We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE LOVED THE AQUA LOTUS!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
McDonough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WE LOVED THE AQUA LOTUS!!!!!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were extremely happy with our entire stay from the moment we pulled into the parking lot until the time we checked out. The hotel was clean, comfortable, and quiet and the staff were all pleasant, helpful and very accomodating with all of our requests and questions. Our room had a spectacular view of Diamond Head as well as the ocean. We were away from the crazy downtown area and all of the noise there but within walking distance to everything when we wanted the craziness. The beach near us was beautiful and never crowded and only a minute away from us. We also had a small convenience store a stone throw away from the hotel. We especially enjoyed the complimentary wine every evening. They offered beach towels, mats, and chairs, as well as bikes free of charge. We would definitely stay at the Lotus again and would highly reccommend it. We loved it there!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. As a number of our other guests also mention our location is second to none. Nestled quietly between the Kapiolani Park and Diamond Head and the sandy beach and tropical blue Pacific Ocean, the Lotus is the perfect place for a great vacation or any number of things for that matter. Thank for also taking a moment to comment on our friendly staff, we are very proud of the level of service that they provide day in and day out.
As you note, we do have a number of complimentary amenities which we are proud to offer and feel set us apart from many of the other Honolulu properties.

We look forward to seeing you back here soon.

Aloha,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    227
    54
    15
    10
See reviews for
223
478
73
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked the Aqua Lotus based on the photos on their website. It is as pretty as it looks, but it's lacking in amenities that I consider standard for a four-star hotel, like a pool and restaurant. Apparently the restaurant was shut down when the property was converted from a W hotel to the Aqua group, and that made it very inconvenient. After a long day of travel, we had hoped to check in and get room service for dinner, but that wasn't possible, as there's no room service. We also had hoped to relax by the pool the next morning, but, again, not possible. I guess I should have double-checked those amenities before booking, but it never occurred to me that at this price point it wouldn't have them. The hotel was very pretty and had outstanding views, and the staff were very helpful. It was just disappointing that we didn't have access to the amenities we wanted.

Room Tip: The corner rooms have views of both Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach, which are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
I was disappointed to read that you were not 100% satisfied with your trip to the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. We are in the process of getting the restaurant space open and we have been very selective in finding the perfect tenant for the space. We hope that by the time that you return we will have a vibrant nightlife restaurant and nightlife scene on our second floor as well as in room dining options for all of our guests.
Aloha,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have booked this hotel in advance specifying we were a couple with two kids and that we would have needed a room with two queen beds. We also booked and paied fro an ocena fron room.
When we arrived we were given an ocean view room with a king bed only. we have been supplied right away with an additional roll away bed but the next day when we asked again for the two queens they replied they did not have any available and that type of beds in the room is not guaranteed. solution was acceptable but not optimal of course.
Room was nice, new, modern, and really clean. The hotel is not ocean front (two condos block the view to the ocean which van be seen only sideways). Location is perfect, far away from the heart of noisy waikiki but still in a walking distance from everything. Restaurant was closed and we did not understand if it has been ever open. No coffe machine in the room: coffe available in the hall from 5.30 a.m. Aoverall hotel is great for business trips but sure not ideal for families or vacation.

Room Tip: not worht choosing fro ocen view/front. Hotel is not on the beach and ocean can be seen sideways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angecorti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. I am sorry that we were unable to fulfill your bedding request. I am glad to see that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is one of our biggest assets, in addition to our professional and friendly staff and our number of complimentary amenities available. We hope to have an answer to the restaurant question very soon. We look forward to opening the space and taking the next step in becoming the number one hotel in Honolulu. We do have coffee makers available for every guest room on request, when you return we will make sure that one is set in your room upon arrival.
We look forward to seeing you back soon or as we say in Hawaii; A Hui ho.
Aloha,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

From the time the valet met us pulling into the hotel, the receptionist, housekeeping, checking out the service was outstanding, very friendly and helpful. Our room was super clean, the view magnificant the location perfect, not too close to Waikiki and not too far away (8 min. walk). Very quiet area. The complimentary wine every evening from 4-6pm was a nice touch. They had beach mats, chairs, towels, bikes all available to us at no charge.

We felt the $20/day parking fee was reasonable, our car was safe, we didn't need to run out and put money in the meter or check on the car, it was available at any time of day and as often as we needed it. Not having a pool was not a concern for us, as we have access to a pool here at home, but not the beautiful beaches that surround this property, so we took advantage of that and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!

The beds were the most comfortable beds we have ever slept on. Top quality sheets and pillows, we really felt pampered. Not the usual hotel quality, if we weren't in Hawaii, we would have slept in a little longer each day!

We would stay here again and we would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 8th floor and had a birds eye view of the ocean and Diamond Head crater. Beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigMama238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. As a number of our other guests also mention our location is second to none. Nestled quietly between the Kapiolani Park and Diamond Head and the sandy beach and tropical blue Pacific Ocean, the Lotus is the perfect place for a great vacation or any number of things for that matter. Thank for also taking a moment to comment on our friendly staff, we are very proud of the level of service that they provide day in and day out.
As you note, we do have a number of complimentary amenities which we are proud to offer and feel set us apart from many of the other Honolulu properties.

We look forward to seeing you back here soon.

Aloha,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Thanks Aqua Lotus for the upgrade to the penthouse, Our two families were delighted to be put up in the penthouse instead of two rooms. (double booked maybe) There was not quite enough in the way of beds but we made do due to the fabulous veiws and space offered by the massive penthouse. Not sure if that would do for some people though, It really made our holiday.
The loaction is out of the main area of Waikiki which is a good thing if you dont like crowds and the local beach is small but really good.

Room Tip: choose a diamond head veiw room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cinderellanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you noted, our Penthouse accommodations are some of the finest in Hawaii with spectacular ocean and Diamond Head views. We look forward to having you back again soon.

Aloha,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qld
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Lotus on our return to Oz from USA. I'd booked through a travel agent but found the property myself on Trip Advisor and was very pleased with my choice.
Our room on the 7th floor viewed Diamond Head and the hallway Waikiki. The furnishings were simple and homely, timber trimmed and made you feel like you were in a bungalow. Beds comfy. Staff were very informative and even remembered our names even tho we only stayed two nights. There's a convenience store next door which had 'everything' at pleasant prices and we had breakfast in the hotel next door which was very nice. Across the road is a large park so the traffic noise is minimal and in the mornings all the healthy people are jogging doing Yoga and exercising. The beach is 20 meters away and much much quieter than Waikiki proper. We had everything we wanted and I'd recommend anyone to stay here. It's a 2km walk to the centre of Waikiki but we liked being out of the way a little and it's pleasant walking.

Room Tip: I think they're all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank budgettravellerQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. As a number of our other guests also mention our location is second to none. Nestled quietly between the Kapiolani Park and Diamond Head and the sandy beach and tropical blue Pacific Ocean, the Lotus is the perfect place for a great vacation or any number of things for that matter. Thank for also taking a moment to comment on our friendly staff, we are very proud of the level of service that they provide day in and day out.

In addition to the dining options immediately surrounding the property we are very excited to soon announce the opening of our very own restaurant on our second floor. We hope to have the area fully operational by the time you return.

We look forward to seeing you back here soon.

Aloha,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
482 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 509 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We did not book directly with the hotel, but through a 3rd party website and paid in advance. One thing we were not aware of was a $20/day valet fee, as we rented a car, but this fee is not unheard of, I suppose. The housekeeping, despite tipping, was not exceptional, and he/she would do the minimum but always an OK job. I guess that we are used to places like Mexico and Dominican Republic where they go the extra mile and dress up the room. Overall, the room was clean, so no issues.

The room itself was spacious, and the wood shuttered windows let in a lot of light, and gave us a view of Diamond Head and a park. We ate dinner on the balcony a few times and that was fun. Wireless internet is included, and in the lobby, there is free coffee in the AM (or hot chocolate for my young kids) and wine from 4-6 PM daily. A nice touch. The room has a small fridge, and that is handy as my kids like milk, cereal, etc in the AM and it was handy. If you cross the parking lot, about 100 yards away is a PRIVATE BEACH, which is clean, not crowded and next to the Outrigger Canoe club. This stretch of beach is secluded from the adjacent, more busy beach as it has a stone/lava rock barrier that you can walk out on and view the ocean. We went to the more busy adjacent beach and it was filled with garbage, plastic straws in the sand. Yuck. Our stretch of beach had lots of shells and little coral in the sand and hermit crabs the kids played with. We also hired one of the workers at the Canoe Club to give us a outrigger boat ride for an hour and we rode some waves at 6 PM. Fun!! We loved it. It was great in the AM, if you go there at 6:30 AM and have coffee/hot chocolate and bring a little breakfast. We watched the sun rise on the ocean and on Moloka'i. Fantastic.

I agree with a lot of other comments by others. The concierge was friendly and helpful, but the valet guys (esp. Travis) were excellent and filled with lots of tips on what to do for kids, always ready with maps and advice. The other fellow in the evening was also great and they are always friendly

Restaurant was closed, but we ate out a lot. Lots of choices in < 1.5 mile radius

Overall, a nice experience

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pw0867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. I appreciate you taking time out to post your positive feedback. The beaches located so close to the property is a little hidden gem – we are very lucky to have such a great location.
We hope to have a restaurant tenant that will be very exciting for the property and the whole town of Honolulu very soon.

I hope that you can return soon.

Aloha,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head

Property: Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head
Address: 2885 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly The Lotus at Diamond Head)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated enclave located on the famed Gold Coast of Waikiki, the Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head is a fusion of Asian inspired decor and warm Hawaiian hospitality. Rent beach cruiser bikes and explore Waikiki. Enjoy daily happy hour specials and delicious island cuisine at Wisp Restaurant & Lounge located on-site. Nestled between Kapiolani Park and a spectacular white sand beach shared with Outrigger Canoe Club, this hotel offers a peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki with remarkable views of majestic Diamond Head and the Pacific ocean. With our boutique fee of $25 per-room, per-day, guests will enjoy amenities including: Free valet parking (normally $20 per day), Coffee & tea service, served daily in the lobby from 6am to 10am, Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel, Hawaiian bottled water available daily (in your room and car), Illy coffee system and coffee pods in guest rooms, In-room safe, Daily local newspaper, Local and toll-free calls, Wine served daily in the lobby from 4pm to 5:30pm, Beach chairs, towels, mats and other beach accessories (based on availability). See a guest service agent for assistance., Use of bicycles available for a ride around the park., Take a picnic excursion or more! (Tandem bicycle also available)., See our bell/valet agent for assistance., Waikiki shuttle available daily: Let your feet rest up while taking in all Waikiki has to offer aboard our exclusive Waikiki Shuttle service between participating Aqua properties to Ala Moana Center. See a guest services agent for assistance, visit mywaikikishuttle or download the RideSystem app on your smart phone for shuttle tracking., DVDNow Kiosk: Feel like staying in? Use your DVDNow card to enjoy complimentary movie or game rentals. Kiosk available on the 2nd floor., CastNow: Stream videos and live digital feeds to your TV from your smart phone, tablet or laptop. Instructions are located in your room., Yoga! Enjoy complimentary morning yoga sessions in the park offered daily at 7:30 am. Meet in the lobby to take advantage of this great opportunity to start your morning off with the many health benefits of yoga. Yoga mats are provided., Admission for two (2) to the Honolulu Museum of Arts (Use LOTUS room card for proof of stay.), Fruit Infused Water Station in the Lobby., Zumba & Tai Chi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Lotus Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Hotel
Lotus Honolulu At Diamond Head Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing