We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Kept Secret in Honolulu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Best Kept Secret in Honolulu”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This was our first trip to Hawaii and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. It's close enough to Waikiki Beach to walk but far enough away to leave all the hustle and bustle. We had a corner room with views of Diamond Head and the ocean. Though not on the beach, we were really just steps away. Aqua Lotus is quiet, clean and the staff is excellent. If I'm ever lucky enough to make it back to Honolulu, I will make the Aqua Lotus my first choice. Plus, I'm told that it will be totally remodeled by July 2012. I can't imagine how it can get any better.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have 2 sliding doors and great views of Diamond Head and the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soupmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for taking a moment to post your great comments with regards to your stay with us at the AQUA Lotus Honolulu. You point out the areas that set us apart from the rest, the excellent location, and personalized amenities and most important the friendly and professional staff.
We have recently completed a room enhancement project and all our guest rooms are completely renovated and everyone who visits us comments on great everything turned out. We are also very close to being able to announce an exciting tenant to occupy our restaurant space on the second floor.

I hope that you are able to return soon to experience all of these great improvements.

Aloha,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    227
    54
    15
    10
See reviews for
222
477
73
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We decided to stay at the Aqua Lotus Honolulu on our son's recommendation and looking at the website. Our stay actually exceeded our expectations. The location was perfect. The facility was very comfortable and quiet and the staff was excellent. I cannot remember any other hotel stay that was equal to this one.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. I was so very glad to hear that your stay with us exceeded your expectations. You touch on what we consider our biggest assets, our staff and our location. We are about to proceed with a room upgrade which will be complete by July1st and we are nearing opening of food and beverage operations on our second floor space both of which will make the property even more so THE premier destination in Honolulu.

We look forward to seeing you on your return.

Aloha,

Matt Pickett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

This is my second stay at Aqua Lotus. It's a hidden gem, away from the noisy part of Waikiki. It's a short walk to the Zoo and International Market Place.

The property is very clean and well maintained. I had a premium ocean view room that had great views of the ocean and Diamond Head. The king room was tastefully decorated and had a mini fridge for beverages. The location is awesome. If you stayed at other Waikiki hotels, you'd hear the garbage trucks, tour buses, and fire engines through out the day. It's very peaceful at the Lotus.

The staff is top notch. Everyone was warm and friendly and always said hello. The valet service was excellent. The valets always offered tips and places to go. We found out about a great breakfast place down the road because of these tips.

The beach is right outside the hotel. They offer beach chairs, towels, and other items for guests to check out. They even have bikes that can be used,

Complimentary wine reception is offered daily. During our stay, we had some nice California wines.

The Lotus offers an excellent value.

Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Corner rooms offer views of both the ocean and Diamond Head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. We are striving to make the Lotus guest experience the best possible and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit. As so many of our guests have commented, the complimentary amenities (bikes, morning coffee & tea/newspapers, wine reception, yoga-4 mornings a week) have been a big hit. Your comments also captured one of our best amenities, the Lotus "sense of place" that so many of our repeat guests have discovered, that as a guest at the Lotus you become a part of the Gold Coast community atmosphere... something that savvy visitors to Honolulu seek out for their visits and all just a short stroll from Waikiki.

Since assuming management of the hotel (July 2011) we have been planning for a complete room upgrade and this will be completed by July 2012! The 2nd floor restaurant is currently on schedule for a August opening.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Aloha,

Matt Pickett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2012

The location was wonderful, close enough to the action but far enough to be a wonderful retreat from the noise and congestion. The room was amazing. We were on the 12th floor in a corner room with a view of the ocean and Diamond Head. Our stay started off very frustrating in that we arrived from the cruise ship at 09:30 and were told to return between 1-1:30 for check-in. We expected this as the Orbitz confirmation had 1 PM as the check-in time. We stayed around the hotel until 1 PM and then had to sit in the lobby until 3 PM waiting for our room to be ready. It was especially frustrating to be told every 30 min. that our room would be ready as soon as possible and then take longer until we had sat waiting for over 2 hr.

Room Tip: Make sure of the location as this will have a great bearing on your stay; i.e. noise, distance from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
I am glad to hear that, despite having a long wait for your room to be available you still enjoyed your visit with us. We met with the staff involved with situation that you described and searched for alternative ways to deal with similar situations in the future. I know that comes as no consolation to you, but I wanted you to be aware that we have addressed this and are trying to eliminate similar occurrences from transpiring in the future. We take every opportunity to learn from our mistakes and positively improve the entire process. We are also researching the check in time as noted by our travel partner.
Your feedback with regards to the rest of your visit clearly depicts the normal comments and feedback that we frequently receive.
I hope that you can return to visit again soon and experience some of the new and exciting things that are taking place with the Aqua Lotus Honolulu.

Aloha,

Matt Pickett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

I spent a long time picking out this hotel for my first trip to Hawaii-I loved the advertised views of Diamond Head and the fact that it was in a less busy part of Waikiki and reasonably priced. Turns out I made an excellent choice! The hotel is not technically beachfront but the beach is just steps away through the parking lot. Speaking of which, we were not looking forward to paying $20 per day for valet parking (apparently standard in Waikiki) but we ended up finding parking on the street every night either right by the hotel or near the park down the street and saving lots of money. I was particularly impressed with the terrific staff, very friendly and knowledgeable. The housekeeping staff were amazing-got us extra pillows immediately-and, best story; we came back after a hike and showered-the room had already been cleaned-and then went to the beach for an hour. When we returned, the towels had all been replaced-again! Kudos to the Aqua Lotus staff. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Best views are on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
I am glad to hear that your efforts in seeking out the right property paid off. We are in the process of completing a comprehensive property enhancement and by the time that you return we will have rejuvenated the guest rooms as well as the second floor dining areas.
Of course, the most important aspect of any hotel isn’t necessarily in the property itself but in the service that you receive while you are our guest. We are fortunate to have a friendly and professional staff that strives to go above and beyond your expectations.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Aloha,

Matt Pickett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2012

This place is a good hotel and you get what you expect from the price you pay. Don´t think you will get that great of price even during the slow season.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you for taking a moment to complete your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. I was glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us and the value for the price you paid was what you would expect.
We have a number of complimentary amenities and personalized guest services to offer in addition to a friendly and professional staff and the best location in Honolulu.
We are in the process of completing a comprehensive property enhancement and by the time that you return we will have rejuvenated the guest rooms as well as the second floor dining areas.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Aloha,

Matt Pickett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This hotel made me feel at home in Honolulu. The staff were incredibly friendly . The room was beautiful in its simple and artistic design and immaculately clean. Every room has a lovely balcony. Mine looked on to Diamond Head. The beach is a parking lot away and uncrowded and good for swimming. The hustle and bustle of Waikiki is far enough away that it felt peaceful, and near enough to walk to in a few minutes. No restaurant but a lovely one next door.

Room Tip: The view of Diamond Head is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hestia60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you for taking a moment to complete your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. I was glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Your comments reflect some of the aspects that we find are very important to our success. Our “Gold Coast” location is sought out by the savviest Honolulu Travelers.
We are working diligently in getting the restaurant space occupied with a dining operation that will complement and enhance the overall guest experience.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Aloha,

Matt Pickett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head

Property: Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head
Address: 2885 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly The Lotus at Diamond Head)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated enclave located on the famed Gold Coast of Waikiki, the Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head is a fusion of Asian inspired decor and warm Hawaiian hospitality. Rent beach cruiser bikes and explore Waikiki. Enjoy daily happy hour specials and delicious island cuisine at Wisp Restaurant & Lounge located on-site. Nestled between Kapiolani Park and a spectacular white sand beach shared with Outrigger Canoe Club, this hotel offers a peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki with remarkable views of majestic Diamond Head and the Pacific ocean. With our boutique fee of $25 per-room, per-day, guests will enjoy amenities including: Free valet parking (normally $20 per day), Coffee & tea service, served daily in the lobby from 6am to 10am, Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel, Hawaiian bottled water available daily (in your room and car), Illy coffee system and coffee pods in guest rooms, In-room safe, Daily local newspaper, Local and toll-free calls, Wine served daily in the lobby from 4pm to 5:30pm, Beach chairs, towels, mats and other beach accessories (based on availability). See a guest service agent for assistance., Use of bicycles available for a ride around the park., Take a picnic excursion or more! (Tandem bicycle also available)., See our bell/valet agent for assistance., Waikiki shuttle available daily: Let your feet rest up while taking in all Waikiki has to offer aboard our exclusive Waikiki Shuttle service between participating Aqua properties to Ala Moana Center. See a guest services agent for assistance, visit mywaikikishuttle or download the RideSystem app on your smart phone for shuttle tracking., DVDNow Kiosk: Feel like staying in? Use your DVDNow card to enjoy complimentary movie or game rentals. Kiosk available on the 2nd floor., CastNow: Stream videos and live digital feeds to your TV from your smart phone, tablet or laptop. Instructions are located in your room., Yoga! Enjoy complimentary morning yoga sessions in the park offered daily at 7:30 am. Meet in the lobby to take advantage of this great opportunity to start your morning off with the many health benefits of yoga. Yoga mats are provided., Admission for two (2) to the Honolulu Museum of Arts (Use LOTUS room card for proof of stay.), Fruit Infused Water Station in the Lobby., Zumba & Tai Chi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Lotus Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Hotel
Lotus Honolulu At Diamond Head Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing