Aqua Lotus is exactly what we wanted. It is located away from the busy side of Waikiki. It is easy to get to and from the hotel. I realize for some, the mandatory valet was not appreciated. To us it was well worth the fee. With limited parking at the hotel, it was nice driving up to the front door after a long day and having the valet take care of parking. The entire staff was extremely courteous. Although all the staff is great, Allen who is the valet and porter was extremely welcoming. He always greeted us by our name, asked us if we needed anything and just made sure he was taking care of us. The views are breathtaking as well! With the cleanliness of the hotel, magnificent employees and an A+ location, we rate this hotel Five Stars. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mae R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. Your sentiments reflect what most guests comment on the most and what we consider the details that separate us from most hotels. Whether it be the excellent location, friendly and efficient staff or the number of value added amenities that are provided, this property will not let you down regardless the reason for your trip.

We are hard at work to improve our product offerings and services. In the past few weeks we have added Varisimo Espresso machines and new upgraded bed linens, added small touches to our evening turndown housekeeping service and a daily breakfast offering on our second floor. We are very near to announcing a much anticipated operator for our restaurant space that will change the culinary scene in Honolulu for years to come.

We hope to see you again very soon at our charming little hideaway on the Gold Coast.

Aloha,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We just stayed in Aqua Lotus and we chose it, because of its excellent reviews on Tripadvisor.
The hotel is good, no doubt. Located about 15 Minutes walking distance to the first Hotels and Shops of Waikiki Beach. But I have to take take off points for following down sides:

- no sea view. only view to park, Diamond Head or a parking lot of other buildings at the beach
- the building is a beton square, beautiful inside but not from the outside, no green area.
- the rooms were noisy (wind and fridge, etc.)
- slow wifi
- there were no shops nearby, thats ok. But to charge guest 4.50 US for a croissant at breakfast is no service!! They do have a restaurant but last week it was closed.
- it was too cold in the lobby area, freezing!
- i asked the lobby for island weather (cause it was raining in Honolulu and we wanted to escape) and he looked at his Iphone (for Honolulu!) and sayed it was just a bit of rain. That was it!
I have an I phone as well..

It was a good hotel, the people were really nice, the rooms beautiful, BUT its not the best hotel you can stay at in Honolulu for that price.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ayleen2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. Your sentiments reflect what most guests comment on the most and what we consider the details that separate us from most hotels. Whether it be the excellent location, friendly and efficient staff or the number of value added amenities that are provided, this property will not let you down regardless the reason for your trip.

We are hard at work to improve our product offerings and services. In the past few weeks we have added Varisimo Espresso machines and new upgraded bed linens, added small touches to our evening turndown housekeeping service and a daily breakfast offering on our second floor. We are very near to announcing a much anticipated operator for our restaurant space that will change the culinary scene in Honolulu for years to come.

We hope to see you again very soon at our charming little hideaway on the Gold Coast.

Aloha,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
245 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel is off the beaten path. So if you want the crush of humanity that is Waikiki, be aware. It is tucked in between the ocean, a park and Diamondhead. Everywhere you look is a great view, and we could see all three from our tenth floor corner room (requested). And it is only a ten minute walk to all that is Waikiki, so we had goo food and nightlife within walking distance. They also provide free bicycles, free wine in the afternoon, free coffee in the morning, free beach towels. They have a funky/quirky vibe here and it is very relaxed.

No pool and no fitness room, but so what.

Room Tip: request corner room on upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeraldWW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. Your sentiments reflect what most guests comment on the most and what we consider the details that separate us from most hotels. Whether it be the excellent location, friendly and efficient staff or the number of value added amenities that are provided, this property will not let you down regardless the reason for your trip.

We are hard at work to improve our product offerings and services. In the past few weeks we have added Varisimo Espresso machines and new upgraded bed linens, added small touches to our evening turndown housekeeping service and a daily breakfast offering on our second floor. We are very near to announcing a much anticipated operator for our restaurant space that will change the culinary scene in Honolulu for years to come.

We hope to see you again very soon at our charming little hideaway on the Gold Coast.

Aloha,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
195 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I can wholeheartedly recommend this hotel IF you don't mind walking about fifteen minutes to the heart of the action in Waikiki. The hotel is across from Kapiolani park, which is populated by locals, morning joggers, and yoga and tai chi devotees. If you walk about ten minutes in the other direction, away from the center of Waikiki, you're in a cute neighborhood of 1930s bungalows. Kaimana Beach is a minute's walk away, and although it's public (as are all the beaches in Hawaii), it feels almost private. Next door in the New Otani hotel, the Hau Tree restaurant is a real delight for breakfast and lunch. If all of this appeals to you, don't hesitate to book this hotel.

In addition to the location, the Aqua Lotus has a lot of other things going for it. It used to be the W, so it's bright and modern (except for the lobby!), with wooden floors, super comfy bed, and a small but good bathroom. Alas, no bathtub. The view of the ocean is blocked, but depending on your room, you can still see it. And you can most certainly request a room with a dramatic and VERY close-up view of Diamond Head. (Our corner room on the eleventh floor had both aspects.)

The housekeeping is excellent. It's impossible in Waikiki not to bring a lot of sand back into your hotel room, no matter how careful you are. Housekeeping somehow managed to vacuum it all up every day, even the sand on the lanai (balcony). Our room was kept spotless.

The front desk is friendly and helpful. Small gripe -- our flight was delayed so we didn't arrive at the hotel until 4 a.m., and we had to wait a few minutes until someone showed up at the desk. But . . . it was 4 a.m., after all. You can get beach towels and other beach gear from the front desk.

There are other pluses, which other reviewers have mentioned. We love the location, so we'll definitely use this hotel again.

One final thought. This side of Waikiki has some vagrants. But they don't panhandle, and they don't really bother anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. Your sentiments reflect what most guests comment on the most and what we consider the details that separate us from most hotels. Whether it be the excellent location, friendly and efficient staff or the number of value added amenities that are provided, this property will not let you down regardless the reason for your trip.

We are hard at work to improve our product offerings and services. In the past few weeks we have added Varisimo Espresso machines and new upgraded bed linens, added small touches to our evening turndown housekeeping service and a daily breakfast offering on our second floor. We are very near to announcing a much anticipated operator for our restaurant space that will change the culinary scene in Honolulu for years to come.

We hope to see you again very soon at our charming little hideaway on the Gold Coast.

Aloha,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,794 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head

Property: Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head
Address: 2885 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly The Lotus at Diamond Head)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated enclave located on the famed Gold Coast of Waikiki, the Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head is a fusion of Asian inspired decor and warm Hawaiian hospitality. Rent beach cruiser bikes and explore Waikiki. Enjoy daily happy hour specials and delicious island cuisine at Wisp Restaurant & Lounge located on-site. Nestled between Kapiolani Park and a spectacular white sand beach shared with Outrigger Canoe Club, this hotel offers a peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki with remarkable views of majestic Diamond Head and the Pacific ocean. With our boutique fee of $25 per-room, per-day, guests will enjoy amenities including: Free valet parking (normally $20 per day), Coffee & tea service, served daily on the 2nd floor from 7am to 10am. (In the loby from 6:00 am to 7:00am), Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel, Hawaiian bottled water available daily (in your room and car), Illy coffee system and coffee pods in guest rooms, In-room safe, Daily local newspaper, Local and toll-free calls, Wine served daily in the lobby from 4pm to 5:30pm, Beach chairs, towels, mats and other beach accessories (based on availability). See a guest service agent for assistance., Use of bicycles available for a ride around the park., Take a picnic excursion or more! (Tandem bicycle also available)., See our bell/valet agent for assistance., Waikiki shuttle available daily: Let your feet rest up while taking in all Waikiki has to offer aboard our exclusive Waikiki Shuttle service between participating Aqua properties to Ala Moana Center. See a guest services agent for assistance, visit mywaikikishuttle or download the RideSystem app on your smart phone for shuttle tracking., DVDNow Kiosk: Feel like staying in? Use your DVDNow card to enjoy complimentary movie or game rentals. Kiosk available on the 2nd floor., CastNow: Stream videos and live digital feeds to your TV from your smart phone, tablet or laptop. Instructions are located in your room., Yoga! Enjoy complimentary morning yoga sessions in the park offered daily at 7:30 am. Meet in the lobby to take advantage of this great opportunity to start your morning off with the many health benefits of yoga. Yoga mats are provided., Admission for two (2) to the Honolulu Museum of Arts (Use LOTUS room card for proof of stay.), Fruit Infused Water Station in the Lobby., Zumba & Tai Chi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Lotus Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Hotel
Lotus Honolulu At Diamond Head Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing