We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understated, over achiever out of the gulag”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed 10 nights, lured by the yoga,bikes,no pool and location just out of the tourist gulag.
All of these features exceeded expectations.
Yoga with Courtenay and Pablo was tremendous,helped by the setting outside under the banyan tree. These two are fab.
The staff are cool, and not obvious. Ciette, Wes & other concierges are so happy and helpful, we saw them often as used the bikes most days. They could do w long shorts tho, must be real hot in those navy trou, not to mention un-Hawaiian.
Sarah was excellent on reception and housekeeping staff were brilliant people.
We ate a lot at the new otani hotel next door as no food at Lotus. We weren't bothered about that.
The comp morning coffee & wine hours were much appreciated and part of our daily ritual.
Super comfy bed to boot.
We will be back next July.

Two happy Kiwis

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for taking a moment to post your great comments with regards to your stay with us at the AQUA Lotus Honolulu. You point out the areas that set us apart from the rest, the excellent location, and personalized amenities and most important the friendly and professional staff.
We have recently completed a room enhancement project and all our guest rooms are completely renovated and everyone who visits us comments on great everything turned out. We are also very close to being able to announce an exciting tenant to occupy our restaurant space on the second floor.

I hope that you are able to return soon to experience all of these great improvements.

Aloha,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,006)
There are newer reviews for Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

809 - 815 of 1,006 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel was so serene, beautiful, and clean. The hotel staff was very kind and courteous. Our room was beautiful and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnalieseP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2012

Thank you for taking a moment to post your great comments with regards to your stay with us at the AQUA Lotus Honolulu. You point out the areas that set us apart from the rest, the excellent location, personalized amenities and most important the friendly and professional staff.
We have recently completed a room enhancement project and all our guest rooms are completely renovated and everyone who visits us comments on great everything turned out. We are also very close to being able to announce an exciting tenant to occupy our restaurant space on the second floor.

I hope that you are able to return soon to experience all of these great improvements.

Aloha,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

If you're looking to stay on Waikiki then location is important. I think there are two options: rights im the heart of the hustle and bustle of the high rise hotels or away from the noise but close enough to be near ther beaches and fun. If the latter is what you're looking for, then the Aqua Lotus is a perfect choice. This boutique hotel (formerly the W) is about half a.mile east of the edge of the Waikiki shopping district across from the big park ar the base of Diamond Head. It's a bit pricey as you'd expect for this area of Honolulu, but they don't nickel and dime you for the amenities. Bicycle rental, boogie boards and beach gear are all dispensed with no change or hassle. The bell/parking guys are friendly and very knowledgeable about Oahu sights and restaurants. Parking is $20 per day but only if you leave the car in the garage overnight. If you want to save that money for a nice breakfast at the Queen's Surf Cafe, then park overnight in the plentiful street parking and bring your car into the garage in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RedondoJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2012

Thank you for taking a moment to post your great comments with regards to your stay with us at the AQUA Lotus Honolulu. You point out the areas that set us apart from the rest, the excellent location, personalized amenities and most important the friendly and professional staff.
We have recently completed a room enhancement project and all our guest rooms are completely renovated and everyone who visits us comments on great everything turned out. We are also very close to being able to announce an exciting tenant to occupy our restaurant space on the second floor.

I hope that you are able to return soon to experience all of these great improvements.

Aloha,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

What a lovely hotel. This was our first visit to Honolulu and we were so glad we chose this hotel. The location was perfect away from the main part of Waikiki but easy walking distance. The hotel was one of the most comfortable I've stayed in. Apart from the recently decorated rooms, balconies to enjoy the view and ample space, the staff were outstanding. They were always friendly and ready to help with any request. We were really comfortable at the beach, which is very close, especially with towels and chairs supplied by the hotel at no charge. We stayed 6 nights then went to another island and came back for one night before returning home. We really felt so happy to return for our last night in Hawaii and it made the preparations for our return trip to Australia so easy. All of our experiences here were very good but what made the help of the staff so important was that 2 credit cards were accidentally left behind in our room and this was only discovered on our return to Australia. The hotel staff found and secured them and posted them back to us in Australia at no charge. This is what I call service!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JillCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2012

Thank you for taking a moment to post your great comments with regards to your stay with us at the AQUA Lotus Honolulu. You point out the areas that set us apart from the rest, the excellent location, personalized amenities and most important the friendly and professional staff.
We have recently completed a room enhancement project and all our guest rooms are completely renovated and everyone who visits us comments on great everything turned out. We are also very close to being able to announce an exciting tenant to occupy our restaurant space on the second floor.

I hope that you are able to return soon to experience all of these great improvements.

Aloha,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I have never spent as much time researching a hotel as I did for this trip: what with all the reviews of dampness, bugs, noise, cost, etc. Standing out from all the choices was the Aqua Lotus and it is even better than I hoped. Freshly remodeled, spacious and attractive rooms, extremely comfortable beds, amazing staff, etc. Basically I have the same things to say as reviewer David S. I LOVE that this hotel is away from the chaos of main Waikiki and surrounded by parks and residential. It is relaxing, no external noise interrupt sleep and beautiful views of Diamondhead. The staff is amazing: warm, friendly, never without a smile, knowledgeable, helpful with suggestions and directions - you feel very pampered. The bathrooms have tons of counterspace and luxurious towels. The valet parking adds up, but it was the easiest and safest option plus the valets were so pleasant. The hotel offers bicycles free of charge and they come complete with helmets and bike locks. The valet was very helpful in getting us set up to ride. If I am ever to be back in this city, I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Upper floors will ensure you have unobstructed views of Diamondhead and not parking structures. Plus...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tadec5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2012

Thank you for taking a moment to post your great comments with regards to your stay with us at the AQUA Lotus Honolulu. You point out the areas that set us apart from the rest, the excellent location, personalized amenities and most important the friendly and professional staff.
We have recently completed a room enhancement project and all our guest rooms are completely renovated and everyone who visits us comments on great everything turned out. We are also very close to being able to announce an exciting tenant to occupy our restaurant space on the second floor.

I hope that you are able to return soon to experience all of these great improvements.

Aloha,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed at the Aqua Lotus for 5 nights and absolutely enjoyed my stay.

I want to start of first by talking about the great staff at this hotel. As soon as I arrived to the hotel I was kindly greeted by the valet. I had a rental car so I knew that tipping the valet would add up over time. After my second day, the valet told me that I do not have to tip him all the time because I am always in and out of the hotel. Of course I still tipped him, but its the thought that showed me the type of employees this hotel hires. When I checked in, Dante at the front desk took care of my every needs. I had most of my activities preplanned before my trip, but his suggestions seemed better than some of my activities I had planned. So of course I took his word for it and canceled some of my activities. He also suggested some great places out of the Waikiki area for a romantic dinner with my wife. I could not have ever imagined my stay at a hotel to be so problem free. Anytime I had a question or need anything the hotel staff was right there to help me out. If I had it my way I would promote all of them lol.

Secondly, I am going to talk about this hotel. The location in my opinion is better suited for me and my wife. Its away from the highly congested and noisy Waikiki area but still in walking distance. The amount of free amenities this hotel offers is unheard of. The hotel came with free wifi, which for me is a necessity. I know most hotels in Waikiki charge a daily fee for internet. The hotel provided free coffee and newspaper in the lobby every morning. The hotel provided free wine from 4-6 pm everyday. The hotel even provided us with free beach gear and even bicycles. My wife and I loved taking the bicycles out. Now the rooms from what the staff told me was just renovated a week or two ago so I was fortunate to enjoy the fine luxurious upgrades. As soon as I walked into my room, I was more than satisfied. The room was larger than I had anticipated. The floors were made of a dark hard wood flooring. All the furniture in the room was brand new. The king size bed was very comfortable and I slept like a baby. The TV was a flat panel LCD. The bathroom was nicely finished with marble floors and new fixtures. Although I was rarely in the room during the day, its still nice to come home and rest in a nice clean hotel room.

Overall my stay at this hotel and Hawaii has been such a great experience and more than satisfying. I highly recommend others to stay at this hotel. You will not get a better hotel than this in Waikiki with this many free amenities and price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

AQUA LOTUS was THE BEST place you could stay at to experience the different kinds of activities you could think of! We woke up with an awesome view of the DIAMOND HEAD on the left over looking the KAPIOLANI PARK and WAIKIKI BEACH on the right! They even had a FREE BEACH CRUISER for us to use and cruise down the waikiki strip that is only a few blocks away! It was awesome!! The customer service was on point... from the maid service to the very informative and friendly concierge and valet guys. DANTE at the front desk was the best on hooking us up with local spots and festivities that were happening in town. We would DEFINITELY come back and stay at this place! Thanks for a very memorable vacation!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4,073 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,556 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head

Address: 2885 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly The Lotus at Diamond Head)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $242 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated enclave located on the famed Gold Coast of Waikiki, the Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head is a fusion of Asian inspired decor and warm Hawaiian hospitality. Rent beach cruiser bikes and explore Waikiki. Enjoy daily happy hour specials and delicious island cuisine at Wisp Restaurant & Lounge located on-site. Nestled between Kapiolani Park and a spectacular white sand beach shared with Outrigger Canoe Club, this hotel offers a peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki with remarkable views of majestic Diamond Head and the Pacific ocean. With our boutique fee of $25 per-room, per-day, guests will enjoy amenities including: Free valet parking (normally $20 per day), Coffee & tea service, served daily in the lobby from 6am to 10am, Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel, Hawaiian bottled water available daily (in your room and car), Illy coffee system and coffee pods in guest rooms, In-room safe, Daily local newspaper, Local and toll-free calls, Wine served daily in the lobby from 4pm to 5:30pm, Beach chairs, towels, mats and other beach accessories (based on availability). See a guest service agent for assistance., Use of bicycles available for a ride around the park., Take a picnic excursion or more! (Tandem bicycle also available)., See our bell/valet agent for assistance., Waikiki shuttle available daily: Let your feet rest up while taking in all Waikiki has to offer aboard our exclusive Waikiki Shuttle service between participating Aqua properties to Ala Moana Center. See a guest services agent for assistance, visit mywaikikishuttle or download the RideSystem app on your smart phone for shuttle tracking., DVDNow Kiosk: Feel like staying in? Use your DVDNow card to enjoy complimentary movie or game rentals. Kiosk available on the 2nd floor., CastNow: Stream videos and live digital feeds to your TV from your smart phone, tablet or laptop. Instructions are located in your room., Yoga! Enjoy complimentary morning yoga sessions in the park offered daily at 7:30 am. Meet in the lobby to take advantage of this great opportunity to start your morning off with the many health benefits of yoga. Yoga mats are provided., Admission for two (2) to the Honolulu Museum of Arts (Use LOTUS room card for proof of stay.), Fruit Infused Water Station in the Lobby., Zumba & Tai Chi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Lotus Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Hotel
Lotus Honolulu At Diamond Head Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing