We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable, and Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Kurtistown, HI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable, and Relaxing”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We live on the Big Island and went to Waikiki to relax for a few days. All of the staff we came in contact with was extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome. The rooms are large, clean and well decorated. The bed and pillows are so comfortable and the hotel is small so there aren't a lot of people going up and down the hallway making noise in the night. The bathroom is actually large enough for two people to dress comfortably. There was also a roomy balcony to have tea on and watch the sunrise over Diamond Head. As others have said the cruiser bikes and wine reception are a very nice touch. It is not on the main strip of Waikiki but it's close enough for most people to walk. There are also plenty of taxis or busses if you don't want to drive. There is a beautiful park right across the street and another park on the beach about 5 minute walk on the Waikiki side of the aquarium. The beach is only a few steps away. If you want a clean, comfortable, and relaxing place to stay then this is it! I will not stay anywhere else on Oahu in the future, only the Aqua Lotus!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 12th floor which had a great view of Diamond Head and the Ocean. I'm not s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swimmingeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff G, Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Aloha,

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review for the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. We are striving to make the Lotus guest experience the best possible and we are pleased to know that we succeeded during your visit. As a Big Island resident you already know how improtant it is to have a sense of place and your comments also captured the Lotus "sense of place" that so many of our repeat guests have discovered, that as a guest at the Lotus you become a part of the Gold Coast community atmosphere... something that savvy Honolulu visitors seek out for their visits.

We look forwrd to seeing you again soon!

A Hui Hou!
Geoff Graf
Director of Development
Aqua Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    226
    54
    15
    10
See reviews for
218
472
73
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
montrose, colorado
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2012

This hotel is an excellent choice for the traveler who wants to be near Waikiki and is comfortable with a 10 min. walk to the main strip. The hotel is near the beach, has excellent ocean, mountain and city views from it's upper floors and is directly across the street from a large city park. The downtown noise of the typical Waikiki hotel is absent. The rooms are more spacious than the typical mid-range Waikiki hotel and the hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. I would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff G, Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Aloha,

Thank your review of the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. We are striving to make the Lotus guest experience the best possible and we are pleased to know that we succeeded during your visit. The complimentary "transitions" wine hour from 4pm to 6pm daily is very popular with our guests and we feel it is the perfect way to transition from an afternoon on the beach into the evening. Your comments also captured the "sense of place" that so many of our repeat guests have discovered, that as a guest at the Lotus you become a part of the Gold Coast community atmosphere... yet remains close to the action of Waikiki... something that savvy Honolulu visitors seek out for their visits.

We hope to see you again soon!

Mahalo,
Geoff Graf
Director of Development
Aqua Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
2 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2012

For a comfortable stay,this hotel met all our needs.
Upon arrival we were greeted with 'Happy Hour' & shown to our better than expected view room of Diamond Head & large glimpse of the ocean.
Great staff, preferred location a short distance from the tourists of Waikiki. Great walking & seconds to the beach.

Room Tip: Choose upper floors for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanKayVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff G, Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. We are striving to make the Lotus guest experience the best possible and we are pleased to know that we succeeded during your visit. Your comments also captured the "sense of place" that so many of our repeat guests have discovered, that as a guest at the Lotus you become a part of the Gold Coast community atmosphere... something that savvy Honolulu visitors seek out for their visits.

We hope to see you again soon!

Mahalo,
Geoff Graf
Director of Development
Aqua Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We had high hopes for this hotel and had billed it as the ‘luxurious’ part of our adventure Hawaii trip. In some ways it met expectations and in others not so much. The location of the hotel was great for us, as we wanted to be close to the Waikiki resort but not in it. It is a full ten min walk to the start of the main strip but this is along the nice park area and there are nice parts of the beach closer than this. It is quite away from the opposite end of the action but there was always a taxi available even late into the night. There was also plenty of free street parking (6pm-10am) along the road so we never had any need for the valet and always got a spot right outside the hotel. The rooms were very nice, large and spotlessly clean with pleasant Hawaiian décor: TV cabinet, desk, sliding blind doors etc. The bathroom was very nice too with marble finish and nice amenities (lethally slippery floor though!). Wi-fi was very useful, plenty of storage space and an in-room safe. I asked for a coffee maker and it was delivered immediately with nice coffee replenished every day. Housekeeping was very good, done thoroughly any time of day. You could hire beach gear from the front desk too. Lobby wasn’t overly inviting though, it felt like an annex of the underground valet area. What was the relentless cheesy dance music all about? Always on in the lobby and on even louder in the elevator, didn’t really seem to fit.

Having two balconies was nice, but I’m afraid this is where my review must slip into the negative… I did a lot of research for this hotel and luckily I knew there was no real ocean view to be had. Being both our birthdays we paid extra for a Diamond Head Premium, so we had a very nice view over Diamond Head and you could also glimpse the ocean in between some buildings across a parking lot. We knew what we were getting, but in the build up we had been tempted to splurge for the Premium Ocean room that offered both views. This hotel is set back from the seafront, has a number of buildings in between and none of the rooms seem to face directly toward the sea. Slightly misleading that you could pay extra for a diagonal view across a car park between some buildings. The Diamond Head views are lovely though, better than a sea view in my opinion. As well as this, I have already mentioned we were celebrating both our birthdays while staying at this hotel, and I had twice mentioned it to the hotel in advance. Now I would never cry foul that a free gift wasn’t waiting for us or similar like we have had in hotels before, but we were maybe hoping that we would get the best room within our budget. Instead we were on the floor 7 of at least 12, so our side balcony looked into trees (the lower rooms must have awful views in all honesty). In fact, it being both our birthdays wasn’t mentioned either in email reply or in person while we were there.

Another thing that irked me was that the wireless internet was lost for over 24 hours on my birthday so I could not Skype or email with family. I can handle technical problems OK, but I got the impression the staff either didn’t believe me or just didn’t care each time I brought it up. I had to file a log with the provider etc myself and hope for the best. I found this a lot with the staff to be honest, a kind of too cool for school attitude and that you should just be appreciative that you’re staying at this hotel. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but they seemed a bit up themselves for want of a better expression (except a helpful girl who was usually on mornings). It was as if everything was an effort and when anything was done they wore an expression as if they’d just made you the best cocktail in the world and you’d better tip for it! There was also no free internet access available to guests without a laptop, you had to pay to use their communal computers. Very annoying, especially when the wi-fi goes down. It was little things like that that just didn’t sit well with us. When you pay a little more you expect a little more…

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BorderRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff G, Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you chose to stay with us at the Aqua Lotus Honolulu for your mutual birthdays. We are also pleased that you found the accomodations (cleanliness, location, room, sleep quality) all at the top of the ratings possibilities. This said we obviously did not meet your expectations, or ours, for value and service. We do strive to make all of our guests feel special and we obviously missed the mark during your visit; please accept my apology. I hope that should you be in Honolulu again that you might give us another opportunity to improve your experience.

Mahalo,
Geoff Graf
Director of Development
Aqua Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Good location at far end of Waikiki away from the hustle and bustle. The room are spacious and very clean, comfortable bed, best sleep I ever had. Staff are amazing and super friendly. Different services provided was coffee service at the lobby and if you want to make your own coffee or tea in the private of your room, they provide coffee maker and hot pot. Wine reception in the afternoon, what a way to come back to your room with a glass of wine to relax and unwine before dinner, free Wi Fi, cruiser bikes to take for a romantic excursion around Diamond head or to the mall or taking advantage of their free yoga session. The hotel is not on the beach but just a few feet away and the view of Diamond head was breathtaking. Aqua Lotus exceeded all my expectations. I will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed on a ocean premium view and it was breathtaking view of the ocean on the right and on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff G, Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Aloha!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Aqua Lotus Honolulu... and for such a positive review! We are striving to make the guest experience the best possible and we are pleased to know that we succeeded during your visit.

We hope to see you again soon!

Mahalo,
Geoff Graf
Director of Development
Aqua Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We often stop in Honolulu before our vacation on Kauai and have always preferred the location near Diamond Head away for the mobs of people on Waikiki. We've stayed in this property several times, but our first under Aqua Lotus management. We were favorably impressed. Our higher floor room looks at both Diamond Head and the ocean. To a person the staff was friendly and helpful. Even the maintenance people greeted us on a regular basis. We enjoy the Hawaiian style decor. The smaller size of this hotel makes it seem more Hawaiian to us.

There is fine dining nearby, but we look forward to the opening of the on-site restaurant on our next visit.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas_H703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff G, Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Aqua Lotus Honolulu... and for choosing the Lotus on your way to Kauai. It is gratifying to know that the small changes made to the hotel in the months since Aqua Hotels & Resorts assumed management are being noticed. We are striving to make the guest experience the best possible and we are pleased to know that we succeeded during your visit.

We hope to see you again soon and we will have that restaruant ready for you!

A Hui Hou! (until we meet again)
Geoff Graf
Director of Development
Aqua Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2012

The beautiful Diamond Head location makes it a perfect retreat from busy Waikiki. The Staff are very welcoming, and free yoga in the park, surreal. See you again next time!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pceliberti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff G, Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Aqua Lotus Honolulu. We are striving to make the guest experience the best possible and we are pleased to know that we succeeded during your visit. The complimentary morning Yoga sessions in the park have been received by our active guests very favorably... thank you for including this amenity in your review.

We hope to see you again soon!

Mahalo,
Geoff Graf
Director of Development
Aqua Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
3,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head

Property: Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head
Address: 2885 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly The Lotus at Diamond Head)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated enclave located on the famed Gold Coast of Waikiki, the Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head is a fusion of Asian inspired decor and warm Hawaiian hospitality. Rent beach cruiser bikes and explore Waikiki. Enjoy daily happy hour specials and delicious island cuisine at Wisp Restaurant & Lounge located on-site. Nestled between Kapiolani Park and a spectacular white sand beach shared with Outrigger Canoe Club, this hotel offers a peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki with remarkable views of majestic Diamond Head and the Pacific ocean. With our boutique fee of $25 per-room, per-day, guests will enjoy amenities including: Free valet parking (normally $20 per day), Coffee & tea service, served daily in the lobby from 6am to 10am, Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel, Hawaiian bottled water available daily (in your room and car), Illy coffee system and coffee pods in guest rooms, In-room safe, Daily local newspaper, Local and toll-free calls, Wine served daily in the lobby from 4pm to 5:30pm, Beach chairs, towels, mats and other beach accessories (based on availability). See a guest service agent for assistance., Use of bicycles available for a ride around the park., Take a picnic excursion or more! (Tandem bicycle also available)., See our bell/valet agent for assistance., Waikiki shuttle available daily: Let your feet rest up while taking in all Waikiki has to offer aboard our exclusive Waikiki Shuttle service between participating Aqua properties to Ala Moana Center. See a guest services agent for assistance, visit mywaikikishuttle or download the RideSystem app on your smart phone for shuttle tracking., DVDNow Kiosk: Feel like staying in? Use your DVDNow card to enjoy complimentary movie or game rentals. Kiosk available on the 2nd floor., CastNow: Stream videos and live digital feeds to your TV from your smart phone, tablet or laptop. Instructions are located in your room., Yoga! Enjoy complimentary morning yoga sessions in the park offered daily at 7:30 am. Meet in the lobby to take advantage of this great opportunity to start your morning off with the many health benefits of yoga. Yoga mats are provided., Admission for two (2) to the Honolulu Museum of Arts (Use LOTUS room card for proof of stay.), Fruit Infused Water Station in the Lobby., Zumba & Tai Chi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Prestigia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Lotus Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Hotel
Lotus Honolulu At Diamond Head Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing